Grand Strategy 2.0 is here!

PSP/DS/PC/MAC : WWII turn based grand strategy game
kvadra
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 4:01 pm
Location: Norway

Post by kvadra » Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:22 pm

A splendid upgrade, I must say. Thank you and congratulations! :)

eveready321
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 9:42 pm

Post by eveready321 » Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:39 pm

1. Mine is 1.12 Gold
2.N/A
3. I did have version 1.06, but uninstalled in for v 2.0 - it never worked real well anyway.
4. My 1.12 Gold is from Matrix - the 1.06 was from slitherine - but uninstalled.

rkr1958
General - Elite King Tiger
General - Elite King Tiger
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:20 am

Post by rkr1958 » Thu Jun 02, 2011 12:00 am

eveready321 wrote:1. Mine is 1.12 Gold
2.N/A
3. I did have version 1.06, but uninstalled in for v 2.0 - it never worked real well anyway.
4. My 1.12 Gold is from Matrix - the 1.06 was from slitherine - but uninstalled.
O.K., I was able to reproduce your issue by installing the expansion to the incorrect folder. The second screen cap below shows the screen that pops up if you're installing GSv2.00 over the NON-MH version of CEaW. In that case you need to browse to the folder where your CEaW vanilla install is. Screen Cap 3 shows where I should have installed the expansion to; but I did NOT. I left the default path in (screen cap 2) and installed there. The expansion appeared to install; however, when I started it up (screen cap 4) and hit ok the launcher went away; exactly as you described.

So you need to uninstall GSv2.00 and reinstall it selecting the correct location.

Image

Image

Image

Image

eveready321
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 9:42 pm

Grand Strategy 2.0

Post by eveready321 » Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:21 am

I didn't think I followed your instructions correctly, but it worked on the windows 7 computer - tomorrow I'll try it on the adobe computer at work. Thanks!

rkr1958
General - Elite King Tiger
General - Elite King Tiger
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:20 am

Re: Grand Strategy 2.0

Post by rkr1958 » Thu Jun 02, 2011 2:19 am

eveready321 wrote:I didn't think I followed your instructions correctly, but it worked on the windows 7 computer - tomorrow I'll try it on the adobe computer at work. Thanks!
Glad you got it workings. By the way, what's an adobe computer?

eveready321
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 9:42 pm

vista

Post by eveready321 » Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:15 am

Don't know why I said adobe - I meant windows vista - it's my old laptop.

petescan
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:25 pm

Post by petescan » Thu Jun 02, 2011 7:27 am

Hello Rkr1958, here I put the data in order of installation:

1.) base Version: History Military Commander - Europe at War 1.12 GOLD
2.) CEaW_v1.12_Grand_Strategy_expansion_v1.02
3.) CEaW_v1.12_GS_expansion_v2.0

All facilities are located at the following address: e:\Military History Commander - Europe at War GOLD

I hope you find it useful to help me, thanks.

rkr1958
General - Elite King Tiger
General - Elite King Tiger
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:20 am

Post by rkr1958 » Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:08 am

petescan wrote:Hello Rkr1958, here I put the data in order of installation:

1.) base Version: History Military Commander - Europe at War 1.12 GOLD
2.) CEaW_v1.12_Grand_Strategy_expansion_v1.02
3.) CEaW_v1.12_GS_expansion_v2.0

All facilities are located at the following address: e:\Military History Commander - Europe at War GOLD

I hope you find it useful to help me, thanks.
O.K. I think the issue is that you installed GSv2.0 over the top of a previously installed version of GS. I would recommend that you uninstall the GS expansion, which will likely not complete but is worth a try. If the uninstall does fail then you'll need to manually finish it by deleting the Grand Strategy Mod and CEaW - Grand Strategy folders located in your base folder, which is History Military Commander - Europe at War 1.12 GOLD . After that, try reinstalling just GSv2.00.

petescan
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:25 pm

Post by petescan » Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:47 am

Hello Rkr1958,I uninstalled everything, and I followed the following steps:

1.) base Version: History Military Commander - Europe at War 1.12 GOLD
2.) CEaW_v1.12_GS_expansion_v2.0

installing: e:\Military History Commander - Europe at War GOLD, When I install the expansion 2.0 I created a folder with the following name: Grand Strategy Mod within e:\Military History Commander - Europe at War GOLD.

