Search found 68 matches

by Strategiser
Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:03 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Reference sheet errata?
Replies: 13
Views: 1404

Re: Reference sheet errata?

Many thanks. All clear now! I think the source of this confusion is the new wording in the latest (and indeed the previous too) errata document, where on page 2 it says to add "Pivot or" before "change of formation...". I think this should be removed to be in line with your description and explanati...
by Strategiser
Thu Jan 15, 2015 5:13 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Reference sheet errata?
Replies: 13
Views: 1404

Re: Reference sheet errata?

Thanks Terry. Appreciated. However, I am still confused as to what should the correct entry be in the QRS. Could you please answer/clarify my numbered questions below? All entries refer to the Movement Phase Only table in the Simple & Complex Move section. 1. Within 2 MU of enemy --> Turn or wheel t...
by Strategiser
Sun Jan 11, 2015 11:53 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: mixed units
Replies: 4
Views: 737

Re: mixed units

Great. Thank you!
by Strategiser
Sun Jan 11, 2015 11:13 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: mixed units
Replies: 4
Views: 737

Re: mixed units

Many thanks! :)

And I suppose that unit in my example would move 8MU in open (as opposed to 10MU). Correct?
by Strategiser
Sun Jan 11, 2015 10:54 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: mixed units
Replies: 4
Views: 737

mixed units

Just a quick question on mixed units please. Some army lists specify that you can (and in some cases you even must) combine two different troop types into the same unit. Now, as mentioned in the Appendix of the Triumph of Nations, these mixed units should consist of troops having the same élan and t...
by Strategiser
Sun Jan 11, 2015 7:09 pm
Forum: Army Design
Topic: army list variances
Replies: 3
Views: 1270

Re: army list variances

Many thanks!
by Strategiser
Sun Jan 11, 2015 6:09 pm
Forum: Army Design
Topic: army list variances
Replies: 3
Views: 1270

army list variances

Hi all, Could you please clarify for me as to why there are certain differences between the army lists presented in the core rulebook and the other books? E.g. some numbers in the French Infantry Corps D'Armee 1812 from the rulebook do not correspond with those given in the Triumph of Nations book f...
by Strategiser
Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:09 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Reference sheet errata?
Replies: 13
Views: 1404

Re: Reference sheet errata?

Many thanks indeed! I do appreciate your feedback and help! (Just in case it was not already clear), my annoyance was certainly not targeted at gamers or even the designers as I love the game! It's just that it is frustrating to see such inconsistencies, especially when I am a beginner in FOG:N (not...
by Strategiser
Fri Jan 09, 2015 12:49 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Reference sheet errata?
Replies: 13
Views: 1404

Re: Reference sheet errata?

I understand that the Pivot was added later, HOWEVER, in that case why does the latest errata text (page 2) still say to insert the word 'Pivot or' before a 'change of formation' for the movement phase only table? Effectively, the errata text itself (in addition to the rules and tables) do not corre...
by Strategiser
Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:29 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Reference sheet errata?
Replies: 13
Views: 1404

Re: Reference sheet errata?

Yes that line in the reference sheet exists under the Movement Phase Only, Within 2MU of Enemy. However, my question is about the "Pivot" line under "Over 2MU of Enemy" (not Within!). The current reference sheet (released with the latest official errata) states N/A both for Steady/Disordered and Wav...
by Strategiser
Thu Jan 08, 2015 1:41 am
Forum: Modelling/Gallery/Uniforms Questions
Topic: Skirmisher formation and attachments
Replies: 16
Views: 2985

Re: Skirmisher formation and attachments

Thank you! So, effectively: 1. Light Cavalry that is non-Irregular can ONLY be in a Skirmisher formation when taking an Extended Line formation; and 2. Irregular Light Cavalry is always considered to be in a Skirmisher formation whether it is in tactical, extended line, march, etc. Correct? Thanks.
by Strategiser
Thu Jan 08, 2015 1:37 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Reference sheet errata?
Replies: 13
Views: 1404

Re: Reference sheet errata?

Pivot is only for extended line and artillery and is meant to allow you to try and face your enemy if they are close, so not allowed unless the enemy is right up in their face. At other ranges the unit would have to wheel or prolong to change facing to the enemy. But this is not what the official e...
by Strategiser
Wed Jan 07, 2015 1:24 pm
Forum: Modelling/Gallery/Uniforms Questions
Topic: 28mm vs 15mm
Replies: 16
Views: 5034

Re: 28mm vs 15mm

Great, thanks. I think I will try both in 1 inch and 40mm and see which one suits me and my opponent(s) better. I do also like to have a little bit more space to manoeuvre.
by Strategiser
Wed Jan 07, 2015 12:30 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Reference sheet errata?
Replies: 13
Views: 1404

Reference sheet errata?

Dear Commanders, I was just browsing through the newly updated (downloadable) reference sheets and noticed on the first page what I think is possibly an error: In the "Simple & Complex Moves" table, under the 'Movement Phase Only', the Pivot line for 'Over 2MU from enemy' states N/A for both Steady/...
by Strategiser
Wed Jan 07, 2015 11:08 am
Forum: Modelling/Gallery/Uniforms Questions
Topic: Skirmisher formation and attachments
Replies: 16
Views: 2985

Re: Skirmisher formation and attachments

Cavalry there is just column or normal formation and extended line formation. Light cavalry in extended line can evade. Irregular Light Cavalry in whatever formation and Regular light cavalry in extended line get to move as skirmishers (though only Irregular light cavalry can ove outside deployment...
by Strategiser
Wed Jan 07, 2015 10:51 am
Forum: Modelling/Gallery/Uniforms Questions
Topic: 28mm vs 15mm
Replies: 16
Views: 5034

Re: 28mm vs 15mm

Doesn't this substantially prolong the game?
by Strategiser
Wed Jan 07, 2015 2:11 am
Forum: Modelling/Gallery/Uniforms Questions
Topic: Skirmisher formation and attachments
Replies: 16
Views: 2985

Re: Skirmisher formation and attachments

Thanks. However, one thing I am still not entirely clear about: Light Cavalry (whether Irregular or not) can either be in tactical formation or skirmisher formation. If using two figs per base for both front and rear ranks (like deadtorius does as per his message above), then doesn't this make the r...
by Strategiser
Wed Jan 07, 2015 1:58 am
Forum: Modelling/Gallery/Uniforms Questions
Topic: 28mm vs 15mm
Replies: 16
Views: 5034

Re: 28mm vs 15mm

As always, thanks for the helpful advice, deadtorius! Much appreciated!
by Strategiser
Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:48 pm
Forum: Modelling/Gallery/Uniforms Questions
Topic: Skirmisher formation and attachments
Replies: 16
Views: 2985

Re: Skirmisher formation and attachments

A couple more related questions. 1. Can any Light Cavalry form a Skirmisher formation? Or is this just limited to Irregular Light Cavalry? (The rulebook mentions both ways in different places). 2. Also, I was thinking of representing Light Cavalry in tactical formation by having the front rank being...

Go to advanced search