Search found 130 matches

by Saxonian
Fri Mar 10, 2017 10:55 am
Forum: Field of Glory : Napoleonic Era 1792-1815 : General Discussion
Topic: FoGN v2 Firing out of Buildings
Replies: 22
Views: 3406

Re: FoGN v2 Firing out of Buildings

I'm a fan of option 9. No shooting to or from buildings outside of 2" for infantry. Artillery only. Martin My fear would be that this would make buildings a death-trap for any troops defending them. Artillery unit (or units - they have to be in one division now) blazes away with relative impunity, ...
by Saxonian
Fri Feb 10, 2017 11:51 am
Forum: Player Designed Lists and Adaptions
Topic: Prussian Army 1806-07 Adaptations
Replies: 33
Views: 4456

Re: Prussian Army 1806-07 Adaptations

So a historically accurate Austrian list would probably be all L1 commanders - no charismatics Seems a little harsh, my reading has Archduke Charles as one of the better European commanders - certainly a L2 - and quite inspirational. Not to the extent of a Lannes, or Bagration, or Ney, but certainl...
by Saxonian
Thu Jul 14, 2016 9:32 pm
Forum: Field of Glory : Napoleonic Era 1792-1815 : General Discussion
Topic: FOGN 2nd Edition
Replies: 420
Views: 53803

Re: FOGN 2nd Edition

Thanks for the reply Brett.
It would be good to have some idea as to progress, ETA etc.
by Saxonian
Thu Jul 14, 2016 9:30 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Moving into buildings by road
Replies: 1
Views: 908

Moving into buildings by road

The FAQ for buildings says that troops in column may only enter or leave from a point where a road touches the building, but doesn't say whether they are able to occupy it. (they cannot immediately defend it) The next section says that infantry entering a building to occupy it must be placed in Tact...
by Saxonian
Tue Jul 12, 2016 12:43 pm
Forum: Field of Glory : Napoleonic Era 1792-1815 : General Discussion
Topic: FOGN 2nd Edition
Replies: 420
Views: 53803

Re: FOGN 2nd Edition

I sent Terry a pm about 2 weeks ago.........no response. I posted on the FOGAM V.3 thread about a week ago.......deafening silence. Unfortunately I do not have any other means of communicating with him, so if anyone else has a personal email address maybe they could try. I have to say, I'm a bit fru...
by Saxonian
Wed Jul 06, 2016 1:17 am
Forum: Field of Glory : Ancient & Medieval Era 3000 BC-1500 AD : General Discussion
Topic: FOGAM3
Replies: 181
Views: 31999

Re: FOGAM3

Hi Terry,
any chance you could have a quick look at the thread for the update for FOGN we've been discussing.

http://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtop ... &start=380

It's been a while since we had any news on its progress.
Thanks
by Saxonian
Tue Jun 21, 2016 5:30 am
Forum: Field of Glory : Napoleonic Era 1792-1815 : General Discussion
Topic: FOGN 2nd Edition
Replies: 420
Views: 53803

Re: FOGN 2nd Edition

Way back on the 5th Feb Terry wrote that the "1.5" update for FOGN was supposed to be ready in "2-4 weeks". I am a pretty accommodating guy, but really...... .... Longest month ever...... We have all been eagerly awaiting this update. The snippets that have leaked out on this forum make it sound lik...
by Saxonian
Thu Jun 16, 2016 7:42 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Moving LC in a single line as Skirmishers
Replies: 2
Views: 1263

Re: Moving LC in a single line as Skirmishers

It would also mean that a move to the rear still requires a CMT - only skirmishers get this as a simple move.

Ooops.... Just saw the amendment :oops:
by Saxonian
Wed May 25, 2016 10:55 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Road movement by Commanders
Replies: 3
Views: 1277

Road movement by Commanders

Don't know if this has ever come up... The rules say that a unit in march column and limbered artillery can move double distance if the entire move is on a road - but doesn't mention commanders. Are commanders allowed a double move distance if the entire move is on a road? My feeling is that they sh...
by Saxonian
Mon Aug 17, 2015 6:17 am
Forum: Field of Glory : Napoleonic Era 1792-1815 : General Discussion
Topic: FOGN 2nd Edition
Replies: 420
Views: 53803

