Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

A mix of deep gameplay and rich historical flavor, Aggressors: Ancient Rome lets you relive history as the ruler of one of the mighty civilizations of the ancient Mediterranean. Choose one of twenty available factions and conquer the world.
debtmars
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 2:18 am

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by debtmars » Mon Sep 03, 2018 9:28 pm

pavelk wrote:
Mon Sep 03, 2018 6:59 pm
debtmars wrote:
Mon Sep 03, 2018 6:23 pm
How do you run the game as admin?
It depends on if you run the Steam version or standalone version. If you run the standalone version, just right click on the icon, go to properties and check the tick "Run as Administrator".
If you have Steam version, the best is to go to the game folder and find Aggressors.exe and change it there (again right click->properties->run as admin) but there are other ways how to do it. here it is
Found the fle and tried to run as admin...still doesn't work.

pavelk
Kubat Software
Kubat Software
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:27 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by pavelk » Mon Sep 03, 2018 9:42 pm

I wrote to Slitherine support,
they will contact you tomorrow.
I am sorry about that.

debtmars
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 2:18 am

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by debtmars » Mon Sep 03, 2018 9:44 pm

No problem, we will get it sorted out.

Razz1
Panzer Corps Moderator
Panzer Corps Moderator
Posts: 3307
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:49 am
Location: USA

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by Razz1 » Tue Sep 04, 2018 3:45 pm

However, I have to right click and run as administrator every time. What the point of having a desk top icon?

I always forget to right click.

pavelk
Kubat Software
Kubat Software
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:27 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by pavelk » Tue Sep 04, 2018 3:51 pm

Razz1 wrote:
Tue Sep 04, 2018 3:45 pm
I always forget to right click.
You can make it permanent if you go to properties and set it there.

pavelk
Kubat Software
Kubat Software
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:27 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by pavelk » Wed Sep 05, 2018 12:49 pm

Hi Razz1,
would you mind to tell me what Windows do you have and also what antivirus/antimalware software do you use?
It seems like this issue was caused by either windows or some kind of blocking software which prevented the game to create necessary folders.
Thank you for your help.
Pavel

debtmars
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 2:18 am

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by debtmars » Sun Sep 09, 2018 7:41 pm

We've tried everything and still can't get game to run. I'm a noob, but son is good and my brother is a programmer, neither can get the game to run. We sent dxdiag files...several attachments of files, etc. Hoepfully we can get this sorted out soon. Thanks.

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 15778
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by zakblood » Sun Sep 09, 2018 7:54 pm

if you don't have a administrator account and run as admin, or have any none standard firewall or anti virus software on the pc, which doesn't allow the game to install and run correctly, the game won't work, 99% of pc's running windows won't have an issue with the game what so ever,...

best advice is to name the antivirus and firewall you run, so others can find how to add an exception to it, so the game installs and runs correctly, as it is, something is stopping the game from installing and running correctly, this is on your side so without the information being supplied, it never will, if know one you know can't get it working, if you provide me with the information either here or in private, i get the information needed to allow it to run on what ever software you use as i'll google it, as every software out there corp or not has to allow apps and software to run so prints information on it's site on how and why it's needed, can't believe this is the first time either, as tbh anything out of the ordinary would flag up anything, so makes me wonder if you're using either a none administrator account with no permissions or a dumb terminal with no rights to install at all

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 15778
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by zakblood » Sun Sep 09, 2018 7:56 pm

without either a report given of the software or hardware used, as some hardware firewalls are just as poor as some software ones for permissions etc

How to get a DirectX Diagnostic file:

1. click on "START"
2. click "run"
3. type in "dxdiag" and click "OK"
4. check through the tabs and perform all tests
5. click "Save all Information..." and save the text file to a location of your choice

We prefer that DxDiag files be posted as message attachments rather than pasted into the body of the post.

once the report has been made, just attach it to your post with first adding the file to a zip, which is then permitted to attach to the forum

the more information given, the better. a report above only gives a basic hardware and driver report, it doesn't name the anti virus or firewalls you could be using, which any combo of poor or odd ones can do much to stop applications and programs, and software from installing and running correctly.

debtmars
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 2:18 am

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by debtmars » Sun Sep 09, 2018 8:37 pm

Several files were sent yesterday to Slitherine with the ticket number. Wasn't expecting a response, just posted to let you know files were sent. Have Kaspersky anti-virus. Got to say, little disappointed in your accusatory post, above. Could be English is second language that makes if sound as such. In any event, appreciate assistance to help get this fixed.

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 15778
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by zakblood » Mon Sep 10, 2018 5:11 am

sorry didn't see any reports posted, so just jumped to conclusions after already reading the developer had responded and asked also for the same information, Kaspersky anti-virus is good, but also sometimes rather too keen on blocking stuff also, so will leave you with staff support and hope they sort it soon for you and i apologies for my rash and quick off handed reply :cry:

Code: Select all

https://www.kaspersky.com/blog/kis-settings-for-steam/13970/
just one of many of there forum replies tbh about games and Kaspersky tech support posts

debtmars
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 2:18 am

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by debtmars » Mon Sep 10, 2018 1:36 pm

No problem. Appreciate the help you guys offer.

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 15778
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Game doesn't start unless i check for updates.

Post by zakblood » Mon Sep 10, 2018 2:30 pm

we are all gamer's first, support is a secondary thing, so wish to see everyone enjoying the games we do, as most of the time, i'm on the alpha and beta of the game, so know it's well worth it, so look forward to getting it working and hearing what you think also, good luck

Post Reply

Return to “Aggressors: Ancient Rome”