History Egypt crashes with seven x64

iPad/PC/PSP/iPhone : Fast paced empire building strategy game, with city management, armies, battles, diplomacy and more.

Moderator: Slitherine Core

Post Reply
YouriAndropov
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:21 am

History Egypt crashes with seven x64

Post by YouriAndropov » Sat Jul 03, 2010 6:11 pm

Hello,


I have a serious problem with History Egypt, it doesn't work with my radeon mobility 5870 (catalyst 10.6) and windows seven x64.
I tried XP compatibility (no success) and run as administrator (no success).

Any workaround or patch ?

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13508
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Post by IainMcNeil » Sat Jul 03, 2010 9:09 pm

It works ok in our tests so where did you install to?

YouriAndropov
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:21 am

Post by YouriAndropov » Sun Jul 04, 2010 9:41 am

It doesn't work on an Asus laptop G73JH-TZ008V (windows seven x64, Core i7 720QM, Radeon mobility 5870, 8 GB memory)
But it does work on a desktop PC with windows XP Pro x64, Q9550, 8 GB memory and Radeon 5870...

It was installed in D:\Jeux\History Egypt

Couldn't you try an x64 compilation or activate crash log ?

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13508
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Post by IainMcNeil » Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:40 pm

You have to install applications to the required place in Windows 7 if I remember correctly or they may fail to function. I think it is Programsx86 or something like that. What folders do you have?

YouriAndropov
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:21 am

Post by YouriAndropov » Sun Jul 18, 2010 1:29 am

I thought it was a problem with ffdshow, but no ...

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13508
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Post by IainMcNeil » Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:20 am

Can you try installing to the default folder and see if it helps. Windows 7 doesn't like you using folders like Games.

YouriAndropov
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:21 am

Post by YouriAndropov » Sun Jul 25, 2010 12:40 am

The game crashes the same way when installed in the default folder (C:\Program Files (x86)\Slitherine\HISTORY Egypt - Engineering an Empire).

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8982
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Post by pipfromslitherine » Sun Jul 25, 2010 7:35 pm

Do you have the latest video driver installed? And are you running any other apps at the same time?

Just trying to work out what could be causing the issue.

Cheers

Pip

YouriAndropov
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:21 am

Post by YouriAndropov » Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:47 pm

I have installed latest video drivers (catalyst 10.6) and no other programs are running.

There's a graphic bug with the game launcher:

Image

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8982
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Post by pipfromslitherine » Mon Jul 26, 2010 7:24 pm

That won't affect the game itself - it looks like some kind of oddness with button spacing. It's been reported under 7 before, but we can't replicate here. :(.

But that wouldn't be the cause of your issues.

As a note, have you tried running in a window?

Cheers

Pip

YouriAndropov
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:21 am

Post by YouriAndropov » Wed Jul 28, 2010 7:57 pm

It crashes both way: window and full screen.

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8982
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Post by pipfromslitherine » Wed Jul 28, 2010 8:57 pm

And disabling the sound? That should rule out a sound driver issue.

Cheers

Pip

YouriAndropov
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:21 am

Post by YouriAndropov » Fri Jul 30, 2010 3:51 am

It also crashes with no sound. I'm going to try catalyst 10.7

[edit] catalyst 10.7 didn't solve my problem.

Post Reply

Return to “Egypt - Engineering an Empire”