Search found 130 matches

by Saxonian
Tue Dec 16, 2014 11:03 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Conformation
Replies: 117
Views: 14074

Re: Conformation

But if I have a BG: :mrgreen: :) :evil: :evil: :) :mrgreen: If your charge hits :evil: and :evil: then the :) positions are not overlapping :evil: - you can only overlap the BG on the ends of the line, where :mrgreen: is and only then if :) is fighting. Writing as someone who has exactly one game o...
by Saxonian
Tue Dec 16, 2014 10:38 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Units in Buildings can they provide flank support
Replies: 3
Views: 1004

Re: Units in Builders can they provide flank support

I suppose it all depends on whether a unit in a building generates a "support area". I think the answer is no. The building FAQ states in the section Firing to and from Buildings under Dice Modifiers that there are no support dice when shooting at of from buildings (4th bullet point). It further sta...
by Saxonian
Sun Dec 07, 2014 10:51 pm
Forum: Field of Glory : Napoleonic Era 1792-1815 : General Discussion
Topic: How long are your games?
Replies: 9
Views: 3373

Re: How long are your games?

When you say 8 moves do you mean 8 each as active player? That would be 16 manoeuvre phases so petty good going, whereas 4 each would be on the slow side even by our standards Yep, 8 turns each. We find that the first 3 - 4 go pretty quickly, all dependant on how successful the attacker is at getti...
by Saxonian
Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:17 pm
Forum: Field of Glory : Napoleonic Era 1792-1815 : General Discussion
Topic: Cavalry Tactics
Replies: 18
Views: 5398

Re: Cavalry Tactics

"Massed cavalry" hardly does the situation justice.
I think we counted 23 units of cavalry, in up to three waves - facing off on about 2 feet of frontage!!
by Saxonian
Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:42 pm
Forum: Field of Glory : Napoleonic Era 1792-1815 : General Discussion
Topic: How long are your games?
Replies: 9
Views: 3373

Re: How long are your games?

Most sports have time limits Excellent point! Do you think you could call my wife and convince her that playing with toy soldiers is a sport, and hence constitutes exercise? :D On a more serious note......we found that once we became more familiar with the rules and our armies, battles did indeed b...
by Saxonian
Tue Nov 25, 2014 12:39 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: A square is shot into retirement...
Replies: 3
Views: 913

Re: A square is shot into retirement...

Wow, good question Kit............just when you think most things have been addressed......... There definitely seems to be an inconsistency in the rules on this one. In a normal move a square can only ever move 1MU. If an outcome move is equal to or greater than a unit's move it ends facing away. T...
by Saxonian
Tue Nov 25, 2014 1:40 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Attrition Points
Replies: 1
Views: 433

Re: Attrition Points

Basically you calculate the state of your army at the beginning of each recovery phase. You only count the state of each unit at that point . The difference between broken and destroyed is that a broken unit has a chance to rally, a destroyed unit is immediately gone forever. And progressive losses ...
by Saxonian
Sun Nov 23, 2014 11:48 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: artillery in melee
Replies: 3
Views: 796

Re: artillery in melee

They do fight, but with fewer dice (other units or situations, so 4 dice for small) and a negative POA, and cavalry get a plus POA vs arty.
So don't let cav charge your guns!!
If you can put them in a field fortification though, they are much more likely to survive.
by Saxonian
Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:06 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Countercharge/intercept
Replies: 4
Views: 1276

Re: Countercharge/intercept

Have a look at this thread: http://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=188&t=47296&start=20 This is a slight departure from the rules as they appear in the book, but Hazelbark is correct. Terry wrote that the next errata should include a change so that a successful intercept will cancel any cou...
by Saxonian
Fri Nov 14, 2014 1:59 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Artillery Attachments
Replies: 4
Views: 1082

Re: Artillery Attachments

From what I can recall, the box at the end of each list that gives the availability for attachments states whether heavy artillery attachments are available, and to which units. The blurb at the start of each list might have it as well.
by Saxonian
Thu Oct 30, 2014 11:53 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Direction of retire
Replies: 18
Views: 2735

Re: Direction of retire

Would the units not be turning to face each other as they would if they remained in contact? I have to admit this was not a section of the rules I was very familiar with, as I can't remember ever having units in contact at the end of the combat round. After reading through them a few times, I now t...
by Saxonian
Tue Oct 21, 2014 10:10 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Direction of retire
Replies: 18
Views: 2735

Re: Direction of retire

I don't see why using the line between the centres of the two units isn't correct The only issue I can see with this is that if the two opposing units are off-set, you could end up with a retire path that bears virtually no relation to the facing of either unit. If a small LI unit in tactical is in...
by Saxonian
Tue Oct 21, 2014 2:35 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Direction of retire
Replies: 18
Views: 2735

Re: Direction of retire

How's this for a solution: If the target of the assault loses, they retire along a line perpendicular to the charger's front. I think this is a nice, straightforward concept. Easy to identify and implement. If the charger loses, there are two options: I/ The charger retires along the line of their f...
by Saxonian
Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:26 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Order of tests
Replies: 10
Views: 1156

Re: Order of tests

So I guess that means you try to charge wavering infantry in the flank with infantry - no chance to form square. Doesn't this create issues if the target is cavalry? The fact that they get a 4MU counter charge means that they can wheel nearly 90 degrees. So unless you begin your charge from very clo...
by Saxonian
Mon Oct 20, 2014 10:59 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Direction of retire
Replies: 18
Views: 2735

Re: Direction of retire

Also what if pivoting won't make front edge contact? Rear charge? I think the intention is to pivot to contact the winners front edge. Otherwise I suppose pivot to contact the edge where the contact is made - front, flank or rear. Remember that the target will turn to face the assaulting unit, so t...
by Saxonian
Mon Oct 20, 2014 10:32 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Direction of retire
Replies: 18
Views: 2735

Re: Direction of retire

What about if the outcome move is caused by shooting, so no base contact?
by Saxonian
Mon Oct 20, 2014 12:43 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Order of tests
Replies: 10
Views: 1156

Order of tests

A wavering infantry unit is charged in the flank by cavalry. The first test would be for a wavering unit being the target of an assault. Let's assume this test is passed. My question is when does the unit being assaulted take the automatic drop for being charged in the flank? Does this happen: 1/ at...
by Saxonian
Sun Oct 19, 2014 10:45 pm
Forum: Field of Glory : Napoleonic Era 1792-1815 : General Discussion
Topic: Genral options
Replies: 21
Views: 6036

Re: Genral options

I don't have the list in front of me - is it possible to take the artillery unit as horse artillery? This is a good option to put with your cav division, use the historical tactic of forcing the enemy into square and then blasting them. Squares have no shooting at medium range. Don't get me wrong, f...
by Saxonian
Sun Oct 19, 2014 11:29 am
Forum: Field of Glory : Napoleonic Era 1792-1815 : General Discussion
Topic: Genral options
Replies: 21
Views: 6036

Re: Genral options

If you are going for the exceptional CC, chances are you will be attacking more often than not. Using artillery units when attacking can be challenging. One of the options to consider is the use of your minimum artillery bases as attachments rather than separate units - check the errata for EandA fo...
by Saxonian
Mon Oct 13, 2014 12:08 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Artillery firing over friendly troops
Replies: 2
Views: 545

Re: Artillery firing over friendly troops

I can't remember where this is, but the answer is no. There is no overhead firing allowed. I actually quite like it - no fiddling about with relative distances between firer, target and intervening troops, and how high the hill is. Of course for a particular scenario you can do what you like. I will...

Go to advanced search