Making a 90 degree turn with general

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design, philqw78, terrys, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design, hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design, philqw78, terrys, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design, philqw78, terrys, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design, terrys, hammy, philqw78, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators, hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design, hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators, terrys, hammy, philqw78, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators, philqw78, terrys, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design, hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators, terrys, hammy, philqw78, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
spattieball
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 6:55 pm

Making a 90 degree turn with general

Post by spattieball » Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:04 pm

What does the rules state with a battle line that turns with a general? Does the general give the command and the whole battle line makes one complex test or is this not possible as battle line is only limited to advance movement..... I am a bit confused with this rule, my main question is can a whole battle line make one complex test for turning 90 degrees if a general is attached? Please advise?

Regards
SpaTTiE

SirGarnet
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2186
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:13 am

Post by SirGarnet » Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:39 pm

"Battle lines are limited to the "Advances" section of the table."

Mike

hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy » Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:56 pm

P41 first bullet of simple and complex moves.

smltptac
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 1:11 pm

BG CMT

Post by smltptac » Sat Jun 28, 2008 7:43 am

Are undrilled BGs the only BGs to make a CMT? All other BGs have simple advances.

hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy » Sat Jun 28, 2008 9:10 am

It is very unusual for a battle line to have to make a CMT. There is a very obscure situation where it can happen but I am not going mention it because I am nasty like that :twisted:

Advances are only complex moves if:
The troops performing the advance are "other undrilled"
The troops performing the advance are within 6 MU of the enemy
AND there is no commander with the advancing BG or BL

Any BL (apart from the semi secret really obsure one that I won't mention) must by definition include a commander so any advance must be a simple move.

expendablecinc
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:55 pm

Post by expendablecinc » Sun Jun 29, 2008 7:18 am

hammy wrote:It is very unusual for a battle line to have to make a CMT. There is a very obscure situation where it can happen but I am not going mention it because I am nasty like that :twisted:

Advances are only complex moves if:
The troops performing the advance are "other undrilled"
The troops performing the advance are within 6 MU of the enemy
AND there is no commander with the advancing BG or BL

Any BL (apart from the semi secret really obsure one that I won't mention) must by definition include a commander so any advance must be a simple move.
When the general isnt in command range of all units in the BG?

hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy » Sun Jun 29, 2008 9:02 am

expendablecinc wrote:When the general isnt in command range of all units in the BG?
I assume you mean battle line not battle group, even so you are wrong. A battle line MUST include a commander and he MUST be within command radius of all the BGs in the BL (see P30).

babyshark
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 1336
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:59 pm
Location: Government; and I'm here to help.

Post by babyshark » Sun Jun 29, 2008 12:52 pm

hammy wrote:
expendablecinc wrote:When the general isnt in command range of all units in the BG?
I assume you mean battle line not battle group, even so you are wrong. A battle line MUST include a commander and he MUST be within command radius of all the BGs in the BL (see P30).
Hammy is referring, I believe, to a situation in which the BL to be moved includes one or more BGs of WWg or Art. Unless he has an even more obscure idea in mind.

Marc

hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy » Sun Jun 29, 2008 2:03 pm

The only occasion I can think of where a BL makes a CMT is when it includes BWg or Art. There may be another really obscure one but I can't think of any at the moment.

In a lot of ways it would have been IMO far better not to mention CMTs in conjunction with BLs as people constantly seem to be trying to find more to them than the really obscure bits there are.

As far as I can remember I have never had to roll a CMT for a BL.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”