Can´t start game

Post Reply
Mdayan
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 10:19 pm

Can´t start game

Post by Mdayan » Mon Sep 03, 2018 12:40 pm

Hello,

8 out of 10 times I can´t start the game. I just get a glimpse of the start screen, then a black screen, then back to the start menu and the desktop.

I checked my drives and they are updated.

Any ideas?

Thank you.

pavelk
Kubat Software
Kubat Software
Posts: 2449
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:27 pm

Re: Can´t start game

Post by pavelk » Mon Sep 03, 2018 12:43 pm

My Mdayan,
we apologize for this issue.
Have you tried starting the game as administrator? Some PCs have policy set to not allow writing to your Document\Saved Games folder where config files are taken from.
Please let me know.

Mdayan
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 10:19 pm

Re: Can´t start game

Post by Mdayan » Mon Sep 03, 2018 1:43 pm

pavelk wrote:
Mon Sep 03, 2018 12:43 pm
My Mdayan,
we apologize for this issue.
Have you tried starting the game as administrator? Some PCs have policy set to not allow writing to your Document\Saved Games folder where config files are taken from.
Please let me know.
Thank you, Pavelk.

I'm really a noob. Can´t seem to find a way to start as administrator (at least, right-clicking does not give me that option). Sorry :s

Any sugestions?

Thank you.

pavelk
Kubat Software
Kubat Software
Posts: 2449
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:27 pm

Re: Can´t start game

Post by pavelk » Mon Sep 03, 2018 1:46 pm

Mdayan wrote:
Mon Sep 03, 2018 1:43 pm
Any sugestions?
If you have Steam version, here is how to do it https://steamcommunity.com/discussions/ ... 316676882/
Otherwise, find the file Aggressors.exe in this folder C:\Program Files\Kubat Software\Aggressors Ancient Rome\ , right click on that file and set it in properties.

Mdayan
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 10:19 pm

Re: Can´t start game

Post by Mdayan » Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:07 pm

pavelk wrote:
Mon Sep 03, 2018 1:46 pm
Mdayan wrote:
Mon Sep 03, 2018 1:43 pm
Any sugestions?
If you have Steam version, here is how to do it https://steamcommunity.com/discussions/ ... 316676882/
Otherwise, find the file Aggressors.exe in this folder C:\Program Files\Kubat Software\Aggressors Ancient Rome\ , right click on that file and set it in properties.
Didn´t work.

First tried to "run as admin". Clicking "play game" in the starting menu just prompts the starting menu again (with an half a second delay).

Then I set "run as admin" on properties (compatibility). Did the same, except it asked me if it worked.

Sugestions?

Thank you.

Mdayan
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 10:19 pm

Re: Can´t start game

Post by Mdayan » Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:08 pm

pavelk wrote:
Mon Sep 03, 2018 1:46 pm
Mdayan wrote:
Mon Sep 03, 2018 1:43 pm
Any sugestions?
If you have Steam version, here is how to do it https://steamcommunity.com/discussions/ ... 316676882/
Otherwise, find the file Aggressors.exe in this folder C:\Program Files\Kubat Software\Aggressors Ancient Rome\ , right click on that file and set it in properties.
Didn´t work.

First tried to "run as admin". Clicking "play game" in the starting menu just prompts the starting menu again (with an half a second delay).

Then I set "run as admin" on properties (compatibility). Did the same, except it asked me if it worked.

Sugestions?

Thank you.

Surtur
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 8:38 am

Re: Can´t start game

Post by Surtur » Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:11 pm

Hi,

Please send a message to support[at]slitherine.co.uk linking to this thread, and adding a DXDIAG.

We will see if we can get it sorted on your machine :)

- Surtur

Morbio
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1936
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 4:40 pm
Location: Wokingham, UK

Re: Can´t start game

Post by Morbio » Sat Sep 22, 2018 4:01 pm

Hi, I'm having similar problems... most times I try to start the game I get a white screen with a spinning blue circle and nothing happens.

As a side comment the game crashed about 20 turns into my 1st play session and I had to restart, which worked fine on the 2nd or 3rd attempt to start. I'm now trying to begin my second play session and the game just isn't starting.

Finally started on the 4th or 5th attempt!

Morbio
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1936
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 4:40 pm
Location: Wokingham, UK

Re: Can´t start game

Post by Morbio » Sat Sep 22, 2018 4:39 pm

Now just crashed after about 2 turns, started 1st time though.

pavelk
Kubat Software
Kubat Software
Posts: 2449
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:27 pm

Re: Can´t start game

Post by pavelk » Sat Sep 22, 2018 4:46 pm

Hi Morbio,
I am sorry to hear that. We apologize for that.
Can you please drop me an email to info@kubat-software.com ? We can hopefully sort it out.
Thank you
Pavel

Morbio
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1936
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 4:40 pm
Location: Wokingham, UK

Re: Can´t start game

Post by Morbio » Sat Sep 22, 2018 4:48 pm

Grrr - just as I was about to complete the turn it crashed again, both times in the process of trying to build a temple... I have the temple active on cursor and I'm hovering over the map to decide where to place it. I may actually be scrolling with mouse at the time.

dejvid2
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 2:50 pm

Re: Can´t start game

Post by dejvid2 » Tue Apr 02, 2019 12:54 pm

Have the same problem (using windows 10) Even when I "run as admin", clicking "play game" in the starting menu just prompts the starting menu again.

This was just after update to 1.0.7 but as I've had a long break of not playing so I have no idea if that is related.

I did get it briefly to work last night using steam but now that won't work either.

