LH cannot charge

Field of Glory II is a turn-based tactical game set during the Rise of Rome from 280 BC to 25 BC.
Cunningcairn
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Posts: 969
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:05 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

LH cannot charge

Post by Cunningcairn » Wed Oct 16, 2019 3:29 pm

Can anyone please tell me why my LH cannot charge the rear of the MF in the picture below?
LH cannot charge.jpg
LH cannot charge.jpg (713.73 KiB) Viewed 235 times

TheGrayMouser
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4651
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:42 pm

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by TheGrayMouser » Wed Oct 16, 2019 3:54 pm

Cunningcairn wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 3:29 pm
Can anyone please tell me why my LH cannot charge the rear of the MF in the picture below?

LH cannot charge.jpg
You used 4 aps to get there, so what did you do prior?

melm
Master Sergeant - Bf 109E
Master Sergeant - Bf 109E
Posts: 486
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 9:07 pm

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by melm » Wed Oct 16, 2019 3:57 pm

As AP has been decrease to 16 from 20, I suppose you turned your LH facing.

Cunningcairn
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Posts: 969
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:05 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by Cunningcairn » Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:08 pm

melm wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 3:57 pm
As AP has been decrease to 16 from 20, I suppose you turned your LH facing.
Yes it moved but surely 16 is enough to charge?

Cunningcairn
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Posts: 969
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:05 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by Cunningcairn » Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:10 pm

TheGrayMouser wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 3:54 pm
Cunningcairn wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 3:29 pm
Can anyone please tell me why my LH cannot charge the rear of the MF in the picture below?

LH cannot charge.jpg
You used 4 aps to get there, so what did you do prior?
LH moved one space to current position and LF went in behind to prevent recoil. I've done this many times in the past.

TheGrayMouser
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4651
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:42 pm

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by TheGrayMouser » Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:15 pm

You must have been out of arc to charge. I can tell because you have used you free turn, otherwise you would be able to move 4 grids to the west, but you can only move two.

Cunningcairn
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Posts: 969
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:05 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by Cunningcairn » Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:30 pm

TheGrayMouser wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:15 pm
You must have been out of arc to charge. I can tell because you have used you free turn, otherwise you would be able to move 4 grids to the west, but you can only move two.
I was not out of arc and moved one square only. I started in the square where the LF behind the LH is now standing and was facing ( 45 deg angle NE) the MF from the start.
Last edited by Cunningcairn on Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Cunningcairn
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Posts: 969
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:05 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by Cunningcairn » Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:38 pm

Cunningcairn wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:30 pm
TheGrayMouser wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:15 pm
You must have been out of arc to charge. I can tell because you have used you free turn, otherwise you would be able to move 4 grids to the west, but you can only move two.
I was not out of arc and moved one square only. I started in the square where the LF behind the LH is now standing and was facing ( 45 deg angle) the MF from the start.
Further to this why can I only move 2 squares to the West (left) ? Is that all you can move with 16 AP? Or is that because I will need to make a second turn?

TheGrayMouser
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4651
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:42 pm

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by TheGrayMouser » Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:51 pm

Cunningcairn wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:30 pm
TheGrayMouser wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:15 pm
You must have been out of arc to charge. I can tell because you have used you free turn, otherwise you would be able to move 4 grids to the west, but you can only move two.
I was not out of arc and moved one square only. I started in the square behind the LF that is now behind the LH and was facing the MF from the start.

So, if you started facing east , positioned diagonally behind that light foot you were in arc. But then you moved one grid east and you are now out of arc to charge the archer. You used your free turn to face the archer. It should make sense why you can’t now charge.

( it cost 8 ap’s to change facing 90 degrees.)

Cunningcairn
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Posts: 969
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:05 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by Cunningcairn » Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:13 pm

TheGrayMouser wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:51 pm
Cunningcairn wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:30 pm
TheGrayMouser wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:15 pm
You must have been out of arc to charge. I can tell because you have used you free turn, otherwise you would be able to move 4 grids to the west, but you can only move two.
I was not out of arc and moved one square only. I started in the square behind the LF that is now behind the LH and was facing the MF from the start.

So, if you started facing east , positioned diagonally behind that light foot you were in arc. But then you moved one grid east and you are now out of arc to charge the archer. You used your free turn to face the archer. It should make sense why you can’t now charge.

( it cost 8 ap’s to change facing 90 degrees.)
This East/West talk is confusing something very simple.I cannot charge the unit directly to my front and I don't have to turn to do so. I was one square back at the start of my move facing 45 degrees to the right of the unit I want to charge. I moved the LH forward the one square and then moved the LF into the position the LH had been in to prevent the LH recoiling after impact. I have 16 AP left and cannot charge. Why not?

TheGrayMouser
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4651
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:42 pm

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by TheGrayMouser » Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:44 pm

Dude, I can’t play “clue” with you all day where you give snippets of info ( And also go back and edit your prior words to give more accurate info after the fact) Just draw an arrow on your lh’s position and facing prior to moving, and repost. ( what’s so confusing w using map directions? North up, east right etc etc ?)

