Installer problem

Tech support for HISTORY™ Great Battles Medieval

Moderator: Slitherine Core

Post Reply
starcraft2
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:22 am

Installer problem

Post by starcraft2 » Mon Jan 17, 2011 7:02 pm

i've a problem with the installer:
when i select install the programme don't respond.
can you help me???? :twisted:
RAM 3GB
grafics: ATI 3200 of 256MB
DirectX 9.0c
Hard disk 130GB
:?:

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13521
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Post by IainMcNeil » Tue Jan 18, 2011 9:44 am

Sorry you are having problems. Are you running from disk or download? What is the file size of the installer you are trying to run?

starcraft2
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:22 am

Post by starcraft2 » Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:40 pm

i'm running from a disk and the game don't respond when i select install in italian lenguage.
help!!!!
:!:

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13521
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Post by IainMcNeil » Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:48 pm

What files do you see on the disk?

starcraft2
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:22 am

Post by starcraft2 » Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:10 pm

The files on the disk are:
gbm_v1.02(setup application)
autorun
data
unicows.dll
autorun (info)
autorun icon

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13521
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Post by IainMcNeil » Tue Jan 18, 2011 5:33 pm

Can you try and copy the gbm_v1.02.exe to your hard drive - e.g. the desktop and run it from there.

starcraft2
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:22 am

Post by starcraft2 » Tue Jan 18, 2011 6:58 pm

i have try but the game don't run!!
it's impossible :!: :evil:

starcraft2
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:22 am

Post by starcraft2 » Tue Jan 18, 2011 7:08 pm

it's fantastic the game run.
thanks slitherine very much. :P :wink: :D :) :o

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13521
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Post by IainMcNeil » Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:08 am

Great - glad it is working. I think you may have had a slightly damaged disk or some dirt in your DVD drive.

sn0wwarrior
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:46 am

Post by sn0wwarrior » Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:55 am

Hi i also had a problem with the installer not loading, mine however was on the english lanuage. i am running windows 7, i have 6 GB of ram 500 GB hard drive. and a higher graphics card then required. I tried the solution of pulling off the cd and it seems to work (at least its installing right now) i have not had issues with my cd-drive at all and am thinking that this may be an issue with the game version. the installer is version 1.02 so u might want to look into this. i bought the game yesterday from best buy. let me know if there is any other info u might need and thanks for solutions so far. :)

thirdjeff
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:46 pm

Post by thirdjeff » Fri Nov 04, 2011 12:12 am

yeah, this is definitly a game/program error. i just bought the disk version of game (v1.02) and had exact same problems as starcraft2 and sn0wwarrior. my dvd rom is working fine and the game disk is in mint condition. copying the gbm_v1.02.exe file to desktop and running it from there worked. however i was forced to install an OLDER version of directx!? 1st game from slitherine for me and im quite dissapointed so far...




(i also feel mislead here btw - game box has 2011 copyright date on it so i think im getting a fairly new game, only to find out from this website that game was actually released in 2009, and the game graphics reflect this real good)

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13521
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Post by IainMcNeil » Fri Nov 04, 2011 10:11 am

Sorry you are having problems. There are hundreds of thousands of GBM disks out there and very rarely there is an issue. It's not really something we can do anything about. Sometimes disks are just bad. It's rare but it happens.

Direct X will only install bits that are more up to date than what you have so it will nto have caused any harm. Unfortunately MS have 2 completely different versiosn of Direct X. Anythign up to v9 and 10 and above. The game was written when DX9.0c was the latest version. Dx10 does not support all teh features from DX9 and earlier and so with just Dx10 the game woudl not run. We have to include everythgin the game requires to run or a lot of people would be very unhappy.

I'm not sure what you mean about the legal lines. These just relate to the last reprint of the game. There was no intention to mislead, its just the legal lines for copyright protection etc. There is a vast amount of information and screenshots available for the game on our site and we try and get this information out as wide as possible but we're not in control of the mdeia so cannot control what you do or don;t know about the game.

The core focus of the game was on teh RPG progression with your army and leader and the ability to bolt armour & weapons on to any character in a massive army so it put some restrictions on what we could do. We focussed on the gameplay 1st and then made it look as good as we could within those constraints. Some people love the way looks and other not. Anyway I'm sure once you've spent some time with it you'll see the benefits of the system. Enjoy the game!

Post Reply

Return to “HISTORY™ Great Battles Medieval : Tech Support”