Well, all the folders that I created within Grand Strategy Mod are empty.

error window with the following message: Could not open file LAUNCHER\OPTIONS.TXT to parse (0).

help me, thanks.
Last edited by petescan on Thu Jun 02, 2011 12:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13472
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Post by IainMcNeil » Thu Jun 02, 2011 12:11 pm

Can you check where your desktop shortcut is pointing to?

Can you look in that folder and see what is there.

petescan
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:25 pm

Post by petescan » Thu Jun 02, 2011 12:14 pm

installing: e:\Military History Commander - Europe at War GOLD, When I install the expansion 2.0 I created a folder with the following name: Grand Strategy Mod within e:\Military History Commander - Europe at War GOLD.

Well, all the folders that I created within Grand Strategy Mod are empty.

Folders list: com , data , data_fastplay , game , gui , image , jre , LAUNCHER , sound.

error window with the following message: Could not open file LAUNCHER\OPTIONS.TXT to parse (0).

help me, thanks.

petescan
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:25 pm

Post by petescan » Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:31 pm

One more thing, now I've noticed that just before the popup window indicating that it has finished installing the expansion,
see a DOS window in which you can see how to delete a lot of files, including all the *.png

thanks.

pk867
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1598
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:18 pm

Post by pk867 » Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:34 pm

Hi,

Did you try the instructions that were given earlier in this thread?

The suggestion is that you may have to search and find the correct folder instead of letting the installer decide.

petescan
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:25 pm

Post by petescan » Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:38 pm

Hello, when the installation asks where to install the expansion, I would manually enter the folder where I have installed the game, this location: e:\Military History Commander - Europe at War GOLD

rkr1958
General - Elite King Tiger
General - Elite King Tiger
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:20 am

Post by rkr1958 » Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:48 pm

[quote="petescan"]Well, all the folders that I created within Grand Strategy Mod are empty.[quote]Are you saying that after you run the GSv2.00 installer that the Grand Strategy Mod folder is empty? If you know how would you right click on the folder Military History Commander - Europe at War GOLD select properties and list the size, number of files and number of folders shown. If possible could you do that for both pre and post GSv2.00 install?

petescan
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:25 pm

Post by petescan » Thu Jun 02, 2011 2:16 pm

After installing the expansion 2.0, create 2 new folders in e: \ Military History Commander - Europe at War GOLD:

CEaW - Grand Strategy --> 3,14 Mb (4 Files , 32 folders)

Grand Strategy Mod --> 69 Mb ( 17 Files, 9 folders)

as I said before, just before the window appear indicating the completion of the installation, a DOS window appears indicating the deletion of many files.

thanks.

rkr1958
General - Elite King Tiger
General - Elite King Tiger
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:20 am

Post by rkr1958 » Thu Jun 02, 2011 2:23 pm

petescan wrote:After installing the expansion 2.0, create 2 new folders in e: \ Military History Commander - Europe at War GOLD:

CEaW - Grand Strategy --> 3,14 Mb (4 Files , 32 folders)

Grand Strategy Mod --> 69 Mb ( 17 Files, 9 folders)

as I said before, just before the window appear indicating the completion of the installation, a DOS window appears indicating the deletion of many files.

thanks.
Wow ... something's going badly wrong with your installation. I'm at work and don't have the exact numbers but the Grand Strategy Mod folder should be over 400-MB!

One thing simple is to check your disk and make sure you're not running out of disk space.

eveready321
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 9:42 pm

rck1958 fix

Post by eveready321 » Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:16 pm

Thanks - rck1958 - your instructions and fix have work on both my computers.

enric
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1853
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 8:47 am

can move units

Post by enric » Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:34 pm

On MacBook Air 10.6.7
Just downloaded and installed
Everything seems ok but units can be moved to enemy territory and attack.
Tried the tutorial also, and no unit will move into Poland. They can be moved in Germany only.

rkr1958
General - Elite King Tiger
General - Elite King Tiger
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:20 am

Re: rck1958 fix

Post by rkr1958 » Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:35 pm

eveready321 wrote:Thanks - rck1958 - your instructions and fix have work on both my computers.
You're weclome! Glad you got it installed and working. Now enjoy!

Post Reply

Return to “MILITARY HISTORY™ Commander - Europe at War : General Discussion”