Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Modders can post their questions on scripting and more.

Moderators: Slitherine Core, BA Moderators

Amaris
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:08 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by Amaris » Mon Mar 18, 2013 4:26 pm

I looked that: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=41428

And I'm progressing. :!:

Now the hedge is removed for both side! :P I'll see later in the walls.

But please don't laugh: it works only for the last hedge removed. :shock:
If two hedges or more are removed, only the last is removed in turn enemy...

:idea: Take one or two drinks :mrgreen:
“Take care, my friend; watch your six, and do one more roll… just for me.”

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Mon Mar 18, 2013 4:39 pm

C'est la vie... :lol:

Pip added a little more to that thread, which might clarify...?

Am on the road, but need to ping u an email about something, when I arrive.

Bon courage mon ami!
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

enric
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 8:47 am

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by enric » Mon Mar 18, 2013 4:41 pm

This is a dejà vu.
viewtopic.php?f=104&t=39127#p366281

look at the last answer of Pip.

Amaris
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:08 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by Amaris » Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:14 pm

enric wrote:This is a dejà vu.
viewtopic.php?f=104&t=39127#p366281

look at the last answer of Pip.
I just saw.
And I also just tested with your rhino script (we used two similar but different ways.) : same problem, only the last hedge is removed...

I'm looking for good volunteers to assemble a team.
To locate and capture Pip to make him confess everything on the MP mode and force to debug the universals variables. :P
“Take care, my friend; watch your six, and do one more roll… just for me.”

enric
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 8:47 am

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by enric » Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:37 pm

I'm looking for good volunteers to assemble a team.
To locate and capture Pip to make him confess everything on the MP mode and force to debug the universals variables.
Good idea!

On the Hedge, I've already solved the problem, it works fine, and be ready with the new version of BA.

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:47 pm

Before we recruit a posse to lynch Pip (which I would generally discourage, at least until BA2 is published :mrgreen: )
Does the latest version of the Improved Engineers mod work EXCEPT for the "feature" of removing only one hedge per turn?

If yes, please can we release it to the Great Unwashed (ie. me n my GJS'44 mates)??? :D :D :D

The way I figure it, your wonderful new mod...

(i) can remove as much forest as we want, in two logical steps
(ii) can find paths through swamp (Remember Benouville, Mike? ;-))
(iii) can add and remove tank traps (Now get out of that, you evil Tiger, you!)
(iv) and can blow away one piece of hedgerow/stone wall per turn...

Given that, for example, our Carpiquet assault has 25 turns, that's upto 25 sections of hedgerow/wall that we couldn't demolish before... and totally worth having... I'll just have to sell it to the lads as a "feature" that's limited to only one piece of wall per turn, lol :lol:, until we can all see Enric's magic solution on March 20th...???

What do you reckon?

Thanks for your incredible work, Amaris... NICE
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

Amaris
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:08 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by Amaris » Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:57 pm

DO IT!

Image
Image
Image

With 2.06 version. :P
Sysadmin for over 10 years, I always find a way. :mrgreen:
“Take care, my friend; watch your six, and do one more roll… just for me.”

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:12 pm

HEY!! I see three pieces of hedge missing... Permanently...

Did you just crack this???!!
:shock: 8)
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:13 pm

Is it up on http://amaris-games.com/ba-amaris/improved-engineer/ yet... for us mere mortals to drop into our scenarios...?
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:15 pm

Amaris wrote:DO IT!
Oui mon Capitaine...
Mais, on lynch Pip? Ou on deploy le mod?
:mrgreen:
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

Amaris
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:08 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by Amaris » Tue Mar 19, 2013 6:33 am

Yes it's working for several hedge removal. :P
Ultimately it is the most simple (and most brutal) works best. :P



And no it is not already available. But very soon I promise.

I must see to remove any walls. Clean the code also (I had to try more than 10 methods yesterday there is a lot to remove.)

Then see:
GottaLove88s wrote:please add "Burn" to remove all Dune Grass, High Corn or Tall Corn objects from the square that the engineer is in...
High Corn or Tall Corn objects: I know what it is but Dune Grass? What you mean?

