Chariots of War problem

PC : Turn based Empire building in the ancient Near East.

Moderator: Slitherine Core

Post Reply
IvantheTerrible
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 2:09 am

Chariots of War problem

Post by IvantheTerrible » Tue Oct 08, 2013 1:19 pm

Dear Slitherine,

I purchased Chariots of War two days ago and haven't been able to fully play it, because it crashes after I conquer a city. I also posted this in another topic. Both my computers only run windows 7, I am not sure if the problem is with the windows version. It wouldn't bother me as much if I had the game for a long time, but haven't even really played it.

I have been a long time fan of Slitherine by already owning the games of Spartan and Gates of Troy. If I can't get Chariots of War to work, is it possible that I could obtain credit for my purchase to be able to get another game that works instead? I can post the receipt on here if you require proof of my purchase.

Thank you for your time.

Regards,

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8977
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Chariots of War problem

Post by pipfromslitherine » Tue Oct 08, 2013 3:43 pm

This issue should be solved by the following hotfix:

http://www.slitherine.com/files/chariot ... _1.2.1.zip

You will need to replace your existing CoW EXE with this one.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

IvantheTerrible
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 2:09 am

Re: Chariots of War problem

Post by IvantheTerrible » Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:39 am

Thank you for the reply.

Unfortunately when I run it, I get an error sign that says "Entry point not found. The procedure entry point_AIL_set_stream_volume@8 could not be located in the dynamic link library mss32.dll."

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8977
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Chariots of War problem

Post by pipfromslitherine » Thu Oct 10, 2013 3:43 pm

Is your version a direct download from us? The most recent version?

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

IvantheTerrible
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 2:09 am

Re: Chariots of War problem

Post by IvantheTerrible » Fri Oct 11, 2013 3:20 am

I have the version that was giving to me by Slitherine after the purchase.

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8977
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Chariots of War problem

Post by pipfromslitherine » Fri Oct 11, 2013 2:55 pm

So if you copy the EXE from the zip into the CoW installation folder, then run the new 121 EXE (not the original) you get that message?

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

IvantheTerrible
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 2:09 am

Re: Chariots of War problem

Post by IvantheTerrible » Sun Oct 13, 2013 9:40 pm

Nevermind, I did that and now it works, however I can't save or load games, I put the file you gave me on the slitherine > Chariots of War. Sorry for being such an amateur. Thank you.

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8977
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Chariots of War problem

Post by pipfromslitherine » Mon Oct 14, 2013 6:57 pm

It sounds like you installed to a folder that the game cannot write to. One solution is to run as Administrator, which will give the game permission. An alternative would be to reinstall the game to another custom folder (My Programs is defaulted to not allowing writing). This is a common foible of older games from pre-Vista days.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

Post Reply

Return to “Chariots of War”