Making Enemy Planes Work in a Scenario

Moderators: Order of Battle Moderators, The Artistocrats

Post Reply
gunny
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:17 pm

Making Enemy Planes Work in a Scenario

Post by gunny » Wed Jan 15, 2020 9:58 pm

So I put down enemy planes on the map as I do infantry units that run around and shoot at the good guys ok so anyway I put them into an AI team and gave them orders that work. Problem is they auto weaken because they do not fly back to a base to refuel it seems. I made and enemy airfield and gave it plenty of supply points. But to no avail . OH do I have to put down a hanger or something ... with friendly airfields hanger is not necessary.

Another thing I placed two bombers and one fighter unit when I test the scenario the bomber units show up doing orbital command cheat that reveals the map the fighter is no where to be found again, i put all 3 in the same ai group maybe I need to put the fighter in its own group or it probably died earlier before the bombers .... Ok so I need to figure out how to supply the planes how to get the AI planes to refuel I see a Return to Base trigger on the ai team AI page but then what I have to tell them when to take off and attack again ???

Hey spoiler alert I just want them to attack when the last VP is taken at about turn 30 ... I took this VP at turn 8 or so just to test it .. they show up and start attacking but they are dying ...

Zekedia222
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:30 pm
Location: Somewhere between Chattanooga and Anchorage

Re: Making Enemy Planes Work in a Scenario

Post by Zekedia222 » Wed Jan 15, 2020 11:06 pm

In order for them to land at an airfield, you must use the aircraft AI team, and then select a base for them to land at.
Winchester: Klinger, you're dumber than you look, and THAT boggles the MIND.
A great quote from one of my favorite TV shows, M*A*S*H

gunny
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:17 pm

Re: Making Enemy Planes Work in a Scenario

Post by gunny » Thu Jan 16, 2020 1:45 am

Ok thanks - I was afraid of that with enemy infantry units that will if the enemy has resources they will replenish themselves that is coded into the game but with the planes I will have to tell them to go to an airfield not I got to figure out that around turn 30 or so how to get them to attack the human player which may or may not be even near the last VP but I think with a bunch of complicated triggers and such i can arrange something.

And so what I need to do as far as getting them to return to base is that this is an EFFECT which means I create a Trigger of course and then a Condition but the hidden gem of "Return to Base" is hidden in the effect of Setup AI Team. so I need to first assign them to an AI team and then choose the Effect "Setup AI TEAM" then click through many of the arrows until "Return to Base" is shown and THEN click on SET BASE in order to tell it which base to go to. ....

What I did with the Condition though that is related to this effect is the Condition is when there units strength gets to be less than 4 then they will return to base.

I did get them to act right by having them spawn when the last VP is taken they spawn at the nearby airfield and I gave there AI team an attack hex order and so this part works our fine now I gotta make sure they return when they get shot up some. The problem is of course how can ya make them return even if not shot up at all there is probably buried somewhere in the conditions when they run out of gas or something.

Zekedia222
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:30 pm
Location: Somewhere between Chattanooga and Anchorage

Re: Making Enemy Planes Work in a Scenario

Post by Zekedia222 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 2:56 am

No, I don’t think you should need triggers. When setting up an AI Team for aircraft, any of the Aircraft options (Seek & Destroy, Patrol, and another one I don’t remember) should have an option that says something like ‘select base’.
Winchester: Klinger, you're dumber than you look, and THAT boggles the MIND.
A great quote from one of my favorite TV shows, M*A*S*H

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 6565
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Making Enemy Planes Work in a Scenario

Post by Erik2 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 10:45 am

You do not have to set up a specific base for the AI team.
This is primarily if you want a specific team to use a specific base (for instance each carrier air group should only use each a specific carrier).
I assume/hope the AI will use any airfield if the set base is sunk or captured by the enemy.

If you do not assign a base, the AI should use whatever convenient airfield in range.

gunny
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:17 pm

Re: Making Enemy Planes Work in a Scenario

Post by gunny » Thu Jan 16, 2020 10:32 pm

Ok thanks i will keep looking into it when I did the return to base thing as soon as they spawn they landed and did not attack so I took that away and have them spawn they do the right thing now in attacking I just gotta figure out how to get them to go back to the base and refuel as they hang around until they crash into the ground woo hoo

But for the scenario I did they work just fine

Post Reply

Return to “Order of Battle : World War II - Scenario Design”