Search found 211 matches

by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:05 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Multiple Battlegroup Pursuit
Replies: 4
Views: 105

Re: Multiple Battlegroup Pursuit

There may be one mistake in your rout/pursuit move as stated below. The routing Romans do not move a "basic 4 MU" in their initial rout. They must make a VMD roll to see how far they rout. Perhaps you did it this way and just didn't mention it in your post.

Terry G.
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Mon Aug 03, 2020 10:33 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Failed interpenetration
Replies: 1
Views: 256

Failed interpenetration

We have a BG of light horse in open ground who are charged by battle troops. They must evade. There is a BG of cavalry behind them which they can not avoid by shifting so must burst through them. There is another BG of cavalry behind the first BG. There is not enough room between the cavalry BG's fo...
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Mon Aug 03, 2020 10:16 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: disorder
Replies: 3
Views: 358

Re: disorder

i don't think a light horse or cavalry BG's condition gets any worse just because there are two reasons for disorder. Suppose you had cataphracts instead. They are severely disordered by the terrain. Should they become double secret disordered if they are facing camels as well?

Terry G.
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Sat Jul 11, 2020 6:52 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Rear Support and Visibility
Replies: 1
Views: 340

Rear Support and Visibility

It appears a BG does not have to be visible to another BG for one to provide rear support for the other. Is that correct?

Thanks, Terry G.
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Tue Jun 23, 2020 1:55 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: MAXIMA AND MINIMA
Replies: 7
Views: 573

MAXIMA AND MINIMA

The Ancient Spanish army list on page 123 of Book 1 says an Iberian army may have 0-24 Mercenary Celtiberian Heavy Foot. The army list also says Spanish armies may have a Celtiberian ally of 0-32 Scutarii which are also Heavy Foot. Are these two to be treated as the same "troops" for maxima and mini...
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Mon May 25, 2020 4:16 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Pre-Battle Initiative
Replies: 6
Views: 710

Pre-Battle Initiative

From the text on page 137: "...successful generals have endeavored to bring the enemy to battle in the place of their own choosing whether as invader.....or in defence of their own territory..." I have a Thracian army all of whose infantry is medium foot. My opponent is Later Macedonian with lots of...
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Fri May 15, 2020 12:28 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Two Ranks Deep?
Replies: 1
Views: 386

Two Ranks Deep?

My Later Visigoths have a 12 base BG deployed three ranks deep, made up of 4 defensive spears, 4 defensive spears and 4 light foot bows. In earlier action it has lost two of its spears so now has 4 spears, 2 spears + 2 bows and 2 bows in its three ranks. It charges an enemy BG of defensive spears. T...
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Thu May 14, 2020 10:48 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: CONVENIENT BASE REMOVAL
Replies: 7
Views: 540

Re: CONVENIENT BASE REMOVAL

The way I read the rules, Phil the base removal comes before the CT because if the removal causes the BG to drop to 75% or 50% this is taken into account during the CT.

Terry G.
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Thu May 14, 2020 8:27 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: CONVENIENT BASE REMOVAL
Replies: 7
Views: 540

Re: CONVENIENT BASE REMOVAL

I should have been more specific. The shooting which caused the base loss was delivered by a separate enemy unit to my front. However, let me make a more specific example. I have a BG of 8 spears in two ranks. I am charged frontally by a BG of enemy spears. The Impact Phase results in a tie with no ...
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Wed May 13, 2020 4:24 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: CONVENIENT BASE REMOVAL
Replies: 7
Views: 540

CONVENIENT BASE REMOVAL

My BG is positioned such that one of its stands is in the restricted area of an enemy BG. Alternately, my BG has enemy in its rear that are within charge range of one of its stands. Should I lose a base due to enemy shooting am I allowed to remove a front rank base and "shuffle forward" with the thr...
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Wed Mar 06, 2019 7:36 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Pursuers in contact to side...
Replies: 14
Views: 2486

Re: Pursuers in contact to side...

