Squad file data

desicat
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 3:02 pm

Re: Squad file data

Post by desicat » Sun Mar 15, 2020 2:02 pm

Paul59 wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 1:39 pm
desicat wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:40 am
General - general's name index. -1 if no general with unit.

What does this do? Does it allow for a General to be assigned to a specific unit? If so how does one insert the General, by name or by IDS, ex; IDS_GENERAL7, "Naravas",?
Well I guess you insert the IDS_GENERAL number that you want from Text6.txt or Text7.txt. But to be honest I have never, ever, tried to allocate generals that way.

What happens if you have more than one of the same unit in a battle? Does each unit have the same general!? And what qualities will the general have?

It is far better to allocate generals to units using the Editor, see my Scenario creation guide on the subject:

https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewto ... 91&t=80611
I was thinking of how it could be used in a Campaign, if at all. You are correct that for a Scenario your guide is spot on.

Paul59
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:26 pm

Re: Squad file data

Post by Paul59 » Sun Mar 15, 2020 4:57 pm

desicat wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 2:02 pm
Paul59 wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 1:39 pm
desicat wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:40 am
General - general's name index. -1 if no general with unit.

What does this do? Does it allow for a General to be assigned to a specific unit? If so how does one insert the General, by name or by IDS, ex; IDS_GENERAL7, "Naravas",?
Well I guess you insert the IDS_GENERAL number that you want from Text6.txt or Text7.txt. But to be honest I have never, ever, tried to allocate generals that way.

What happens if you have more than one of the same unit in a battle? Does each unit have the same general!? And what qualities will the general have?

It is far better to allocate generals to units using the Editor, see my Scenario creation guide on the subject:

https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewto ... 91&t=80611
I was thinking of how it could be used in a Campaign, if at all. You are correct that for a Scenario your guide is spot on.
For a Campaign you can select the CinCs by specifying them in the CUSTOMCAMPAIGN.TXT, but you don't have any control over which unit they are assigned to, or the names and capabilities of the Sub/Ally Generals.

I don't think the Squads.csv's General column is of much use in a Campaign. The only way I can see it working, is if you created your own armies in the ArmyList.txt, and allocate to them new General's units and give them a Min and Max value of 1. As long as the battle size was not too large, you should avoid having multiple units in a battle. Of course you would also have to create a new line in the Squads.csv for every unit with a General. I don't know how you would allocate capabilities (ie; Command Ability and Rank) to the named Generals though.

All that is of course subject to that Generals column in the Squads.csv working at all! As I said before, I have never used it, and I have never seen anyone else use it either.
Field of Glory 2 Scenario Designer - Age of Belisarius, Rise of Persia, and Wolves at the Gate.

TT Mod Creator

desicat
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 3:02 pm

Re: Squad file data

Post by desicat » Sun Mar 15, 2020 6:06 pm

Paul59 wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 4:57 pm
desicat wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 2:02 pm
Paul59 wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 1:39 pm


Well I guess you insert the IDS_GENERAL number that you want from Text6.txt or Text7.txt. But to be honest I have never, ever, tried to allocate generals that way.

What happens if you have more than one of the same unit in a battle? Does each unit have the same general!? And what qualities will the general have?

It is far better to allocate generals to units using the Editor, see my Scenario creation guide on the subject:

https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewto ... 91&t=80611
I was thinking of how it could be used in a Campaign, if at all. You are correct that for a Scenario your guide is spot on.
For a Campaign you can select the CinCs by specifying them in the CUSTOMCAMPAIGN.TXT, but you don't have any control over which unit they are assigned to, or the names and capabilities of the Sub/Ally Generals.

I don't think the Squads.csv's General column is of much use in a Campaign. The only way I can see it working, is if you created your own armies in the ArmyList.txt, and allocate to them new General's units and give them a Min and Max value of 1. As long as the battle size was not too large, you should avoid having multiple units in a battle. Of course you would also have to create a new line in the Squads.csv for every unit with a General. I don't know how you would allocate capabilities (ie; Command Ability and Rank) to the named Generals though.

All that is of course subject to that Generals column in the Squads.csv working at all! As I said before, I have never used it, and I have never seen anyone else use it either.
That is exactly what I was thinking. I have a battle where the Gauls have Roman Allies, and the AI assigns the Gaulic General to a Roman unit. If I create an Army for the Gauls with a special unit, say a renamed Warband to be called "Crispix Guards", then I can assign the Gaulic CinC General Crispix to that unit - preventing him from being attached to a Roman unit.

If it works then problem solved, but I have no idea on what even to try on the CSV spreadsheet to try it out.

Paul59
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:26 pm

Re: Squad file data

Post by Paul59 » Sun Mar 15, 2020 9:05 pm

desicat wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 6:06 pm

That is exactly what I was thinking. I have a battle where the Gauls have Roman Allies, and the AI assigns the Gaulic General to a Roman unit. If I create an Army for the Gauls with a special unit, say a renamed Warband to be called "Crispix Guards", then I can assign the Gaulic CinC General Crispix to that unit - preventing him from being attached to a Roman unit.

