Android, Won't start.

Tech support for HISTORY™ Great Battles Medieval

Moderator: Slitherine Core

Post Reply
reflash275
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 2:41 pm

Android, Won't start.

Post by reflash275 » Sun Sep 04, 2011 3:50 am

Motorola Droid X2 (Tegra 2)
Android 2.3.3 (Gingerbread)
I am logged in with the Google account I purchased the game with.
I don't have any custom firmware.

The game downloaded the 385MB (or so) of data, proceeded to process the audio files, and about half way through said the download was complete. Then the game would briefly flash (for a fraction of a second) to a title screen and then proceed to a black screen (with the backlight still on). It then stays in that condition indefinitely. No sound, no video.

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13518
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Post by IainMcNeil » Mon Sep 05, 2011 10:44 am

Sorry you are having problems. It sounds like the download failed. I'd suggest redownloading and seeing if that helps.

reflash275
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 2:41 pm

Post by reflash275 » Mon Sep 05, 2011 1:26 pm

I tried uninstalling, downloading again, and reinstalling before the original post with no luck. I just tried twice again. It says download complete after processing audio file 336/850 each time.

bassani2009
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:28 am

Post by bassani2009 » Mon Sep 05, 2011 2:44 pm

Hi reflash275

Quick question are you downloading the game from a cellular internet connection (3G connection for example) or are you using your home broadband internet connection? If you haven't been using your broadband connection at home then perhaps try and download the game again using your connection at home.

Kind Regards

Slitherine Ltd

reflash275
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 2:41 pm

Post by reflash275 » Mon Sep 05, 2011 3:23 pm

I've downloaded it using both 3G and Wifi with the same results.

bassani2009
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:28 am

Post by bassani2009 » Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:52 am

Hi reflash275

I do apologise for the delay. I'll give you an update of where we are. Essentially the developer of GBME do not own the device that you own so they have ordered one from nVidia. The device should come in a couple of days. This will allow the developers to test the game on the device to see what the issue is. We will contact you when we have further news.

Apologises once again.

Slitherine Support

reflash275
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 2:41 pm

Post by reflash275 » Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:52 pm

Thanks! I look forward to hearing back about it!
bassani2009 wrote:Hi reflash275

I do apologise for the delay. I'll give you an update of where we are. Essentially the developer of GBME do not own the device that you own so they have ordered one from nVidia. The device should come in a couple of days. This will allow the developers to test the game on the device to see what the issue is. We will contact you when we have further news.

Apologises once again.

Slitherine Support

bassani2009
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:28 am

Post by bassani2009 » Tue Sep 20, 2011 9:22 am

Hi reflash275

I do apologise for the delay. The developers have just had your device delivered to their stuido today and they will be doing checks for the next couple of days to try and find out what the issue is. I will contact you again the moment I hear anyhting.

Apologises once again.

Slitherine Support

bassani2009
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:28 am

Post by bassani2009 » Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:46 pm

Hi reflash275

The developers have done play testing with the Droid X2 and so far they have not been able to reproduce your issue. However they have said to try the following :

1. When the game is stuck on the black screen try holding down on the back key, this should bring up a close message, then press back again and start the game again.

2. If that doesn't work then go into Settings/Applications/Manage Application, select Great Battles: Medieval and choose force stop if available.

Then try running the game again

Kind Regards

Slitherine Support

Post Reply

Return to “HISTORY™ Great Battles Medieval : Tech Support”