Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

A mix of deep gameplay and rich historical flavor, Aggressors: Ancient Rome lets you relive history as the ruler of one of the mighty civilizations of the ancient Mediterranean. Choose one of twenty available factions and conquer the world.
Vivas
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:11 pm

Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by Vivas » Fri Aug 31, 2018 1:35 pm

Funny thing is that it onlt starts after i checked for updates. Otherwise i get a white screen and nothing happens.

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 15778
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by zakblood » Fri Aug 31, 2018 1:48 pm

ok, that's a new one on me, sorry about this, can you please post here below in the link provided and give me more information please, thanks and sorry again for your issues

viewforum.php?f=528

information needed and posted in the link would be,

version, site, steam or GOG version

and a report thanks,

How to get a DirectX Diagnostic file:

1. click on "START"
2. click "run"
3. type in "dxdiag" and click "OK"
4. check through the tabs and perform all tests
5. click "Save all Information..." and save the text file to a location of your choice

We prefer that DxDiag files be posted as message attachments rather than pasted into the body of the post.

once the report has been made, just attach it to your post with first adding the file to a zip, which is then permitted to attach to the forum

pavelk
Kubat Software
Kubat Software
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:27 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by pavelk » Fri Aug 31, 2018 1:58 pm

Vivas wrote:
Fri Aug 31, 2018 1:35 pm
Funny thing is that it onlt starts after i checked for updates. Otherwise i get a white screen and nothing happens.
HI Vivas,
can you please explain me this issue a bit more? Do you have Steam version or Slitherine version? You said you need to check updates but what updates and where do you need to check them?
Thank you for the answers and we apologize for the issue.
Pavel

Vivas
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:11 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by Vivas » Fri Aug 31, 2018 2:53 pm

I have the Slitherine version. I start the game fom the small startupscreen where you can acces the manual etc. I get a white screen with the small blue round in progress icon and nothing happens. When i click my mouse i get the game doesn't start properly and have the choice to either cancel the startup or wait until the game reacts, when i choose the second option nothing happens, only the white screen again. Ones i cancel the launch and i start the game and check for updates (in the right low corner of the Slitherine menu) it checks for updates and tells me that i already have the latest version. After that it starts normaly, unltil i quit the game again and i have to repeat the proces.

pavelk
Kubat Software
Kubat Software
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:27 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by pavelk » Fri Aug 31, 2018 3:00 pm

Vivas wrote:
Fri Aug 31, 2018 2:53 pm
I have the Slitherine version. I start the game fom the small startupscreen where you can acces the manual etc. I get a white screen with the small blue round in progress icon and nothing happens. When i click my mouse i get the game doesn't start properly and have the choice to either cancel the startup or wait until the game reacts, when i choose the second option nothing happens, only the white screen again. Ones i cancel the launch and i start the game and check for updates (in the right low corner of the Slitherine menu) it checks for updates and tells me that i already have the latest version. After that it starts normaly, unltil i quit the game again and i have to repeat the proces.
Thank you for sheding some light on that for me. Can you please try few more things:
  1. Start the game directly (without Slitherine menu) - there should be "Quick start" option in Start menu
  2. Start the game as admin from Slitherine menu
  3. Go to the installation path (it is usually C:\Program Files\Kubat Software\Aggressors Ancient Rome\) and start the game by executing Aggressors.exe
  4. And one more try to do the same as in the previous point just start as admin?
I know that it is annoying but please help us to find the issue you are experiencing.
Thank you
Pavel

Vivas
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:11 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by Vivas » Fri Aug 31, 2018 3:06 pm

Launching the game as admin worked twice, launching from directory does not work, same issue.

Vivas
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:11 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by Vivas » Fri Aug 31, 2018 3:08 pm

I try to add the dxdiag but i can't add the file (invalid file extension), same with a copy pasted open word file.