Can you recreate this btw??

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 22345
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by rbodleyscott » Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:51 pm

I have 16 AP left and cannot charge. Why not?
It is because they are out of command range of an unengaged general in line of command. ("Reduced CC").

Because they are out of command range, the 45 degree turn they have already made has set the "Made Large Turn" flag, which then precludes charging.

If they had made the move in one step they could have charged.
Can you recreate this btw??
I have just tested it using the same situation set up in the Editor.
Richard Bodley Scott

Image

Cunningcairn
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Posts: 969
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:05 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by Cunningcairn » Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:57 pm

TheGrayMouser wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:44 pm
Dude, I can’t play “clue” with you all day where you give snippets of info ( And also go back and edit your prior words to give more accurate info after the fact) Just draw an arrow on your lh’s position and facing prior to moving, and repost. ( what’s so confusing w using map directions? North up, east right etc etc ?)

Can you recreate this btw??
I can't re-create it. The Blue square is the original position of the LH and the Blue arrow indicates the direction it was facing. The red arrow is its move into the current position. The yellow square is the LF's original position and the yellow arrow its move to its current position. The LH moved leaving 16 AP's the LF moved to prevent recoil. The LH can't charge. Why not?
LH cannot charge 2.jpg
LH cannot charge 2.jpg (712.47 KiB) Viewed 163 times
Last edited by Cunningcairn on Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 22345
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by rbodleyscott » Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:57 pm

Cunningcairn wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:57 pm
TheGrayMouser wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:44 pm
Dude, I can’t play “clue” with you all day where you give snippets of info ( And also go back and edit your prior words to give more accurate info after the fact) Just draw an arrow on your lh’s position and facing prior to moving, and repost. ( what’s so confusing w using map directions? North up, east right etc etc ?)

Can you recreate this btw??
I can't re-create it. The Blue square is the original position of the LH and the Blue arrow indicates the direction it was facing. The red arrow is its move into the current position. The yellow square is the LF's original position and the yellow arrow its move to its current position. The LH moved leaving 16 AP's the LF moved to prevent recoil. The LH can't charge. Why not?
See my post above.
Richard Bodley Scott

Image

Cunningcairn
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Posts: 969
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:05 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by Cunningcairn » Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:59 pm

rbodleyscott wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:51 pm
I have 16 AP left and cannot charge. Why not?
It is because they are out of command range of an unengaged general in line of command. ("Reduced CC").

Because they are out of command range, the 45 degree turn they have already made has set the "Made Large Turn" flag, which then precludes charging.

If they had made the move in one step they could have charged.
Can you recreate this btw??
I have just tested it using the same situation set up in the Editor.
Thanks!

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 22345
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by rbodleyscott » Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:00 pm

Cunningcairn wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:59 pm
rbodleyscott wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:51 pm
I have 16 AP left and cannot charge. Why not?
It is because they are out of command range of an unengaged general in line of command. ("Reduced CC").

Because they are out of command range, the 45 degree turn they have already made has set the "Made Large Turn" flag, which then precludes charging.

If they had made the move in one step they could have charged.
Can you recreate this btw??
I have just tested it using the same situation set up in the Editor.
Thanks!
If you are not sure what will happen in a case like this, you can check before moving the other unit, and Undo the original move if the situation isn't to your liking.
Richard Bodley Scott

Image

TheGrayMouser
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4651
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:42 pm

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by TheGrayMouser » Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:06 pm

Wow, it never occurred to me think about being in command range for a light( I think a long time ago you noted it only mattered in rare occasions) or flagging the turn when goin back to a previously moved unit!! Certainly makes it harder to force a lh from bouncing by blocking its break off path. Thanks RBS!

MVP7
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
Posts: 760
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 3:40 pm

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by MVP7 » Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:14 pm

Why does the Reduced CC free turn count as large turn when with CC it doesn't? It's especially weird since in the exact same situation a non-light cavalry can still charge after turning and moving.

Cunningcairn
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Posts: 969
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:05 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by Cunningcairn » Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:22 pm

rbodleyscott wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:00 pm
Cunningcairn wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:59 pm
rbodleyscott wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:51 pm


It is because they are out of command range of an unengaged general in line of command. ("Reduced CC").

Because they are out of command range, the 45 degree turn they have already made has set the "Made Large Turn" flag, which then precludes charging.

If they had made the move in one step they could have charged.



I have just tested it using the same situation set up in the Editor.
Thanks!
If you are not sure what will happen in a case like this, you can check before moving the other unit, and Undo the original move if the situation isn't to your liking.
Yes I normally do that but didn't this time due to the short distance the LH had to move and didn't even consider CC.

Cunningcairn
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Posts: 969
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:05 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Re: LH cannot charge

Post by Cunningcairn » Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:24 pm

MVP7 wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:14 pm
Why does the Reduced CC free turn count as large turn when with CC it doesn't? It's especially weird since in the exact same situation a non-light cavalry can still charge after turning and moving.
Are you saying a cav out of CC making the same move would be allowed to charge?

Post Reply

Return to “Field of Glory II”