The Dutch at Campaign 2014

Moderators: Slitherine Core, FOGR Design

Post Reply
madaxeman
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2939
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:15 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

The Dutch at Campaign 2014

Post by madaxeman » Thu Jun 26, 2014 9:38 pm

In a report spanning 5 pages and almost 10,000 words, you can revel in the exploits of possibly the blandest army ever to take the field on this website, the Dutch (of the 80 Years War - no, me neither) as they duplicate their World Cup heroics and take on a limited themed pool of other similar but generally better armies in a competition in which the last army to be used was the decidedly non-dull Pirates.

Image

Have a look at whether lots of average troops can actually take on lots of Superior ones - and be amazed at how infrequently a 35 point ship can feature in 5 consecutive battle reports.

Wake up and Smell the Edam !!
http://www.madaxeman.com
Become a fan of Madaxeman on Facebook at Madaxeman.com's Facebook Page.

youngr
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 416
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 8:10 am
Location: Presteigne

Re: The Dutch at Campaign 2014

Post by youngr » Fri Jun 27, 2014 4:55 pm

Great stuff - keeps me awake at work!!!

daveallen
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 542
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 9:21 am

Re: The Dutch at Campaign 2014

Post by daveallen » Fri Jun 27, 2014 10:51 pm

A strange thing happened to the surviving Swiss keil in game 4.

a) When the Dutch Cuirassiers break off the keil is in a 3 4 4 1 formation where the HWs are in the 3 & 1 files

b) When next we see them the keil has expanded to a 2 4 4 1 1 formation with the HWs in the two 1 files

c) Finally, after pursuing into the guns they turn into a 2 5 5 formation with the HW in the 2 file


Can't be sure about a) without my rule book, but I think it's okay.

b) is wrong because it's not a legal formation - the back two ranks of Pike are unequal, but you're only allowed one unequal rank.

c) is wrong because when a keil turns 90 degrees it maintains its formation. That's why it's a complex move.

Don't think it affected the outcome of the game, but an interesting example of how tricky the keil rules are. :roll:

Dave

PS some great results there Tim. Even if a tad jammy...

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 22235
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: The Dutch at Campaign 2014

Post by rbodleyscott » Sat Jun 28, 2014 11:56 am

daveallen wrote:A strange thing happened to the surviving Swiss keil in game 4.

a) When the Dutch Cuirassiers break off the keil is in a 3 4 4 1 formation where the HWs are in the 3 & 1 files

b) When next we see them the keil has expanded to a 2 4 4 1 1 formation with the HWs in the two 1 files

c) Finally, after pursuing into the guns they turn into a 2 5 5 formation with the HW in the 2 file


Can't be sure about a) without my rule book, but I think it's okay.

b) is wrong because it's not a legal formation - the back two ranks of Pike are unequal, but you're only allowed one unequal rank.

c) is wrong because when a keil turns 90 degrees it maintains its formation. That's why it's a complex move.

Don't think it affected the outcome of the game, but an interesting example of how tricky the keil rules are. :roll:

Dave

PS some great results there Tim. Even if a tad jammy...
I agree about (b), but Tim more or less insisted I should be allowed to do it despite my reservations.

I don't recall how (c) came about.

madaxeman
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2939
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:15 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: The Dutch at Campaign 2014

Post by madaxeman » Sun Jun 29, 2014 7:31 am

Yeah... hW bases in a position where they do not contribute a POA (rank 3 of a 3 rank file) really should be able to expand out shouldn't they? Otherwise they almost never can

IMO the HW should always be able to expand unless that loses a 4-rank POA for a file, and that should trump all other formation rules when in combat.

I suspect there may have been an intervening move in c). But it might have been an incorrect "double-reform" ..!
http://www.madaxeman.com
Become a fan of Madaxeman on Facebook at Madaxeman.com's Facebook Page.

Post Reply

Return to “After Action Reports (AAR's)”