LF behind Roman Legion

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Post Reply
richafricanus
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 6:38 am
Location: Melbourne

LF behind Roman Legion

Post by richafricanus » Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:11 pm

A BG in 2 Lines where X are HF Swordsmen and Y are LF Bow
XXXX
XYYX

I think that in close combat melee against non LF, the 2 bases of LF are counted as 1 dice at Sword factors. Am I correct? And if so, what is the justification for this? Why do they not count as the troop type they are?

Richard

Blathergut
Field Marshal - Elefant
Field Marshal - Elefant
Posts: 5866
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada

Re: LF behind Roman Legion

Post by Blathergut » Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:42 pm

richafricanus wrote:A BG in 2 Lines where X are HF Swordsmen and Y are LF Bow
XXXX
XYYX

I think that in close combat melee against non LF, the 2 bases of LF are counted as 1 dice at Sword factors. Am I correct? And if so, what is the justification for this? Why do they not count as the troop type they are?

Richard
I would have thought they'd count 1 base as other, not swords.

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 23186
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: LF behind Roman Legion

Post by rbodleyscott » Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:47 pm

richafricanus wrote:I think that in close combat melee against non LF, the 2 bases of LF are counted as 1 dice at Sword factors. Am I correct?
Yes
And if so, what is the justification for this? Why do they not count as the troop type they are?
1 dice per base in the 1st and 2nd ranks is only a mechanism. All the guys at the sharp end are still in fact swordsmen - hence the dice all use swordsmen POA until you run out of swordsmen to fill the front rank.

By contrast, spears and pikes do start to lose POAs as they lose rear ranks, because their fighting style is more dependent on the presence of multiple ranks. (And in the case of pikes, 5 ranks of pike heads project beyond the front rank).

Blathergut
Field Marshal - Elefant
Field Marshal - Elefant
Posts: 5866
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada

Post by Blathergut » Sun Aug 02, 2009 6:03 pm

ah..p94 5th bullet...k...thanks RBS...I'd have missed that one

deadtorius
General - Elite King Tiger
General - Elite King Tiger
Posts: 4173
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Post by deadtorius » Sun Aug 02, 2009 8:12 pm

blast it all he noticed!!! Now it will be harder for my Selucids to deal with Blatherguts newest Roman fad :shock:

KiwiWarlord
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 652
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 7:39 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

casualties from shooting

Post by KiwiWarlord » Fri Aug 21, 2009 9:28 am

What happens when a unit with armoured HF & unprotected LF gets hit by shooting and have to lose a base on a 'death roll'?
Which base is removed ?
Thanks
Brian

expendablecinc
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:55 pm

Re: casualties from shooting

Post by expendablecinc » Fri Aug 21, 2009 9:46 am

Warlord wrote:What happens when a unit with armoured HF & unprotected LF gets hit by shooting and have to lose a base on a 'death roll'?
Which base is removed ?
Thanks
Brian
the closest base to the shooting BG

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”