Search found 60 matches

by Primarch
Mon Aug 04, 2014 4:24 pm
Forum: Field of Glory : Ancient & Medieval Era 3000 BC-1500 AD : General Discussion
Topic: Back?
Replies: 11
Views: 3782

Re: Back?

Thanks for all the info guys. I have to take stock of my stuff and see what I can field. It's rough starting back up after being gone so long, like starting a new game almost. Hope to be able to start making events soon. Doubt I will be at that one Chris, lists were due July 12th? I know you can tur...
by Primarch
Thu Jul 31, 2014 7:04 pm
Forum: Field of Glory : Ancient & Medieval Era 3000 BC-1500 AD : General Discussion
Topic: Back?
Replies: 11
Views: 3782

Re: Back?

Well, what army is John Martin winning all the tournaments with nowadays then? That might be a good place to start.


Clay
by Primarch
Thu Jul 31, 2014 1:56 am
Forum: Field of Glory : Ancient & Medieval Era 3000 BC-1500 AD : General Discussion
Topic: Back?
Replies: 11
Views: 3782

Back?

Hey guys, Thinking of getting back into FoG. Been a good while 3+ years I think? Already play FoW, and figure I would just focus on Historical games, and since I have a few FoG armies laying around... I am fairly sure there are almost no other players in the Atlanta area willing to play currently, b...
by Primarch
Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:33 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Moving a commander in a BG that does not move
Replies: 37
Views: 3424

I meant in regards to the "edge to edge at all times" comments....


Clay
by Primarch
Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:19 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Moving a commander in a BG that does not move
Replies: 37
Views: 3424

Hmmm, I put all my Commanders on Round 38mm bases, how would that work?


Clay
by Primarch
Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:54 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Oddity in Impact
Replies: 9
Views: 871

I think the big thing that I questioned, is the Chariots getting to pursue, and then fight another Impact phase all because the Cats hit their opponents after that combat was settled. Basically the Chariots hit the HF, win combat, we move down the line, resolving all the rest of the impacts. Then we...
by Primarch
Sun Feb 08, 2009 4:29 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Conform Question
Replies: 72
Views: 8206

In the above example, it is clearly outlined on page 71, you would line up to conform as an overlap. But, that is an example all on its own. I think Nik and Paul are leading us to the conclusion. Red cannot slide into an overlap, because he wont be eligible to do so as he wont have side edge contact...
by Primarch
Sat Feb 07, 2009 5:10 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Conform Question
Replies: 72
Views: 8206

This is where, I think, you are misreading the rules. When, in the first bullet in the conforming section on page 70 it says "overlap position (see below)" this refers to the section on p75 which defines what an overlap position is. The bullet on a charge hitting the flank but not being a flank cha...
by Primarch
Sat Feb 07, 2009 4:59 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Conform Question
Replies: 72
Views: 8206

The fact that it is not the minimum excludes it from conforming to the left. This is where we disagree. It must slide the minimum amount necessary TO CONFORM. Not, must slide the minimum necessary. See the difference, there is a caveat to that statement. You arent just blindly sliding the minimum, ...
by Primarch
Sat Feb 07, 2009 4:03 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Conform Question
Replies: 72
Views: 8206

Exactly what I am thinking Gino. This seems to be a loophole bound to be used to try and cheese people. If you charge, and throw impact dice, then you should be tied into the combat until it ends, or you break off. There should be no option to use the above diagram to finesse your BGs so you can sli...
by Primarch
Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:03 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Conform Question
Replies: 72
Views: 8206

Where this is mildly cheesy is the owning player can choose which two of his three bases to fight in impact. So could choose the BG that will then be pushed to con conform out of front edge. People will find it "off" but that is clear in the rules. This may be the rule, but doesnt it feel odd? I me...
by Primarch
Thu Feb 05, 2009 9:31 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Another charge question....
Replies: 10
Views: 3535

Hmm, for some reason we have been playing that you do roll a VMD when a fragmented unit breaks when charged. So in this case, the MF would have moved their 4 inches, and the Knights would have moved their 4 or rolled not to charge, correct? About the diagram, it is off, the Longbow should be lined u...
by Primarch
Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:27 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Another charge question....
Replies: 10
Views: 3535

Sounds reasonable to me, thanks.



Clay
by Primarch
Thu Feb 05, 2009 12:03 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Another charge question....
Replies: 10
Views: 3535

Another charge question....

Ok, there are already 2 threads, but I couldnt find this specific answer in either one of them. Truth be told, I didnt read every line of every post, but mostly skimmed, so if someone could point me in the right direction I'd appreciate it. XXYY XXYY ** ZZ Ok, X= BG of Knights Y= BG of Aux, so MF Z=...
by Primarch
Wed Feb 04, 2009 4:04 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Column bonus for battle line?
Replies: 50
Views: 5836

Thank you.



Clay
by Primarch
Wed Feb 04, 2009 3:58 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Column bonus for battle line?
Replies: 50
Views: 5836

My mistake then. Where does this leave us then? I assume it is still going to be fixed?



Clay
by Primarch
Wed Feb 04, 2009 3:44 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Column bonus for battle line?
Replies: 50
Views: 5836

In the game, it was laid out at deployment, so indeed it was there from the beginning. The BGs were indeed also in Difficult going, and were moving their full 4 inches per move, so 8 inches per turn with a march using only 1 general. This is really a bit more effective if the army using this tactic ...
by Primarch
Wed Feb 04, 2009 3:03 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Column bonus for battle line?
Replies: 50
Views: 5836

Of course many can outmanuever few, and it is indeed about the +1 mu for the battleline columns. My point is that it is already a huge advantage to have that many BGs, not something most armies can do. So, the +1 mu is just piling on at that point, and should be addressed. Either way, I dont think i...
by Primarch
Wed Feb 04, 2009 2:03 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Column bonus for battle line?
Replies: 50
Views: 5836

Bold statements ... Surely if they wouldn't use it, then aren't you saying in your own argument that in game between 2 "competent"players (whatever that may be) the move will almost certainly have no effect on the game. Alas, lesson lost. No, I am not saying that at all. In a game where the player ...
by Primarch
Wed Feb 04, 2009 1:34 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Column bonus for battle line?
Replies: 50
Views: 5836

According to quite a few guys here, RBS, yourself and others, the rule wasn't intended to work this way, and I am happy with that. Clay p.s. There is a lesson to be learned here. I had already started typing my response and entered it before I saw your edit. Good thing I re-read your post after the ...

Go to advanced search