Page 1 of 1

Archon Engine

Posted: Sat Jul 20, 2019 12:24 pm
by WG
It has been mentioned here before that Field of Glory: Empires uses the new Archon Engine, the same engine as Field of Glory 2. I was surprised to read that the same engine will be in the upcoming games Close Combat: The Bloody First and Astra Exodus, two very different games. Do any other games use it?

Re: Archon Engine

Posted: Sun Jul 21, 2019 2:00 pm
by springel
http://archonwiki.slitherine.com/index. ... e_Concepts

It appears to be a Slitherine custom engine.

Re: Archon Engine

Posted: Sun Jul 21, 2019 2:45 pm
by WG
Interesting. They have used Unity before. I wonder why they decided to go with an in-house engine.

Re: Archon Engine

Posted: Sun Jul 21, 2019 4:14 pm
by guanotwozero
WG wrote:
Sun Jul 21, 2019 2:45 pm
Interesting. They have used Unity before. I wonder why they decided to go with an in-house engine.
Suitability, flexibility and performance would be the usual reasons. Like moving from a prefab house which is sort of adequate for your needs to a customised house which is exactly what you want. Want a new feature? Instead of waiting for a new update from the engine maker, you just create it yourself.

It's especially worth the time and effort if you're going to reuse it.

BTW I have no specific knowlege of their use of this engine, that's just the usual reason for any bespoke software.

Re: Archon Engine

Posted: Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:25 am
by jomni
Warhammer 40K Sanctus reach uses the same engine.

Archon is an evolution of Battle Academy Stub engine. Used by Battle Academy, Pike and Shot, Sengoku Jidai, Hell.

Re: Archon Engine

Posted: Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:23 pm
by pipfromslitherine
Astra does not use the Archon engine. As stated, it is the basis for many other of our games.

Cheers

Pip