SUBMARINES Detailed Rules Explanation

Order of Battle is a series of operational WW2 games starting with the Pacific War and then on to Europe!

Moderators: Order of Battle Moderators, The Artistocrats

mdavis41
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38

SUBMARINES Detailed Rules Explanation

Post by mdavis41 » Thu Jan 31, 2019 8:04 pm

I am putting out an urgent call for help to all experienced OOB submariners. I am a novice so please excuse my ignorance.

The Rule Book has only very brief references to submarines and their behavior in the OOB game. I am playing and enjoying the excellent 2-player Coral Sea scenario. However my submarines are getting massacred because they keep coming to the surface. So I would appreciate help with the following:

1. Fully charged batteries on submarines moving on the surface. Number 3 shows on the unit.
2. Submarine dives.
3. What is the significance of the wavy lined hexes at the edge of the the shaded movement area? They seem to change after each move by the submarine.
4. If you move a full move at level 3, up to the wavy lined hex, will you stay submerged at the beginning of the next turn?
5. Still submerged, the number 2 shows on the unit on the next turn.
6. If you move a full 3 hexes to the wavy lined hexes does this force you to surface?
7. If you move less than full submerged move say 1 or 2 hexes, does this allow you to stay submerged?
8. What about with number 1 on the unit?
9. With number 0 on the next turn, I know you must surface and recharge batteries.
10. How many turns on the surface does it take to fully charge batteries. Is it one level per turn?
11. Does surface movement make any difference to battery recharging?
12. Does a submarine surface once it has fired torpedoes or can it remain submerged if not adjacent to an enemy warship?
13. Are there any planes that can sink a submarine? The Catalina does not seem able to, though I thought that is what they did.