Search found 7950 matches

by philqw78
Thu Apr 24, 2008 12:40 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Elephants, Disorder and Dice Reduction
Replies: 33
Views: 5536

I think the effect of being directly attacked by elephants would be far worse on cavalry than working near them. Having never seen an elephant charge a mass of cataphracts tho I wouldn't know for sure.
by philqw78
Thu Apr 24, 2008 7:06 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Drilled or Undrilled Skirmishers; why should we care?
Replies: 9
Views: 1799

we don't they do
by philqw78
Thu Apr 24, 2008 7:05 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Drilled or Undrilled Skirmishers; why should we care?
Replies: 9
Views: 1799

we don't
by philqw78
Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:33 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Intercept Charges
Replies: 1
Views: 481

Intercept Charges

Can troops intercept charge from ambush, declaring before they are placed on table, eg from a gully, where they can see but cannot be seen.
by philqw78
Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:27 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Flank Marching
Replies: 3
Views: 680

Flank Marching

Can I roll for a flank march on both flanks if I am stupid enough to have just 2 generals and want the enemy to think I have more, and more troops, and then say they are HF flank marching without FC so lose one from the dice, or is this too confusing
by philqw78
Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:27 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Cataphracts V Roman Legionaries???
Replies: 26
Views: 5045

yes, at impact, but it is cancelled out by the impact foot POA if the impact foot did not initiate the charge
by philqw78
Thu Apr 17, 2008 7:37 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Contracting Whilst in Combat
Replies: 11
Views: 1372

OK
by philqw78
Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:29 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Contracting Whilst in Combat
Replies: 11
Views: 1372

If it had a 2 deep overlap at each side but was left only one deep in the centre it would wish to move as its centre has lost POA, the overlaps are still adding combat dice, but less effectively. So can __ :( :( :( :( :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: _________ :evil: Do this to get P...
by philqw78
Wed Apr 16, 2008 7:19 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Contracting Whilst in Combat
Replies: 11
Views: 1372

or would it be:

:( :(
:twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
____ :twisted:

or no contraction at all
by philqw78
Wed Apr 16, 2008 6:57 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Contracting Whilst in Combat
Replies: 11
Views: 1372

Contracting Whilst in Combat

Can a BG contract whilst in combat? If a BG charges and has bases out of the combat for the melee phase could it contract them if this would add to its combat dice? e.g. A 4 wide single line of Cav contacts 2 LF bases at one end of its line. Could it contract a base or even 2 during the movement pha...
by philqw78
Wed Apr 16, 2008 6:43 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Charge question
Replies: 2
Views: 526

It is assumed that opposing Battle groups will do what is best for them when charged. Impact foot would counter charge, although this is not displayed on the table top. Pikes or spear would probably stand and take it
by philqw78
Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:32 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Fragmented Pursuers
Replies: 12
Views: 1416

Excellent
by philqw78
Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:34 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Charge distances and CMT's not to
Replies: 8
Views: 1257

You do though need to differentiate between charge range (the reason to test) and charge move distance (the reason not to test) to avoid any confusion and add more words to the rules for us rules lawyers to pick at.
by philqw78
Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:27 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Fragmented Pursuers
Replies: 12
Views: 1416

Two parts of the rules contradict each other on this then. The pursuit and the effects of cohesion. The effect of cohesion says nothing about compulsory or voluntary moves just that fragmented troops can only move away from enemy within 12MU unless they pass a CMT. The pursuit part does not specific...
by philqw78
Thu Mar 20, 2008 10:00 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Charge distances and CMT's not to
Replies: 8
Views: 1257

Excellent
by philqw78
Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:36 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Charge distances and CMT's not to
Replies: 8
Views: 1257

Charge distances and CMT's not to

Shock troops test not to charge in varying circumstances. In these circumstances their charge distance is taken as +2MU. Does this mean that MF shock troops 6MU, or HF shock 5MU, from troops they would normally charge must test not to, or just charge of their own free will once within 6/5MU with lit...
by philqw78
Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:29 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Fragmented Pursuers
Replies: 12
Views: 1416

So the rule about fragmented BG's having to test to move, unless away from enemy, is ignored?
by philqw78
Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:09 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Fragmented Pursuers
Replies: 12
Views: 1416

Fragmented Pursuers

Must Fragmented BG's pursue? Those BG's that break all their opponents must pursue and a fragmneted BG would then pursue and even contact fresh enemy to be, normally, slaughtered. However, it says somewhere else in the rules that unless moving away from enemy within 12MU fragmented BG's must pass a ...
by philqw78
Sat Mar 31, 2007 8:30 am
Forum: Field of Glory : Ancient & Medieval Era 3000 BC-1500 AD : General Discussion
Topic: Fanatics
Replies: 26
Views: 8145

Re: Origin. IIRC Sark is old English for shirt as in Cutty Sark - Short Shirt - name of a famous ship. Therefore Bare Sark - Bare chested - no shirt. (Possibly)

phil
by philqw78
Fri Mar 23, 2007 11:19 am
Forum: Field of Glory : Ancient & Medieval Era 3000 BC-1500 AD : General Discussion
Topic: Sacred Relics etc
Replies: 1
Views: 1671

Sacred Relics etc

Are the rules going to include stuff for sacred relics; true cross, icon of our lady, holy hand grenade, etc, for troops morale? Or is this just going to come under the general's status as FC, IC, TC? It would be nice as it is, again, something pretty to look at with a bit of history behind it, addi...

Go to advanced search