v1.8.0 of Battle Academy Now Available!

PC : Battle Academy is a turn based tactical WWII game with almost limitless modding opportnuities.

Moderators: Slitherine Core, BA Moderators, Slitherine Core, BA Moderators

Post Reply
IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13551
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

v1.8.0 of Battle Academy Now Available!

Post by IainMcNeil » Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:45 am

New update available. Version 1.8.0 includes a number of fixes and changes and builds in support for the release of the iPad version coming tomorrow!

Download it from :
Slitherine http://www.slitherine.com/ba_extras

Changes in 1.8.0
++ Cross Platform support. You can now play other players or continue MP games on your iPad!
+ fixed bug with MP replay slowdown
+ fixed a number of AI bugs
+ fix to medic bonus
+ various bug fixes and optimizations

poop17
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 5:56 am

Re: v1.8.0 of Battle Academy Now Available!

Post by poop17 » Wed Mar 14, 2012 12:19 am

iPad version will realease

gortwillsaveus
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Posts: 583
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:19 pm

Re: v1.8.0 of Battle Academy Now Available!

Post by gortwillsaveus » Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:46 am

iainmcneil wrote:
Changes in 1.8.0
+ fixed bug with MP replay slowdown
+ various bug fixes and optimizations
Installed 1.8.0 last night and played a few multi-player turns with games already in progress.
Very very Nice!
The replay slowdown issue is gone. I almost thought I was playing against the AI, and couldn't believe what a difference this update makes! Excellent.

Also,...is it my imagination (perhaps I never noticed it before) but is that new, the "gear looking" icon on the top right of the screen.
It gives me access to things like,...LOS, top-down view, and two other things that I can't remember right now.
If that IS new, I say kudos to the dev team for adding new features that enhance this game.
I wish more game developers would enhance games that are more than a year old.
It always seems that most game developers move onto new games,..or "Game Title 2".
Heck,..I must have played Panzer General for over 10 years.

Slowbius
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 9:20 am
Location: Hampshire, United Kingdom

Re: v1.8.0 of Battle Academy Now Available!

Post by Slowbius » Wed Mar 14, 2012 12:03 pm

the "gear looking" icon on the top right of the screen
I believe they've just added some widgets on the screen to access functionality that's already there, and accessible via hotkeys.

gortwillsaveus
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Posts: 583
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:19 pm

Re: v1.8.0 of Battle Academy Now Available!

Post by gortwillsaveus » Wed Mar 14, 2012 12:46 pm

Slowbius wrote:
the "gear looking" icon on the top right of the screen
I believe they've just added some widgets on the screen to access functionality that's already there, and accessible via hotkeys.


I've got to learn to read the manuals. I always just dive in!

iandavidsmith
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Posts: 1345
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:56 am

Re: v1.8.0 of Battle Academy Now Available!

Post by iandavidsmith » Wed Mar 14, 2012 1:08 pm

gortwillsaveus wrote:
Slowbius wrote:
the "gear looking" icon on the top right of the screen
I believe they've just added some widgets on the screen to access functionality that's already there, and accessible via hotkeys.


I've got to learn to read the manuals. I always just dive in!
The gear access button was added into the IPad version , they might have thought it good enough to add it to the pc version as well . Slitherine are great in supporting their games and developing them years after release .

Ian

poop17
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 5:56 am

Re: v1.8.0 of Battle Academy Now Available!

Post by poop17 » Thu Mar 15, 2012 1:20 am

question,should i backup the early update file?like v1.7.0?

I mean,the original version I bought is v1.3.0.when I need re-install it,should i reinstall them one by one,V1.3.0->v1.5.1->v1.6.0->v1.7.X->v1.8.X? :shock:

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9296
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: v1.8.0 of Battle Academy Now Available!

Post by pipfromslitherine » Thu Mar 15, 2012 1:33 am

1.8 is a full update from any version, so you don't need to keep them all :).

Cheers

Pip

poop17
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 5:56 am

Re: v1.8.0 of Battle Academy Now Available!

Post by poop17 » Thu Mar 15, 2012 1:57 am

Thanks ,pip

Hays
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 7:31 pm

Re: v1.8.0 of Battle Academy Now Available!

Post by Hays » Sun Mar 25, 2012 3:09 pm

Autoupdate has instaled v1.80.

But now every time I start the game it re-installs the up date again and all the options are locked except Campaign. I have to replay the Tutorial to unlock the other game options, Multiplayer etc. (Western Desert, Battle for Normandy and Battle of the Bulge remain locked).

Any suggestions would be welcome.

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9296
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: v1.8.0 of Battle Academy Now Available!

Post by pipfromslitherine » Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:02 pm

Reinstalling shouldn't affect whether campaigns are locked - the files are stored elsewhere. When you say the autoupdate, what exactly do you mean? Can you walk me through exactly what you see on screen.

Cheers

Pip

Hays
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 7:31 pm

Re: v1.8.0 of Battle Academy Now Available!

Post by Hays » Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:04 pm

Hope this helps.

Every time I start the game these screens appear. Unfortunaly I can't get a screen shot of the game.

But as I stated last time the Only options that are available are the Campaign option.

I then have to replay the Tutorial to unlock the Multiplay. After closing the game and restarting it goes through reinstalling again.
Patch Note 1.jpg
Patch Note 1.jpg (51.59 KiB) Viewed 1765 times
Patch Note 2.jpg
Patch Note 2.jpg (22.73 KiB) Viewed 1765 times

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9296
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: v1.8.0 of Battle Academy Now Available!

Post by pipfromslitherine » Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:59 pm

It looks like it is failing to write the various config files. This can happen if you updated from a much older version? The best solution is to manually delete the BBCBA folder in My Documents\My Games entirely. The game should then start correctly. This can happen if (for some reason) the game gets run as Admin at some point, then not run as Admin later on - in which case the non-admin runs cannot write in the folder.

Cheers

Pip

Hays
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 7:31 pm

Re: v1.8.0 of Battle Academy Now Available!

Post by Hays » Fri Mar 30, 2012 4:33 pm

Thanks, that seems to have fixed it.

Slowbius
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 9:20 am
Location: Hampshire, United Kingdom

Re: v1.8.0 of Battle Academy Now Available!

Post by Slowbius » Tue May 22, 2012 1:07 pm

Any idea when the next update is due out?

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9296
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: v1.8.0 of Battle Academy Now Available!

Post by pipfromslitherine » Tue May 22, 2012 3:22 pm

Hoping to put it into beta this week. It has taken longer than we had hoped :(.

Cheers

Pip

Post Reply

Return to “Battle Academy”