Late Republic and bolt throwers

A forum for any questions relating to army design, the army companion books and upcoming lists.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Terry
Private First Class - Opel Blitz

Post by Terry » Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:01 pm

Hello!

I'm new to FoG and I'm trying to decide which army to choose. Late Republican Romans are one of the options. I'm curious if you find it a good idea to field an army based on bolt throwers.... for a beginning with 400 pts I was thinking about sth like a FC, 4x4 superior legion infantry, 4 LH, 6 Javelinmen and 4 bolt throwers. What do you think about it?

neilhammond
Master Sergeant - Bf 109E

Post by neilhammond » Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:47 pm

I probably wouldn't recommend the bolt throwers - light bolt shooter are slow and don't really have much range. Either you legionaries will out pace them, or you're army will be too slow.

A pair behind some field fortifications might be worth considering, but I'm not a great fan. It's worth using for an occassional "surprise".

Neil

Terry

Post by Terry » Sun Jul 20, 2008 3:32 pm

Aren't bolt throwers from the late republic list heavy artillery? Their range seems ok and I read somewhere that fortificatins enable me to deploy them closer to the enemy....

neilhammond

Re: Late Republic and bolt throwers

Post by neilhammond » Sun Jul 20, 2008 6:19 pm

Terry wrote:Aren't bolt throwers from the late republic list heavy artillery? Their range seems ok and I read somewhere that fortificatins enable me to deploy them closer to the enemy....
Yes, you're right, they're heavy artillery. Even worse, they can't move at all! However, always worth a go.

hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier

Post by hazelbark » Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:13 pm