Timing of Complex Move Tests

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design, philqw78, terrys, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design, hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design, philqw78, terrys, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design, philqw78, terrys, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design, terrys, hammy, philqw78, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators, hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design, hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators, terrys, hammy, philqw78, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators, philqw78, terrys, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design, hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators, terrys, hammy, philqw78, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
MarkSieber
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 1:23 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon US

Timing of Complex Move Tests

Post by MarkSieber » Fri Jul 18, 2008 5:09 am

When wishing to make a move that requires a Complex Move Test, do you need to declare to your opponent the move you are attempting, before rolling the dice?
Is it permissible to roll the dice and then choose a complex move if you pass? (seems cheesy.)

Thanks!

philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8752
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 » Fri Jul 18, 2008 6:50 am

Dice then decide what to do. This can save a lot of time in tricky situations as if you fail the roll you don't have to figure out what to do.

ejacobs
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 5:39 am
Location: Babylon

Post by ejacobs » Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:10 am

As I have yet to receive my rulebook, is that official?

I would then assume that measuring MU's prior to moving is allowed so as to prevent moving into ranges not allowed unless (and here is where I need the rulebook because I really don't know what I'm saying now)...?

E

philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8752
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 » Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:19 am

A lot of the time things have to be measured before moving to stop you doing something illegal. And moves can even be taken back, providing you know where to take them back to.

But none of this is official, just how I have read and played. But I have played one of the Holy Trinity and he never complained.

hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy » Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:36 am

There is no restriction on pre measuring in FoG.

Rolling a CMT does not force a BG to make a complex move.

The move of a specific BG can always be adjusted up to the point that you move the next BG.

The second two are specifically covered in the rules (but I am not sure where), the first is not mentioned but would only be considered as a rule by those used to playing other games where pre measuing is banned in the rules. Assuming that because another game has a particular rule that it must be the same in FoG is rather dangerous.

terrys
Panzer Corps Team
Panzer Corps Team
Posts: 4189
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:53 am

Post by terrys » Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:03 am

Pre-measuring is allowed..... In that there's no rule specifically banning it.
In a lot of instances pre-measuring is a requirement - for things like making sure that you don't start or move within 6Ms when movig for a second time, and determining whether or not requiring a CMT when moving within 6MUs.


You don't need to declare your move before rolling for a CMT - Official !!

As Mark says - It can save you time. If you even think you may need a CMT take a roll - it takes seconds. You can then decide how complicated (or simple) to make you move.
You do have to complete the move of that BG before moving any other though.

MarkSieber
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 1:23 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon US

Post by MarkSieber » Fri Jul 18, 2008 1:44 pm

So you can point to a battlegroup, roll to see if it's eligible to make a complex move, and dispense with working one out if the roll fails. I had previously imagined that a specific order was being issued to the BG and the test was to see if it was able to execute it. Your answers clarify that. Thank you!

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”