This is the log:

13:53:10: Creating resource group General
13:53:10: Creating resource group Internal
13:53:10: Creating resource group Autodetect
13:53:10: SceneManagerFactory for type 'DefaultSceneManager' registered.
13:53:10: Registering ResourceManager for type Material
13:53:10: Registering ResourceManager for type Mesh
13:53:10: Registering ResourceManager for type Skeleton
13:53:10: MovableObjectFactory for type 'ParticleSystem' registered.
13:53:10: OverlayElementFactory for type Panel registered.
13:53:10: OverlayElementFactory for type BorderPanel registered.
13:53:10: OverlayElementFactory for type TextArea registered.
13:53:10: Registering ResourceManager for type Font
13:53:10: ArchiveFactory for archive type FileSystem registered.
13:53:10: ArchiveFactory for archive type Zip registered.
13:53:10: DDS codec registering
13:53:10: FreeImage version: 3.15.3
13:53:10: This program uses FreeImage, a free, open source image library supporting all common bitmap formats. See http://freeimage.sourceforge.net for details
13:53:10: Supported formats: bmp,ico,jpg,jif,jpeg,jpe,jng,koa,iff,lbm,mng,pbm,pbm,pcd,pcx,pgm,pgm,png,ppm,ppm,ras,tga,targa,tif,tiff,wap,wbmp,wbm,psd,cut,xbm,xpm,gif,hdr,g3,sgi,exr,j2k,j2c,jp2,pfm,pct,pict,pic,3fr,arw,bay,bmq,cap,cine,cr2,crw,cs1,dc2,dcr,drf,dsc,dng,erf,fff,ia,iiq,k25,kc2,kdc,mdc,mef,mos,mrw,nef,nrw,orf,pef,ptx,pxn,qtk,raf,raw,rdc,rw2,rwl,rwz,sr2,srf,srw,sti
13:53:10: PVRTC codec registering
13:53:10: Registering ResourceManager for type HighLevelGpuProgram
13:53:10: Registering ResourceManager for type Compositor
13:53:10: MovableObjectFactory for type 'Entity' registered.
13:53:10: MovableObjectFactory for type 'Light' registered.
13:53:10: MovableObjectFactory for type 'BillboardSet' registered.
13:53:10: MovableObjectFactory for type 'ManualObject' registered.
13:53:10: MovableObjectFactory for type 'BillboardChain' registered.
13:53:10: MovableObjectFactory for type 'RibbonTrail' registered.
13:53:10: *-*-* OGRE Initialising
13:53:10: *-*-* Version 1.7.4 (Cthugha)
13:53:10: Version 1.0739503
13:53:10: Application path F:\programs\steam\steamapps\common\Aggressors Ancient Rome\
13:53:10: Executing path F:\programs\steam\steamapps\common\Aggressors Ancient Rome
13:53:10: Startup path F:\programs\steam\steamapps\common\Aggressors Ancient Rome
13:53:10: Product version 1.0.7.0
13:53:10: Build date 12/13/18 20:56:47
13:53:10: Loading library RenderSystem_GL
13:53:10: Installing plugin: GL RenderSystem
13:53:10: OpenGL Rendering Subsystem created.

pavelk
Kubat Software
Kubat Software
Posts: 2449
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:27 pm

Re: Can´t start game

Post by pavelk » Tue Apr 02, 2019 12:59 pm

Hi dejvid2,
did the error window
Image pop up? If so, can you send the report?
If it didnt, is the log you sent the whole log?

I recommend to join our Discord channel so we can fix it quickly.

dejvid2
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 2:50 pm

Re: Can´t start game

Post by dejvid2 » Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:38 pm

There was no error screen and tat was the whole log.

I've just rebooted windows and it works again :D but I'm sure that if I exit it will go back to not starting as I've tried reboots before.

What is the discord channel?

pavelk
Kubat Software
Kubat Software
Posts: 2449
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:27 pm

Re: Can´t start game

Post by pavelk » Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:54 pm

dejvid2 wrote:
Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:38 pm
What is the discord channel?
It is a chatting platform. Here is the invitation link

dejvid2
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 2:50 pm

Re: Can´t start game

Post by dejvid2 » Wed Apr 03, 2019 11:24 am

pavelk wrote:
Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:54 pm
dejvid2 wrote:
Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:38 pm
What is the discord channel?
It is a chatting platform. Here is the invitation link
I happily played yesterday (just so long as I didn't exit) but the problem has returned. I gather now that the discord link was
only valid at the time. I will keep checking to see if you can look at the problem this afternoon.

dejvid2
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 2:50 pm

Re: Can´t start game

Post by dejvid2 » Fri Apr 05, 2019 2:24 pm

dejvid2 wrote:
Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:38 pm
There was no error screen and tat was the whole log.

I've just rebooted windows and it works again :D but I'm sure that if I exit it will go back to not starting as I've tried reboots before.

What is the discord channel?
The problem turned out to be that Windows was only partially updating. When I fixed that and Windows did a full update Aggressors worked fine.

With hindsight, it ought to have been a clue that for Aggresors to crash before it had really started and before it was able to issue any error
messages that the problem was my system not the game itself.

Thanks to Pavelk for all the help.

pavelk
Kubat Software
Kubat Software
Posts: 2449
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:27 pm

Re: Can´t start game

Post by pavelk » Fri Apr 05, 2019 2:45 pm

dejvid2 wrote:
Fri Apr 05, 2019 2:24 pm
With hindsight, it ought to have been a clue that for Aggresors to crash before it had really started and before it was able to issue any error
messages that the problem was my system not the game itself.
Thanks to Pavelk for all the help.
Great to hear that the update fixed the issue. I am really happy to hear that.
Thank you for posting an update.

Post Reply

Return to “Aggressors: Tech Support”