Game crashes due to save game location

Tech Support
Post Reply
kernschatten
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:08 am

Game crashes due to save game location

Post by kernschatten » Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:21 am

I have Gladius installed on a system with sync center active (i.e. domain controlled locations). I was able to run the game fine over the weekend, but now I get the attached error message, which would basically be that the app doesn't have access to the domain location of my documents. So long story short, is there a way to change the save locations?

I purchased the game through Steam
Attachments
gladius.PNG
gladius.PNG (11.89 KiB) Viewed 1287 times

kernschatten
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:08 am

Re: Game crashes due to save game location

Post by kernschatten » Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:26 am

other attachments didn't save
folderlocation.png
folderlocation.png (15.83 KiB) Viewed 1283 times
Attachments
DxDiag.zip
(18.04 KiB) Downloaded 39 times

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 15418
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Game crashes due to save game location

Post by zakblood » Tue Aug 28, 2018 5:41 am

first problem,

Card name: Intel(R) HD Graphics 630
Display Memory: 16436 MB
Dedicated Memory: 128 MB
Shared Memory: 16308 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)

Display Topology: Clone
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: unknown
Monitor Id: BOE0713
Native Mode: 1920 x 1080(p) (60.428Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: AMD vDisplay
Monitor Id: AMD0B80

Native Mode: 3840 x 2160(p) (59.997Hz)

Card name: Radeon (TM) Pro WX 4130 Graphics
Display Memory: 18302 MB
Dedicated Memory: 1993 MB
Shared Memory: 16308 MB
with no monitor attached, so not used for the game

Code: Select all

https://www.techadvisor.co.uk/how-to/pc-components/how-set-default-graphics-card-3612668/
on your main question, no answer or reply from me

as with all games, the saves have to be saved locally and in the same place each and every time or it will error, if the game was installed as admin with the correct default location with steam, or site version for that matter, the game save game location is already done, while you can alter the location for the game, the saves are defaulted to steam rules, which can't be altered
Untitled.jpg
Untitled.jpg (71.4 KiB) Viewed 1276 times
unless someone else with more knowledge can explain how, without a registry hack, which would be broken on every game update btw
You cant.
Each game have different game save location.
Most of the game put their save files on
Steam>userdata(numbers)>gameID
What inside are screenshot/config and sometimes save files.
so altering the location of the game, gives it a new ID, but the saves are still defaulted to the same place, just with a new ID number.

the developer maybe able to explain more, reasons and offer something else, but as far as i can see, from the basic knowledge and what you have provided, it's your hardware and software which is at the point of the error, not the game, or steam even,

only information on the subject i could find is this, if it's of any help

Code: Select all

https://www.digitalcitizen.life/use-network-folders-and-files-while-offline-sync-center-offline-files
which may help you setup and sync a offline folder to the game saves, hopefully, good luck with some reading and work on your end, i'm sure you will be able to sort it out if it's worked before and will need to be active in offline mode for future game saving anyway, as none will or would work without it, only when your online and logged in at work etc

kernschatten
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:08 am

Re: Game crashes due to save game location

Post by kernschatten » Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:56 am

Thanks for the response Zakblood,

DxDiag was run w/o the game running, so the AMD is off. The game will run, it just can't save.

Checked the settings on SyncCenter and they look fine, and I can access the network path just fine through explorer.

Running the game directly (not through launcher) as admin still results in the same issue.

Attached latest logs
Attachments
Logs.zip
(8.01 KiB) Downloaded 32 times

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 15418
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Game crashes due to save game location

Post by zakblood » Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:29 pm

i'm going to have to pass you on, as i can't support this, as your not using a standard system setup, so any error's found i can't replicate or offer any more advice other than to run the steam game normally with the SyncCenter etc turned off i'm sorry to say, good luck and hope someone can or does offer some better or different advice, as i just don't enough or can find out enough to help so have no more solutions or advice for you :oops:

kernschatten
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:08 am

Re: Game crashes due to save game location

Post by kernschatten » Wed Aug 29, 2018 2:16 am

In this set of logs I performed the following:
  • Deleted all previous saves
  • Manually saved: worked
  • Went somewhere north of 20 turns, with successful auto-saves in slots 2-5
  • Auto-save to slot 1: failed with the access error
Attachments
SinglePlayer.zip
(384.9 KiB) Downloaded 31 times
Logs-someworking.zip
(25.65 KiB) Downloaded 35 times

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8952
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Game crashes due to save game location

Post by pipfromslitherine » Wed Aug 29, 2018 7:47 pm

Just as a note, we had issues with FoG2 and saving files when folders were synced. Some recent change in Windows seems to allow sync'ers to lock or otherwise mess up a file after it has been closed but before it has been flushed by the file system. Adding forced flushes before closing the file handle seemed to fix it, though it was frankly a hail mary move given that the file system is supposed to prevent it from happening...

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

Post Reply

Return to “Warhammer 40,000: Gladius - Relics of War: Tech Support”