Search found 1536 matches

by lawrenceg
Wed Nov 25, 2015 8:53 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Mounted Mixed Battle Groups in Combat
Replies: 8
Views: 1765

Re: Mounted Mixed Battle Groups in Combat

vexillia wrote:Found it! v1, P93 Melee Phase Dice table says
".. knights ... 2 dice per front rank. No dice for rear rank of any type."
Matter closed.
If the cavalry is in the front rank, do they get 1 dice for the rear rank of knights?
by lawrenceg
Thu Apr 09, 2015 8:41 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Moving directly forwards when Pinned
Replies: 9
Views: 2175

Re: Moving directly forwards when Pinned

Hi Bob From the way I and the MAWS players are playing we would say the 4 base BG is not to the rear of the 3 base BG as it is not behind a line drawn directly back from both sides of the 3 base BG. Rob Which is the way the linked thread decided it. and Sorry Bob but you need to be harsh to get any...
by lawrenceg
Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:37 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Conforming...
Replies: 35
Views: 4657

Re: Conforming...

ravenflight wrote:
Do I detect a moron who calls a legal move cheese?
Isn't "cheese" by definition a legal move? If it wasn't legal it, would be cheating.
by lawrenceg
Fri Jan 09, 2015 5:40 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Conformation
Replies: 117
Views: 15197

Re: Conformation

Jumping back in :D The main objection to Graham's and Lawrence's (and the entire editorial board of the BHGS, to whom, as an American, I owe no fealty) is this. They are insisting that maintaining front edge contact with the initially contacted bases takes precedence over the requirement that the b...
by lawrenceg
Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:07 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Fortifications - Front Edge
Replies: 16
Views: 3118

Re: Fortifications - Front Edge

It is for shooting ranges (incoming and outgoing), but not for shooting arcs.
by lawrenceg
Thu Jan 08, 2015 8:05 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Conformation
Replies: 117
Views: 15197

Re: Conformation

Looks as though the clarification could do with more clarification in the next edition.
by lawrenceg
Thu Jan 08, 2015 6:27 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Conformation
Replies: 117
Views: 15197

Re: Conformation

Ok - here is my problem: I see ABSOLUTELY no difference between the Elephant being hit by the element of Knights =or= (in Phil's excellent diagram above) the left hand (as we look at it) red base in (a) hitting the left hand green base. The difference is: (more detail added to what I said before) W...
by lawrenceg
Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:11 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Conformation
Replies: 117
Views: 15197

Re: Conformation

Thanks for the diagrams Phil, makes things easier. So, general principle is that you conform (if possible) to the bases in contact or to the overlap position at the end of the enemy BG. Plus you must do so by the smallest distance possible. This is the critical part of the explanation, which I hadn...
by lawrenceg
Wed Jan 07, 2015 11:36 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee
Replies: 45
Views: 8061

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

THis situation came up in a game: PP PPP PPP BBB BBB P are protected pike in melee with unprotected bow. The pike player wanted to feed in the 3rd rank of the overlapping file to match the bowmen's overlap. His argument was that this base was not contributing a POA because the net POA did not change...
by lawrenceg
Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:19 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Conformation
Replies: 117
Views: 15197

Re: Conformation

http://i329.photobucket.com/albums/l384/philqw78/conform-2.png So which way do these conform I would play: A and B go to the right as we look at it, C goes slightly right and D goes slightly left. A, C and D are not ending in front edge contact with the base they contacted but are conforming by sho...
by lawrenceg
Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:04 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee
Replies: 45
Views: 8061

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

OK, thanks.
by lawrenceg
Tue Jan 06, 2015 12:35 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee
Replies: 45
Views: 8061

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

What about a BG facing in 2 directions as a result of a flank charge and not reforming? Can it never feed in more bases because it will generally never end in a legal formation?
by lawrenceg
Tue Jan 06, 2015 2:25 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee
Replies: 45
Views: 8061

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Do you have to end in a legal formation after you feed into melee?

We had a 6-base column charging through a gap between two other BGs. There was only room to expand 1 base.
by lawrenceg
Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:01 pm
Forum: Field of Glory : Ancient & Medieval Era 3000 BC-1500 AD : General Discussion
Topic: HF Spear charging Heavy CV Lancers
Replies: 7
Views: 3095

Re: HF Spear charging Heavy CV Lancers

Just to get this clear: Shock foot have to test not to charge if they could contact enemy mounted only by a positive VMD. (This is a change from V1 IIRC.) Shock foot don't have to test not to charge if they could be intercepted by enemy mounted. Spearmen that charge or intercept shock mounted don't ...
by lawrenceg
Mon Jan 05, 2015 7:25 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: routing from pursuers in contact
Replies: 2
Views: 833

routing from pursuers in contact

A BG has done its initial rout and was contacted by pursuers. In the JAP it has to roll VMD and rout away from the enemy in contact. Does this count as a new initial rout, or is it able to do all the new things that routers can do after the initial rout (shift 2 bases, pass through drilled friends)?
by lawrenceg
Fri Dec 12, 2014 5:32 am
Forum: Field of Glory : Ancient & Medieval Era 3000 BC-1500 AD : General Discussion
Topic: A Prodigal's return: FOG v DBMM...
Replies: 22
Views: 6627

Re: A Prodigal's return: FOG v DBMM...

AFAIK the first drafts of FOG included pushbacks but testing showed that players spent a lot of time moving units backwards and forwards without any practical benefit, so it was dropped. If Chris had come into the game in the days of the Dominate Roman Swarm or super shooty cav/LH armies in V1 he mi...
by lawrenceg
Sat Dec 06, 2014 12:15 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee
Replies: 45
Views: 8061

Re: Feeding More Bases into an Existing Melee

Can you feed in a base without expanding or contracting, e.g. moving a second rank base from where it isn't fighting to where it is fighting?
by lawrenceg
Thu Sep 11, 2014 9:03 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Loosing a not to charge test.
Replies: 27
Views: 3804

Re: Loosing a not to charge test.

I recall one of the authors stating on here that mounted would not need to test for a charge without orders if they could possibly wheel and enter disordering terrain, even if a straight ahead charge would miss the terrain.
by lawrenceg
Mon Jul 21, 2014 8:59 am
Forum: Opponent Finder
Topic: Players in Germany
Replies: 0
Views: 2591

Players in Germany

I'll be in Germany from 13-31 August, starting in Koblenz and finishing in Berlin.

Are there any players along the way who would like a game while I'm in the general area?

(I'm going to the Worlds, but playing DBMM)

Go to advanced search