Re: FOGN 2nd Edition

Something that came up in a game on the weekend...... If a unit declares a charge on a wavering unit, and the target fails its test and therefore breaks, and there is no other valid target onto which the charger can re-direct (or they choose not to re-direct), do the chargers have to move their full...
by Saxonian
Mon Aug 10, 2015 12:32 pm
Forum: Field of Glory : Napoleonic Era 1792-1815 : General Discussion
Topic: FOGN 2nd Edition
Replies: 420
Views: 53803

Re: FOGN 2nd Edition

This is something I actually brought up a while ago, before the idea of a 2nd Edition was mentioned (can't remember where it was though!!). I agree that this is a pretty glaring and unresolved anomaly in the relationship between reformed and unreformed firers. IIRC the reply was along the lines of v...
by Saxonian
Thu Apr 30, 2015 11:38 am
Forum: Field of Glory : Napoleonic Era 1792-1815 : General Discussion
Topic: FOGN 2nd Edition
Replies: 420
Views: 53803

Re: FOGN 2nd Edition

This is great news.
The League of Ancients in Melbourne has a group of about 10-12 who play FOGN on a very regular basis, I'm sure I speak for them when I say we would love to help out with play-testing.
by Saxonian
Fri Apr 24, 2015 6:54 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Conscript Support
Replies: 16
Views: 1797

Re: Conscript Support

If you went into square as a response to an enemy cav charge, this would obviously occur in your opponent's turn so you would not be able to recover straight away - can only do this in your own turn. This means that the unit would then be able to change formation in its own turn before attempting to...
by Saxonian
Tue Apr 07, 2015 6:27 am
Forum: Field of Glory : Napoleonic Era 1792-1815 : General Discussion
Topic: Artillery:In Front or Beside??
Replies: 13
Views: 5346

Re: Artillery:In Front or Beside??

My usual habit these days is beside, as part of the main battle line. Putting any unit in front of the main battle line is simply inviting the enemy to concentrate fire on it, as was demonstrated to me in a game where two skirmishing light infantry were unloading 10 dice hitting on 5's onto my heavy...
by Saxonian
Tue Mar 17, 2015 8:42 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: shooting at artillery from buildings
Replies: 28
Views: 5834

Re: shooting at artillery from buildings

I think trying to work out a rationale for any given rule is fraught with problems. Discussing whether reformed troops in buildings would or would not send out skirmishers brings up another (possibly somewhat unrelated) Issue - reformed troops shooting at unreformed. If you assume that the range of ...
by Saxonian
Wed Mar 04, 2015 12:04 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Artillery retire to 3 MU
Replies: 15
Views: 1749

Re: Artillery retire to 3 MU

Bar853 wrote:One could assume that the same happens in this case
Think we need to be careful here - I seem to recall the "retire to 3MU" is not an outcome move under the strict definition in the rules
by Saxonian
Wed Feb 25, 2015 11:37 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Artillery retire to 3 MU
Replies: 15
Views: 1749

Re: Artillery retire to 3 MU

For the artillery to be required to limber, they would need to move more than 2MU - remember that the results table requires the target to retire to 3MU, and make the shortest move to achieve this - so the shooters would need to be closer than 1MU to the target. I think a more important question is,...
by Saxonian
Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:15 am
Forum: Field of Glory : Napoleonic Era 1792-1815 : General Discussion
Topic: Extended line and unreformed
Replies: 58
Views: 13246

Re: Extended line and unreformed

I am not a fan of the idea of tinkering with the points values as I think they are ok. I have used unreformed 1809 Saxons from the start, and usually manage to win a battle every now and then. :D There ARE two things which have never quite sat right with me: 1 - That unreformed infantry, who by defi...
by Saxonian
Wed Jan 21, 2015 3:02 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Attaching Commanders
Replies: 39
Views: 3798

Re: Attaching Commanders

I'd forgotten about having a choice for where a commander is if with a unit in combat!!!! As far as I can remember, this has not actually been included in any errata. The only benefit I can see of having the commander lead "from the rear" is to pass the CMT's to get into contact (defensive fire, di...
by Saxonian
Mon Dec 29, 2014 2:00 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: villages on hills/rivers
Replies: 3
Views: 828

Re: villages on hills/rivers

This is not mentioned in the Buildings FAQ. It says that flank support does not apply, and that rear support does and explains the situation in which it does. I think these two are mentioned because they are both "support", but only one applies. However, in the rules on p.77 (LH column, 5th bullet) ...

Go to advanced search