Page 76 says one of the options for a BG in side edge to side edge contact with an enemy BG is "turn 90 degrees to face it". However the posters on this thread seem to agree the Pikes can not turn 90 degrees to initiate melee combat. What am I missing?

Thanks, Terry G.
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Thu May 31, 2018 11:15 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Light Chariot Impace POA's
Replies: 4
Views: 1286

Light Chariot Impace POA's

I have a BG of Hittite Light Chariots armed with Light Spear charging a BG of Egypt's Sherdan Guard Impact Foot in the open. The foot have the "against any mounted" POA. My Light Chariots have a POA "Light Chariots against any foot...". Since these cancel out it seems to me the Light Chariots would ...
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Tue May 29, 2018 2:22 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Battle Troops?
Replies: 7
Views: 1974

Battle Troops?

Page 93 says a base of battle troops providing support shooting during the impact phase receives a -1 POA. Earlier discussion on this site revealed the intent was to apply this POA only to medium foot and not to light foot (despite the definition of battle troops on page 17). OK, fine so far. The Im...
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Thu May 03, 2018 2:45 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Book 2 Army List Question
Replies: 4
Views: 1380

Book 2 Army List Question

Please refer to the new Army Lists - Book 2. Page 61 shows the Hindu Southern States armies having less elephants (2 bases per BG and a max of 4 bases) than the Northern States (2-3 bases per BG and a max 8 bases). Yet the text on page 59 states it was the southern states where "elephants dominated ...
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Mon Feb 26, 2018 4:46 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Supply Camps, part 2
Replies: 2
Views: 835

Supply Camps, part 2

Earlier I asked what I thought was a fairly straightforward question. "Can one move through or stop in a supply camp during the Maneuver Phase?" The answer I received was, "The rules tell you what you can do, not what you can't do." Camps are not mentioned at all in the Deploying Battle Groups on pa...
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:00 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Camps in the Maneuver Phase
Replies: 6
Views: 1171

Re: Camps in the Maneuver Phase

Well, OK. But the interpenetration rules seem do deal strictly with troops. There is no mention of meeting obstacles in this section.

Pg. 45: "Interpenetrations are situations where you can move through friendly troops, and where there is no penalty for doing so."

Terry G.
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Mon Jan 15, 2018 5:53 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Charging through your own troops
Replies: 1
Views: 646

Charging through your own troops

Hypothetical situation: I have a BG of non-shock Medium Foot with a BG of shock Lancers just over 3 MU behind them. In my opponent's turn he charges my Med Foot with a BG of Heavy Foot. My Medium Foot survive the ensuing Impact Phase and Melee Phase combats. Now it is my turn. My Lancers fail their ...
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Mon Jan 15, 2018 1:11 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Camps in the Maneuver Phase
Replies: 6
Views: 1171

Re: Camps in the Maneuver Phase

The issue is the rules are completely silent on how you can move - if at all - through a supply camp during the Maneuver Phase and if a fortified and unfortified camp are treated differently.

The other issue is whether or not troops can begin the game deployed in either type of camp.

Terry G.
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Sat Jan 13, 2018 4:14 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Camps in the Maneuver Phase
Replies: 6
Views: 1171

Camps in the Maneuver Phase

I have played FoG through three editions now and have yet to see the issue of how camps are treated during the Maneuver Phase addressed. During the Maneuver Phase we play BG's can move through an unfortified camp as through open ground but no part of the BG can end its move in the Camp. We treat for...
by TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Thu Dec 07, 2017 10:44 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Routing through friends
Replies: 9
Views: 1530

Re: Routing through friends

I have read through the rules on page 46 again and must respectfully disagree with Pete's explanation. The rule says the unit is destroyed/removed if it can not complete its rout move "during the Joint Action Phase." I take this (and the rest of the text in this section) to mean that during an initi...

Go to advanced search