See if we need further special action?
“Take care, my friend; watch your six, and do one more roll… just for me.”

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Tue Mar 19, 2013 6:52 am

Dune Grass is in the Sealion Objects set... it's sort of like river reeds... Really useful at water or cliff edges, or as random wild grass in large field... It provides 35% cover and units inside can't be seen except by scouts/recon cars (essentially Dune Grass works like High Corn, but with the visual plus that it integrates better with river, marsh and cliff features... Am out so can't attach a screenshot. Will add one tonight...

THANKS A. Great job on the Improved Engineers upgrade. You should see the comments from the guys on the Normandy Ninjas and GJS'44 Campaign threads. They can't wait! :wink:
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

Amaris
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:08 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by Amaris » Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:04 pm

I think about an important point of gameplay: the use of new features should trigger an opportunity shot if an enemy is into range.
Imagine a German soldier calmly waiting in his bunker. Suddenly the hedgerow in front explodes revealing an U.S. engineers squad. What would you do instead? :twisted:
“Take care, my friend; watch your six, and do one more roll… just for me.”

Amaris
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:08 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by Amaris » Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:22 pm

Done!
Too easy, adding:

Code: Select all

SetUnitForReaction(me);
And the enemy units in range will react to the special action, like cutting hedge, etc.
“Take care, my friend; watch your six, and do one more roll… just for me.”

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:23 pm

Good point. Enemies in range, with LOS and spare reaction shots leftover, should take a shot as normal... But please don't delay release for that, if it's difficult...? :mrgreen:
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:24 pm

Hey A... Does that mean its uploaded and available now? GL88 equivalent of Are we there yet? Lol... ;-)
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

Amaris
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:08 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by Amaris » Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:31 pm

Not yet! I always remove the wall under the hedge.
And add remove of High Corn, Tall Corn and Dune Gras.

For tonight if you're nice. Or tomorrow if I'm too tired. :P
“Take care, my friend; watch your six, and do one more roll… just for me.”

Amaris
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:08 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by Amaris » Tue Mar 19, 2013 6:13 pm

The new version(4) is available: http://amaris-games.com/ba-amaris/improved-engineer/

Summary:
- Add tank trap.
- Remove tank trap.
- Terraform: forest/tree -> mud -> open grass
- Cutting hedge with wall removal.
- Burn High Corn, Tall Corn and Dune Gras.

Enjoy!
I did some tests:
Image
But I do not guarantee that there are not bugs. :wink:
“Take care, my friend; watch your six, and do one more roll… just for me.”

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:02 pm

Amaris, NICE! Looks good to me... Hedgerow works really well now... :D

Two itsy witsy requests please...

Add Tank Traps needs to check that AP is base AP, ie. it has to be the engineer's first move to be permitted... At the moment, it's still allowing Add Tank Traps after other moves... if (GetAttrib(me, "AP") >= 8 )

The five other functions need to subtract 8 AP rather than set AP to zero (so that engineers can move 1 space after carrying out an improved action, otherwise they'll be stuck in a known location and blitzed by mortar fire).

I'm guessing it has something to do with this code...

Code: Select all

   AP = GetAttrib(me, "AP");
	AP = AP - 8;
	SetAttrib(me, "AP", AP);
Plus an int AP; higher up... but simply adding these generates an error for me... Hmmm?

Btw, I noticed that most of the int EffectY definitions lack semicolons... Is that ok? Or just me being picky, lol?

Really looking forward to adding this to GJS'44... and to NAM!! :mrgreen:
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

Amaris
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:08 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by Amaris » Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:27 am

Sorry about this, I just understood the opposite of what was asked. :oops:

Don't' touch the code if you don't know what you do. :P

I'll put online a corrected version this afternoon (gmt+1).

I also thought to improve this mod: :idea: the use of certain demolition (cutting hedge, remove tank trap, perhaps the terraform too) action could consume satchel charge. :?:

Another point I will playing with bridges. :wink:
“Take care, my friend; watch your six, and do one more roll… just for me.”

Post Reply

Return to “Battle Academy : Modders Corner ”