Hillside Texture Glitch

Post Reply
nemo-noname
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:18 pm

Hillside Texture Glitch

Post by nemo-noname » Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:34 pm

Hi,

I have a graphic bug with border hills, see screenshot: https://ibb.co/PzqDS10. All border of the hills look just like water.
I tried many different settings without success.
I have Win10, AMD Radeon RX 5700 (Softwareversion: 19.9.2), AMD Ryzen 7 2700, 16 GB RAM.

Can you please help me out?

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 22416
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Bug on hills borders

Post by rbodleyscott » Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:43 pm

The only time we have seen that bug is when someone was running the game in a PC emulator on a Mac.

Can you post your DxDiag report please.
Richard Bodley Scott

Image

nemo-noname
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:18 pm

Re: Bug on hills borders

Post by nemo-noname » Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:56 pm

Big thank you for your prompt response!

I have a PC, no Mac.
Here is my DxDiag-Report-File: [EDITED TO REMOVE FILE SITE WHICH DOESN'T SEEM TO BE VERY FRIENDLY...]

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8988
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Bug on hills borders

Post by pipfromslitherine » Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:17 pm

Can you please paste it into a post here, the download site you linked seems to want to download an EXE. We really only need the first 100 lines or so. As RBS says we have only seen this previously on emulated machines. Are you running in a VM for example?

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

nemo-noname
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:18 pm

Re: Bug on hills borders

Post by nemo-noname » Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:31 pm

I have no VM.
Here is my DxDiag-Report:

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 9/17/2019, 22:45:02
Machine name: ---
Machine Id: ---
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 18362) (18362.19h1_release.190318-1202)
Language: German (Regional Setting: German)
System Manufacturer: System manufacturer
System Model: System Product Name
BIOS: BIOS Date: 12/08/18 00:35:40 Ver: 05.0000D (type: BIOS)
Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 2700 Eight-Core Processor (16 CPUs), ~3.2GHz
Memory: 16384MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 16310MB RAM
Page File: 6181MB used, 12560MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 12
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
Miracast: Available, with HDCP
Microsoft Graphics Hybrid: Not Supported
DirectX Database Version: Unknown
DxDiag Version: 10.00.18362.0329 64bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
Display Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 2: No problems found.
Sound Tab 3: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (retail)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (retail)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (retail)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: AMD Radeon RX 5700
Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Chip type: AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x731F)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Type: Full Device (POST)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_731F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C4
Device Status: 0180200A [DN_DRIVER_LOADED|DN_STARTED|DN_DISABLEABLE|DN_NT_ENUMERATOR|DN_NT_DRIVER]
Device Problem Code: No Problem
Driver Problem Code: Unknown
Display Memory: 16202 MB
Dedicated Memory: 8047 MB
Shared Memory: 8155 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
HDR Support: Not Supported
Display Topology: Internal
Display Color Space: DXGI_COLOR_SPACE_RGB_FULL_G22_NONE_P709
Color Primaries: Red(0.637695,0.333984), Green(0.308594,0.626953), Blue(0.153320,0.073242), White Point(0.313477,0.329102)
Display Luminance: Min Luminance = 0.500000, Max Luminance = 270.000000, MaxFullFrameLuminance = 270.000000
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: 24MP55
Monitor Id: GSM5A20
Native Mode: 1920 x 1080(p) (60.000Hz)
Output Type: HDMI
Monitor Capabilities: HDR Not Supported
Display Pixel Format: DISPLAYCONFIG_PIXELFORMAT_32BPP
Advanced Color: Not Supported
Driver Name: C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\u0346729.inf_amd64_aea6bce152d9aed0\B346681\aticfx64.dll,C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\u0346729.inf_amd64_aea6bce152d9aed0\B346681\aticfx64.dll,C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\u0346729.inf_amd64_aea6bce152d9aed0\B346681\aticfx64.dll,C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\u0346729.inf_amd64_aea6bce152d9aed0\B346681\amdxc64.dll
Driver File Version: 26.20.13003.1007 (English)
Driver Version: 26.20.13003.1007
DDI Version: 12
Feature Levels: 12_1,12_0,11_1,11_0,10_1,10_0,9_3,9_2,9_1
Driver Model: WDDM 2.6
Graphics Preemption: Primitive
Compute Preemption: DMA
Miracast: Not Supported by Graphics driver
Detachable GPU: No
Hybrid Graphics GPU: Not Supported
Power P-states: Not Supported
Virtualization: Paravirtualization
Block List: No Blocks
Catalog Attributes: Universal:False Declarative:False
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 10.09.2019 02:00:00, 1981584 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp: Unknown
Device Identifier: ---
Vendor ID: 0x1002
Device ID: 0x731F
SubSys ID: 0x0B361002
Revision ID: 0x00C4
Driver Strong Name: oem13.inf:cb0ae414e89619ba:ati2mtag_Navi10:26.20.13003.1007:PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_731F&REV_C4
Rank Of Driver: 00CF2000
Video Accel: Unknown
DXVA2 Modes: DXVA2_ModeMPEG2_VLD DXVA2_ModeMPEG2_IDCT DXVA2_ModeH264_VLD_NoFGT DXVA2_ModeHEVC_VLD_Main DXVA2_ModeH264_VLD_Stereo_Progressive_NoFGT DXVA2_ModeH264_VLD_Stereo_NoFGT DXVA2_ModeVC1_VLD DXVA2_ModeMPEG4pt2_VLD_AdvSimple_NoGMC DXVA2_ModeHEVC_VLD_Main10 DXVA2_ModeVP9_VLD_Profile0 DXVA2_ModeVP9_VLD_10bit_Profile2
Deinterlace Caps: n/a
D3D9 Overlay: Not Supported
DXVA-HD: Not Supported
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled
AGP Status: Enabled
MPO MaxPlanes: 1
MPO Caps: Not Supported
MPO Stretch: Not Supported
MPO Media Hints: Not Supported
MPO Formats: Not Supported
PanelFitter Caps: Not Supported
PanelFitter Stretch: Not Supported

