Search found 1117 matches

by gozerius
Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:09 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Fighting in two directions.
Replies: 2
Views: 835

Re: Fighting in two directions.

Depends on how you came in contact. Did you charge into a flank or rear contact? that would necessitate at least one enemy base pivoting to face you in the charge phase. So, yes, he is fighting in two directions. If you moved into overlap during your maneuver phase, he does not turn to face. Not fig...
by gozerius
Sun May 10, 2015 12:21 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Artillery and FF.
Replies: 1
Views: 826

Re: Artillery and FF.

heavy arty can wheel, but would no longer be defending FF. Arty defending FF can only shoot in the direction it is facing. but the front edge of the FF counts as the firing base's front edge for measuring shooting ranges. Just because a side edge is in contact with FF does not permit the arty to fir...
by gozerius
Fri Feb 27, 2015 1:39 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: charge query
Replies: 2
Views: 960

Re: charge query

Without a picture it is hard to give a proper interpretation. After rolling the VMD, the charger could wheel if there is sufficient room, dropping back a file if necessary to clear the friendly LF. If there is insufficient room to do this the charger is unable to complete the charge due to the obstr...
by gozerius
Wed Feb 18, 2015 12:36 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Conforming...
Replies: 35
Views: 4471

Re: Conforming...

Ravenflight, I apologize.
I thought you were referring to the stupidity the supposed legality of wheeling slightly to change the base to which you conform because you are only in corner contact.

I guess its my whine and your cheese.
by gozerius
Tue Feb 17, 2015 3:33 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Conforming...
Replies: 35
Views: 4471

Re: Conforming...

OK. Apologies to all. I've just got the definitive answer from Richard Bodley Scott and it's outcome 'B'! It's quite simple to get the bases to conform to 'A'. As stated in a previous thread, if the bases charging down the page do a microscopic wheel to their left, they then conform the other way. ...
by gozerius
Sat Feb 14, 2015 4:23 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Version 2.0 Errata
Replies: 57
Views: 20066

Re: Version 2.0 Errata

Having read the guidelines, I can give a solid endorsement for most points. The interpretation of the mechanics of fighting vs an orb are especially good. It should be made clear that bases defending FF shoot in the direction they are facing. However, with regards to conforming, I believe that the e...
by gozerius
Sat Feb 14, 2015 2:34 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Gully Question
Replies: 5
Views: 1362

Re: Gully Question

I can live with that interpretation.
by gozerius
Fri Feb 13, 2015 4:30 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Gully Question
Replies: 5
Views: 1362

Re: Gully Question

1) P139 - Troops in a gully are only visible from outside within 1MU. Is this within 1MU of the gully or the troops? 1 MU from the gully. Troops within the gully are visible to one another. 2) Troops in a gully can see out. If they shoot I cannot see anywhere that the enemy can shoot back. I have r...
by gozerius
Fri Feb 13, 2015 4:02 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Conforming...
Replies: 35
Views: 4471

Re: Conforming...

The key phrase is must pivot and/or shift by the minimum necessary to line up with the enemy bases in contact. The first bullet indicates that to conform you either line up in full front edge contact with an enemy base, or in overlap. They are equally valid, and the bases that conform will fight in ...
by gozerius
Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:13 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Conforming...
Replies: 35
Views: 4471

Re: Conforming...

Actually, every image related to conforming shows that. It is what is meant by "conforms by the minimum necessary with the bases in contact." The wording and diagrams do not change between V1 and V2. Although I have always asserted that the emphasis should be on the part of the rule requiring moving...
by gozerius
Sat Jan 24, 2015 4:28 am
Forum: Modelling
Topic: German free Cantons spearmen?
Replies: 3
Views: 1900

Re: German free Cantons spearmen?

Well, the description in the army list is shieldless with heavy spear. Essex Low Countries Pike look overdressed, and I'm aiming for a bit earlier period.
by gozerius
Sat Jan 24, 2015 1:56 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Charges contacting flank edge
Replies: 37
Views: 6858

Re: Charges contacting flank edge

Combining shooting bases use the lowest POA, but the CT would get the minus because the BG was shot at by firearms.
by gozerius
Fri Jan 23, 2015 12:57 am
Forum: Modelling
Topic: German free Cantons spearmen?
Replies: 3
Views: 1900

German free Cantons spearmen?

Any recommendations for these in 15mm?
by gozerius
Tue Jan 20, 2015 10:41 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Charges contacting flank edge
Replies: 37
Views: 6858

Re: Charges contacting flank edge

I would award the penalty for being shot at by handguns. Shooting is compulsory, and there is no requirement that the handguns have to score a hit.
Isn't the overriding principle in these decisions "the more bloodshed, the better"? Not that it will come up often, considering the range of handguns.
by gozerius
Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:54 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Skilled swordsmen or swordsmen?
Replies: 8
Views: 1500

Re: Skilled swordsmen or swordsmen?

Domo arigato. :D
by gozerius
Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:20 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Skilled swordsmen or swordsmen?
Replies: 8
Views: 1500

Re: Skilled swordsmen or swordsmen?

Skilled swordsman is exclusively awarded to Roman legions. It pays to write the history books.
by gozerius
Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:18 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Charges contacting flank edge
Replies: 37
Views: 6858

Re: Charges contacting flank edge

Okay. I'll save my blowing my top for other threads.
by gozerius
Fri Jan 16, 2015 10:55 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Charges contacting flank edge
Replies: 37
Views: 6858

Re: Charges contacting flank edge

Why? A and B Charged C. The player with more bases decides which throw dice in the impact phase. If B were lancers and did not throw dice, he still charged, so C was charged by lancers. If you people weren't so caught up with base vs base combat, it's a no brainer. But because you can't visualize th...
by gozerius
Thu Jan 15, 2015 3:38 am
Forum: Field of Glory : Ancient & Medieval Era 3000 BC-1500 AD : General Discussion
Topic: Flank Attack?
Replies: 18
Views: 4824

Re: Flank Attack?

The whole reason that the rule does not permit wheeling into a flank charge is to prevent a flank charge in this very situation.
My personal peeve is that the consensus is that each base fight as an individual base, except when they don't.
And a corner fights as if its the entire front.
Tail wags dog.
by gozerius
Wed Jan 14, 2015 4:56 am
Forum: Field of Glory : Ancient & Medieval Era 3000 BC-1500 AD : General Discussion
Topic: Flank Attack?
Replies: 18
Views: 4824

Re: Flank Attack?

This appears to be one of those holes in the rules. It cannot charge, as the enemy is already fighting to its front, nor can it wheel into overlap. (the enemy blocks the wheel.) It cannot apply the "Battle Groups in contact but not yet committed to combat" procedure because though in corner contact,...

Go to advanced search