Archon Engine

Field of Glory: Empires is a grand strategy game in which you will have to move in an intricate and living tapestry of nations and tribes, each one with their distinctive culture.
Set in Europe and in the Mediterranean Area during the Classical Age, experience what truly means to manage an Empire.

Moderator: Pocus

Post Reply
WG
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 8:27 pm

Archon Engine

Post by WG » Sat Jul 20, 2019 12:24 pm

It has been mentioned here before that Field of Glory: Empires uses the new Archon Engine, the same engine as Field of Glory 2. I was surprised to read that the same engine will be in the upcoming games Close Combat: The Bloody First and Astra Exodus, two very different games. Do any other games use it?

springel
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 5:10 pm
Location: Groningen
Contact:

Re: Archon Engine

Post by springel » Sun Jul 21, 2019 2:00 pm

http://archonwiki.slitherine.com/index. ... e_Concepts

It appears to be a Slitherine custom engine.

WG
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: Archon Engine

Post by WG » Sun Jul 21, 2019 2:45 pm

Interesting. They have used Unity before. I wonder why they decided to go with an in-house engine.

guanotwozero
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 6:35 pm

Re: Archon Engine

Post by guanotwozero » Sun Jul 21, 2019 4:14 pm

WG wrote:
Sun Jul 21, 2019 2:45 pm
Interesting. They have used Unity before. I wonder why they decided to go with an in-house engine.
Suitability, flexibility and performance would be the usual reasons. Like moving from a prefab house which is sort of adequate for your needs to a customised house which is exactly what you want. Want a new feature? Instead of waiting for a new update from the engine maker, you just create it yourself.

It's especially worth the time and effort if you're going to reuse it.

BTW I have no specific knowlege of their use of this engine, that's just the usual reason for any bespoke software.

jomni
Sengoku Jidai
Sengoku Jidai
Posts: 1393
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 1:20 am

Re: Archon Engine

Post by jomni » Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:25 am

Warhammer 40K Sanctus reach uses the same engine.

Archon is an evolution of Battle Academy Stub engine. Used by Battle Academy, Pike and Shot, Sengoku Jidai, Hell.

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9048
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Archon Engine

Post by pipfromslitherine » Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:23 pm

Astra does not use the Archon engine. As stated, it is the basis for many other of our games.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

Post Reply

Return to “Field of Glory: Empires”