Search found 130 matches

by Saxonian
Wed May 14, 2014 11:52 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shooting at Extended Line from a Building???
Replies: 21
Views: 4050

Re: Shooting at Extended Line from a Building???

In an assault an extended line is a single target/unit. It's only for close range shooting that it counts as 2 units. It would defensive fire as 2 units, or one unit with support shooting dice from its other half. For all other purposes it counts as a single unit. If it was being shot at by an enem...
by Saxonian
Wed May 14, 2014 3:22 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shooting at Extended Line from a Building???
Replies: 21
Views: 4050

Re: Shooting at Extended Line from a Building???

You wouldn't double your dice when charged, you'd split them but they all get amalgamated on the same unit. Don't forget that the defender gets four combat dice per attacking unit, not a set number that is split. One thing that has not been mentioned is defensive fire in an assault. A unit defendin...
by Saxonian
Tue May 13, 2014 11:44 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shooting at Extended Line from a Building???
Replies: 21
Views: 4050

Re: Shooting at Extended Line from a Building???

Given that it is twice the frontage and firing as two units, it seems clear to me obvious that the defenders fire at each half as a unit as well. Otherwise, a double frontage in in extended line would suffer half the shooting of two units each on normal frontage occupying the same space. It would b...
by Saxonian
Tue May 13, 2014 3:35 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shooting at Extended Line from a Building???
Replies: 21
Views: 4050

Re: Shooting at Extended Line from a Building???

Given that it is twice the frontage and firing as two units, it seems clear to me obvious that the defenders fire at each half as a unit as well. This would be the only occasion on which the frontage of the target unit affects the amount of incoming fire, and as such I agree with Mike. I realise th...
by Saxonian
Mon May 12, 2014 11:18 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Moving backwards clarification
Replies: 9
Views: 1205

Re: Moving backwards clarification

The proviso for wheeling only in the first half of the move is just for movement during the Assault phase. During the movement phase you can do as many wheels as you want so long as you don't exceed a total of 90 degrees. Hmmm, yes, that's correct......as I have myself pointed out in a previous dis...
by Saxonian
Mon May 12, 2014 4:08 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: use of command points and generals
Replies: 14
Views: 2700

Re: use of command points and generals

Haven't got the rules in front of me, but I'm pretty sure it is in there that whether or not a unit is in command is established at the start of a phase, before anything has moved/happened. So a unit of light cav can start at 8MU, move once so it is then at 18MU and then take a CMT on one command po...
by Saxonian
Mon May 12, 2014 3:58 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shooting at Extended Line from a Building???
Replies: 21
Views: 4050

Re: Shooting at Extended Line from a Building???

We have been playing that the unit in line only cops a single load of 4 dice from the building. The Building FAQ states that the defenders get four dice against each unit capable of firing at them. It is a good way to force an enemy out of a building, especially when combined with a unit of heavy ar...
by Saxonian
Mon May 12, 2014 3:47 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Moving backwards clarification
Replies: 9
Views: 1205

Re: Moving backwards clarification

Backwards movement can be: - Extended line, limbered artillery march columns moving a full move backwards ending facing the original rear - Tactical, extended line, march, limbered artillery moving half a move ending facing the original front or rear - Skirmish moving a full move ending facing the ...
by Saxonian
Sun May 04, 2014 4:20 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Skirmishers
Replies: 22
Views: 4253

Re: Skirmishers

There are a couple of occasions I can think of where a unit of light infantry did break down entirely into skirmish order, but they were always (I think) in difficult terrain: - a division of Davout's corps during the Battle of Eckmuhl 1809. - units defending the left flank of the French army during...
by Saxonian
Wed Apr 30, 2014 11:01 pm
Forum: Tournaments, Demos & Opponents
Topic: July 2014 FOG N tournament Melbourne
Replies: 54
Views: 7753