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8988
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Bug on hills borders

Post by pipfromslitherine » Wed Sep 18, 2019 2:29 pm

Everything looks in order, so unfortunately I can only surmise it is a bug in the driver. With such a new card they may not have put all the DX9 code paths through especially thorough testing. I would suggest checking via the card application whether it is trying to do anything clever with the textures (e.g. if there is an option for Performance or Quality etc for textures).

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

nemo-noname
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:18 pm

Re: Bug on hills borders

Post by nemo-noname » Wed Sep 18, 2019 6:47 pm

I changed several alternative settings without success :(

MikeC_81
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
Posts: 756
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 2:28 am

Re: Bug on hills borders

Post by MikeC_81 » Sat Sep 21, 2019 12:16 am

I just upgraded to an AMD RX 5700XT and I too have this bug now. Never happened before on my old GTX 970

edit: @Pip, how does the game handle textures on hills? I have tried stripping every setting available in the Radeon driver suite to try and figure out what is going on. It appears to be linked somewhat to anti-aliasing. The effect is more pronounced the higher the AA setting. A setting of 0 producing 4 bands of "water" on the hills while a setting of 8x will produce a continuous film of water across the hills.
FoG 2 Post Game Analysis Series on Youtube:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCKmEROEwX2fgjoQLlQULhPg/

MikeC_81
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
Posts: 756
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 2:28 am

Re: Bug on hills borders

Post by MikeC_81 » Thu Sep 26, 2019 4:03 am

nemo-noname wrote:
Wed Sep 18, 2019 6:47 pm
I changed several alternative settings without success :(
Do the developers have *any* objections with the use of a DX9 wrapper until AMD resolves the driver bug? dgVoodoo2 solves the problem for me perfectly.

http://dege.freeweb.hu/dgVoodoo2/dgVoodoo2.html

I got it tonight and I am using it right now and there appear to be no ill effects.
FoG 2 Post Game Analysis Series on Youtube:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCKmEROEwX2fgjoQLlQULhPg/

nemo-noname
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:18 pm

Re: Bug on hills borders

Post by nemo-noname » Thu Sep 26, 2019 5:06 pm

@MikeC_81 I thank you for the solution :)
dgVoodoo2 solves the problem for me perfectly
it works for me too

JoeNavark
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:55 pm

Hillside texture glitch

Post by JoeNavark » Wed Nov 13, 2019 1:31 am

I'm using a radeon 5700xt. Just recently started occuring.
Attachments
20190815191601_1.jpg
20190815191601_1.jpg (462.8 KiB) Viewed 206 times
20190815192242_1.jpg
20190815192242_1.jpg (466.62 KiB) Viewed 206 times

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 22416
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Hillside texture glitch

Post by rbodleyscott » Wed Nov 13, 2019 7:48 am

This seems to be due to a bug in the Radeon 5700 drivers.

See the previous thread, which I have merged.

I am not sure whether we can do anything until Radeon fix the driver, but I will ask Pip again.

In the meantime, there is a workaround:
MikeC_81 wrote:
Thu Sep 26, 2019 4:03 am
nemo-noname wrote:
Wed Sep 18, 2019 6:47 pm
I changed several alternative settings without success :(
Do the developers have *any* objections with the use of a DX9 wrapper until AMD resolves the driver bug? dgVoodoo2 solves the problem for me perfectly.

http://dege.freeweb.hu/dgVoodoo2/dgVoodoo2.html

I got it tonight and I am using it right now and there appear to be no ill effects.
nemo-noname wrote:
Thu Sep 26, 2019 5:06 pm
@MikeC_81 I thank you for the solution :)
dgVoodoo2 solves the problem for me perfectly
it works for me too
Richard Bodley Scott

Image

MikeC_81
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
Posts: 756
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 2:28 am

Re: Hillside Texture Glitch

Post by MikeC_81 » Wed Nov 13, 2019 5:50 pm

There is a decent chance for a fix coming in the next set of Radeon drivers coming this December. This affects, to my knowledge, all GPUs based on the latest Navi architecture cards. So basically all 5xxx models released within the past 6 months. AMD cards using the older Polaris chips should be unaffected. I don't now anyone with a Vega card so I am unsure of those GPUs.
FoG 2 Post Game Analysis Series on Youtube:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCKmEROEwX2fgjoQLlQULhPg/

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 22416
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Hillside Texture Glitch

Post by rbodleyscott » Wed Nov 20, 2019 11:35 am

We have hopefully fixed the issue that caused systems with Radeon 5700 graphics card to display hill slopes as water.

You can try out the fix in the v1.5.22 open beta. See

https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewto ... 77&t=95278

If you have such a system, please could you turn off dgVoodoo2 if you installed it as a workaround fix, and check that the beta version does in fact correct the issue without the dgVoodoo2 wrapper.

We would also be interested in hearing whether the issue is also fixed on the Mac PC-emulators that previously had the same issue.
Richard Bodley Scott

Image

Post Reply

Return to “Field of Glory II: Tech Support”