Vivas
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:11 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by Vivas » Fri Aug 31, 2018 3:09 pm

Well the game works with a slight delay, i am not to fussed about it, some day when you have time, after a few excellent dlc's you figure it out. It is a great game and i am happy i can play it ;-)

Yogi the Great
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 12:36 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by Yogi the Great » Fri Aug 31, 2018 3:42 pm

Wish I could remember what I did - when I started the game for the first time I got the white screen with the blue loading - after it seemed it should have done something by now I hit something and the game started up. I think I might have hit the esc key. Other possibility might have been the enter key.

Anyway since that first time it has always started up fine so far.

debtmars
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 2:18 am

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by debtmars » Fri Aug 31, 2018 8:23 pm

Same issue here as well.

debtmars
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 2:18 am

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by debtmars » Fri Aug 31, 2018 8:25 pm

Game crashed after I changed the game options ( Trees) and was required to reboot. Issue has laready been reported and file will be sent.

pavelk
Kubat Software
Kubat Software
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:27 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by pavelk » Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:29 pm

Hi debtmars,
we apologize for the crash.

I havent received the report yet but hopefully it will be received.
In the meantime could you try to run the game as admin? There have been some issues with the folder permissions reported and that might also be your case.
Thank you.
Let me know if that helped

CommanderPylos
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 2:25 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by CommanderPylos » Sun Sep 02, 2018 6:54 pm

Same issue here. Starting the game as admin works though.

Vivas
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:11 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by Vivas » Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:03 pm

I regietsered the game on steam with the key provided but it is not starting at all from steam. I get the same error but since i cannot look for updates in the menu box i cannot get it started. I wanted to play some time on steam to give a positive review, wich probably won't work anyway since i bought it from the Slitherine store. Or i can't make a review because i didn't play through steam yet.

pavelk
Kubat Software
Kubat Software
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:27 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by pavelk » Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:19 pm

Vivas wrote:
Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:03 pm
I regietsered the game on steam with the key provided but it is not starting at all from steam. I get the same error but since i cannot look for updates in the menu box i cannot get it started. I wanted to play some time on steam to give a positive review, wich probably won't work anyway since i bought it from the Slitherine store.
Hi Vivas,
I have notified Slitherine support to help you out. In the meantime can you try to run the game as admin? Can you also try to switch off your INternet connection before you start the Steam version of the game?
Thank you and we apologize for this.

Vivas
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:11 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by Vivas » Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:36 pm

I tried all of that, steam won't work be it as admin, offline, online or without internet connection Because the only way it starts up is after i checked for updates. The funny thing is that i also works after it disconnected internet connection and started the slitherine version, checked for updates wich obviously failed due to no connection but the game started. I want hoewever put a positive review on steam since i belive this game deserves a positive rating. I act out of self interest since i want dlc's in the future ;-)

pavelk
Kubat Software
Kubat Software
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:27 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by pavelk » Mon Sep 03, 2018 6:13 pm

I hope Slitherine support will be able to help. The office is closed but they will come back to you tomorrow.
Hopefully we will figure it out soon.

debtmars
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 2:18 am

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by debtmars » Mon Sep 03, 2018 6:23 pm

How do you run the game as admin?

pavelk
Kubat Software
Kubat Software
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:27 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by pavelk » Mon Sep 03, 2018 6:59 pm

debtmars wrote:
Mon Sep 03, 2018 6:23 pm
How do you run the game as admin?
It depends on if you run the Steam version or standalone version. If you run the standalone version, just right click on the icon, go to properties and check the tick "Run as Administrator".
If you have Steam version, the best is to go to the game folder and find Aggressors.exe and change it there (again right click->properties->run as admin) but there are other ways how to do it. here it is

Razz1
Panzer Corps Moderator
Panzer Corps Moderator
Posts: 3307
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:49 am
Location: USA

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by Razz1 » Mon Sep 03, 2018 8:22 pm

run as administrator fixed the problem for me.

Post Reply

Return to “Aggressors: Ancient Rome”