Re: July 2014 FOG N tournament Melbourne

Anyway, how big is the trophy ? Do I need to travel business class so I can have the extra luggage allowance in order to bring it back to NZ with me ? Or would it be more pointed if Brett or I perhaps "donated" it back to the Melbournians to act as a less than subtle reminder that you couldn't win ...
by Saxonian
Mon Apr 28, 2014 10:33 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: buildings and rear support
Replies: 1
Views: 809

Re: buildings and rear support

This is covered right at the end of the FAQ on buildings. All the attackers lose one dice, and the defender gains one dice against one opponent. Also, remember that the unit giving rear support doesn't actually need to be 'behind' the building, as determined by the direction of attack. It only needs...
by Saxonian
Sun Apr 27, 2014 11:38 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: defensive shooting
Replies: 15
Views: 2849

Re: defensive shooting

My understanding was that who shoots is determined as if the assaulting unit actually makes it into contact with its target. The halting at 2MU is a rule mechanism, and not the actual point at which the firing takes place. Otherwise, a unit that is assaulting from an angle could technically be outsi...
by Saxonian
Fri Apr 25, 2014 10:42 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Rules Issues from NATCON 2014
Replies: 8
Views: 1274

Re: Rules Issues from NATCON 2014

As the rules are written (as I understand it) the intercept has to merely contact the charger NOT prevent the charger from contacting the original target, in a number of circumstances simultaneous contact can be arranged. And as intercept moves can be 2-4mu there is scope to manufacture such contac...
by Saxonian
Thu Apr 24, 2014 12:32 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Cavalry charges intercepts and couter charges
Replies: 43
Views: 8293

Re: Cavalry charges intercepts and couter charges

This can't happen - if a charge is intercepted from both flanks it wouldn't be able to get through the gap to contact the counter-charging unit. You could end up fighting 2 units though. I was thinking of a large unit assaulting, and a small unit the target that is directly in front of the centre l...
by Saxonian
Wed Apr 23, 2014 1:45 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Cavalry charges intercepts and couter charges
Replies: 43
Views: 8293

Re: Cavalry charges intercepts and couter charges

I read the relevant rules last night, and reminded myself once again of the danger of posting on the forum when you don't have the rules in front of you :oops: . I had in my head that a successful intercept prevented any compulsory action , whereas the rule says it prevents any compulsory test . I r...
by Saxonian
Tue Apr 22, 2014 5:42 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Cavalry charges intercepts and couter charges
Replies: 43
Views: 8293

Re: Cavalry charges intercepts and couter charges

As I put in my response to Kit's question from Natcon... If an intercept fails to prevent an assault from contacting the original target of a charge, then the intercept is cancelled and that unit is moved back to its start position. So it is not legal to have both a counter-charge and an intercept c...
by Saxonian
Tue Apr 22, 2014 5:07 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Rules Issues from NATCON 2014
Replies: 8
Views: 1274

Re: Rules Issues from NATCON 2014

Hi Kit, as one of those "interesting" Australians, let me respond.... (a) I agree with you totally - this is bollocks!! The target has to be within range and arc, not one or the other. Don't know where Keef got that one from. :? (b) It has appeared in a thread on this forum (somewhere) that a cavalr...
by Saxonian
Tue Apr 22, 2014 3:07 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Two Questions about mounted
Replies: 13
Views: 3090

Re: Two Questions about mounted

Okay that's cleared that up. What about the first part of Amra's question. Do you only not test for seeing irreg cav rout or any light cav skirmishers? 'Regular' Light cavalry in single line are not skirmishers - They behave as if skirmishers in some circumstances (like evading). If they break othe...
by Saxonian
Wed Apr 16, 2014 10:07 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: When a unit is destroyed during a pursuit....
Replies: 1
Views: 669

When a unit is destroyed during a pursuit....

I understand that the ruling has been made that there is no pursuit move after combat if the loser is destroyed - still can't understand why, but I accept this. What happens if a unit breaks and runs away, but is then caught by the pursuer and destroyed? Or if the pursuit contacts a unit already bro...
by Saxonian
Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:55 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Attaching Commanders
Replies: 39
Views: 5099

Re: Attaching Commanders

Any word on this??

Go to advanced search