If it works then problem solved, but I have no idea on what even to try on the CSV spreadsheet to try it out.
I would put 10001 in Squads.csv column BH (General) for the Crispix Guard unit. That is one of the Gallic General names from Text6.txt, it is actually "Acaunos", but the name is unimportant.

Then in one of your campaign's text files put this line:

IDS_GENERAL10001,"Crispix",

Renaming Generals like that works in scenarios, it might work in Campaigns too.
Field of Glory 2 Scenario Designer - Age of Belisarius, Rise of Persia, and Wolves at the Gate.

TT Mod Creator

desicat
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 3:02 pm

Re: Squad file data

Post by desicat » Sun Mar 15, 2020 9:12 pm

Paul59 wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 9:05 pm
desicat wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 6:06 pm

That is exactly what I was thinking. I have a battle where the Gauls have Roman Allies, and the AI assigns the Gaulic General to a Roman unit. If I create an Army for the Gauls with a special unit, say a renamed Warband to be called "Crispix Guards", then I can assign the Gaulic CinC General Crispix to that unit - preventing him from being attached to a Roman unit.

If it works then problem solved, but I have no idea on what even to try on the CSV spreadsheet to try it out.
I would put 10001 in Squads.csv column BH (General) for the Crispix Guard unit. That is one of the Gallic General names from Text6.txt, it is actually "Acaunos", but the name is unimportant.

Then in one of your campaign's text files put this line:

IDS_GENERAL10001,"Crispix",

Renaming Generals like that works in scenarios, it might work in Campaigns too.
Thank you, I will give this a try.

desicat
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 3:02 pm

Re: Squad file data

Post by desicat » Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:28 pm

desicat wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 9:12 pm
Paul59 wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 9:05 pm
desicat wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 6:06 pm

That is exactly what I was thinking. I have a battle where the Gauls have Roman Allies, and the AI assigns the Gaulic General to a Roman unit. If I create an Army for the Gauls with a special unit, say a renamed Warband to be called "Crispix Guards", then I can assign the Gaulic CinC General Crispix to that unit - preventing him from being attached to a Roman unit.

If it works then problem solved, but I have no idea on what even to try on the CSV spreadsheet to try it out.
I would put 10001 in Squads.csv column BH (General) for the Crispix Guard unit. That is one of the Gallic General names from Text6.txt, it is actually "Acaunos", but the name is unimportant.

Then in one of your campaign's text files put this line:

IDS_GENERAL10001,"Crispix",

Renaming Generals like that works in scenarios, it might work in Campaigns too.
Thank you, I will give this a try.
It works, one can assign a Sub General but not the CinC. Even substituting the Text1 files for the CinC gets overridden and the General Assigned is named Sub General as the CinC name is already used. Interesting though.

Paul59
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:26 pm

Re: Squad file data

Post by Paul59 » Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:37 pm

desicat wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:28 pm
It works, one can assign a Sub General but not the CinC. Even substituting the Text1 files for the CinC gets overridden and the General Assigned is named Sub General as the CinC name is already used. Interesting though.
Are you still designating a CinC in the CUSTOMCAMPAIGN.TXT?

If you are, try deleting it and see what happens.
Field of Glory 2 Scenario Designer - Age of Belisarius, Rise of Persia, and Wolves at the Gate.

TT Mod Creator

desicat
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 3:02 pm

Re: Squad file data

Post by desicat » Mon Mar 16, 2020 12:31 am

Paul59 wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:37 pm
desicat wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:28 pm
It works, one can assign a Sub General but not the CinC. Even substituting the Text1 files for the CinC gets overridden and the General Assigned is named Sub General as the CinC name is already used. Interesting though.
Are you still designating a CinC in the CUSTOMCAMPAIGN.TXT?

If you are, try deleting it and see what happens.
No matter what I try the Sub General is assigned to the designated unit, but his name remains Sub General.

Paul59
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:26 pm

Re: Squad file data

Post by Paul59 » Mon Mar 16, 2020 11:01 am

desicat wrote:
Mon Mar 16, 2020 12:31 am

No matter what I try the Sub General is assigned to the designated unit, but his name remains Sub General.
I have just designed a quick test campaign, and I must admit you have had more success than me, I could not get the Sub General to appear with the unit at all!
Field of Glory 2 Scenario Designer - Age of Belisarius, Rise of Persia, and Wolves at the Gate.

TT Mod Creator

desicat
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 3:02 pm

Re: Squad file data

Post by desicat » Tue Mar 17, 2020 6:12 pm

Unless it is a fluke, I have managed to create a unit in a custom army and have a random sub general assigned to it every battle. I think any number other than -1 assigns a sub general from the correct army, just not the CinC. The unit was designed to be just an average Medium Foot that the AI would not normally give a SG to, has worked 5/5 times.

Post Reply

Return to “Field of Glory II: Modding”