How to add new custom banners ?

Moderator: Pocus

Post Reply
SGZ
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:31 am

How to add new custom banners ?

Post by SGZ » Tue Jun 09, 2020 2:06 am

I've managed to mod the existing banner types italic, celt etc but want to make unique ones.
banner_celt_Diffuse@.png
banner_celt_Diffuse@.png (105.46 KiB) Viewed 374 times

I tried Macedon and defined it in the FACTIONS.CSV and created it as shown


banner_macedon_Diffuse@.png
banner_macedon_Diffuse@.png (127.05 KiB) Viewed 374 times


but just led to a yellow triangle error icon appearing over the armies on the campaign map. Any tips ?

SGZ
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:31 am

Re: How to add new custom banners ?

Post by SGZ » Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:03 am

?
Attachments
20200609101311_1.jpg
20200609101311_1.jpg (567.11 KiB) Viewed 371 times

Pocus
Ageod
Ageod
Posts: 2664
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 3:05 pm

Re: How to add new custom banners ?

Post by Pocus » Tue Jun 09, 2020 7:42 am

Is your banner set made of 5 files put in BANNERS?

That's not something I'm very knowledged at, as this is about 3D graphics, but opening the S4F file (which is a binary it seems), there are explicit mentions to the banner name ...
AGEOD Team - Makers of Empires, ACW2, WON, EAW, PON, AJE, RUS, ROP, WIA.

SGZ
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:31 am

Re: How to add new custom banners ?

Post by SGZ » Tue Jun 09, 2020 11:00 am

yes.

I have all 5 files and opened the .s4f file by converting it to .txt and then changed greek to macedon and converted it back to .s4f format. Just results in the yellow triangles

Pocus
Ageod
Ageod
Posts: 2664
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 3:05 pm

Re: How to add new custom banners ?

Post by Pocus » Tue Jun 09, 2020 12:35 pm

I'll ask ... hold the line.
AGEOD Team - Makers of Empires, ACW2, WON, EAW, PON, AJE, RUS, ROP, WIA.

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9253
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: How to add new custom banners ?

Post by pipfromslitherine » Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:40 pm

If you are editing the S4F files by hand you have to be very very careful. This is best done using a binary editor rather than trying to convert to and from text. And if you are changing a texture name you need to ensure that the name is exactly the same length (none of the bytes should move). That is likely the cause of the oddness.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

SGZ
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:31 am

Re: How to add new custom banners ?

Post by SGZ » Tue Jun 09, 2020 9:29 pm

Okay. Thanks. I might leave that in the " too hard basket " .

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9253
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: How to add new custom banners ?

Post by pipfromslitherine » Tue Jun 09, 2020 10:27 pm

If you need to change the texture on an S4F you could just use the import tool (see here: viewtopic.php?f=492&t=81693 ) and load the S4F, change the texture, and save it out again. You may need to tinker to get the tool config set up, but once it is running you can create tweaked S4Fs without too much trouble.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

Post Reply

Return to “MOD”