Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Modders can post their questions on scripting and more.

Moderators: Slitherine Core, BA Moderators

Amaris
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:08 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by Amaris » Sun Mar 17, 2013 8:23 am

GottaLove88s wrote:PS. Mod lets engineers demolish tank traps that are behind them?
(ie. not in the same square)

Is that intentional?

Image
If the script do it that's is intentional. :P ('it's not a bug it's feature' song)

Effectively it seems more logical to be able to remove tank trap only on its own tile. Fixed on the next release.
“Take care, my friend; watch your six, and do one more roll… just for me.”

Amaris
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:08 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by Amaris » Sun Mar 17, 2013 8:34 am

GottaLove88s wrote:PS. The 1st two turns are taken up by a dual-side deploy mod (developed by Merr).
It's the only way I've seen that both players in an MP game can deploy their forces around preset zones of the battle map.
Which might also be rather handy for large Pacific ocean maps? ;-)
My next 'challenge': better understanding of the multiplayer mode. Then transform Battle Academy into a civ-like or 4X game. :mrgreen:
“Take care, my friend; watch your six, and do one more roll… just for me.”

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Sun Mar 17, 2013 8:34 am

YAY!! Can't wait...
:mrgreen:
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Sun Mar 17, 2013 8:50 am

Amaris wrote:if the script do it that's is intentional. :P ('it's not a bug it's feature' song)

Effectively it seems more logical to be able to remove tank trap only on its own tile. Fixed on the next release.
Haha... Good answer... Thanks for the fix too
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Sun Mar 17, 2013 9:04 am

Amaris wrote:
GottaLove88s wrote:PS. The 1st two turns are taken up by a dual-side deploy mod (developed by Merr).
It's the only way I've seen that both players in an MP game can deploy their forces around preset zones of the battle map.
Which might also be rather handy for large Pacific ocean maps? ;-)
My next 'challenge': better understanding of the multiplayer mode. Then transform Battle Academy into a civ-like or 4X game. :mrgreen:
Yeah, Merr has developed a lot of cunning MP code, that lets BA do things that it's really not supposed to be able to do (u'r not related to him ru? ;-)). We use most of it in GJS'44, so feel free to play n plunder...

Tbh the next version of ur Pacific series will go a long way towards the best aspects of Civ... Multiple ship types, aircraft, broad mix of land units, large scale maps, beach, jungle & fortress assaults and defences... If you ever feel u'd like some help, I'd be a happy collaborateur to work on some VERY large maps for this...
Is there a max map size in BA?
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

Amaris
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:08 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by Amaris » Sun Mar 17, 2013 9:38 am

GottaLove88s wrote:Yeah, Merr has developed a lot of cunning MP code, that lets BA do things that it's really not supposed to be able to do (u'r not related to him ru? ;-)). We use most of it in GJS'44, so feel free to play n plunder...

Tbh the next version of ur Pacific series will go a long way towards the best aspects of Civ... Multiple ship types, aircraft, broad mix of land units, large scale maps, beach, jungle & fortress assaults and defences... If you ever feel u'd like some help, I'd be a happy collaborateur to work on some VERY large maps for this...
Um a volunteer? gladly. :P
I ask only little thing: your soul! :twisted:
Will speak on the topic dedicated.
GottaLove88s wrote:Is there a max map size in BA?
Yeah! 64x64. As the limit of 64 units per side. :roll:
“Take care, my friend; watch your six, and do one more roll… just for me.”

Amaris
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:08 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by Amaris » Sun Mar 17, 2013 9:43 am

The new version (version3) is available: http://amaris-games.com/ba-amaris/improved-engineer/

- fixed remove tank trap: only avaible on this own tile
- rewrite the hedge cutting without GetUnitFacing (code is ugly, but who cares? :mrgreen:). Some quick tests: it works. but this needs confirmation. :wink:
“Take care, my friend; watch your six, and do one more roll… just for me.”

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Sun Mar 17, 2013 9:52 am

Does it check that engineer still has AP=16 before allowing it to Add Tank Trap?
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

Amaris
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:08 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by Amaris » Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:06 am

GottaLove88s wrote:Does it check that engineer still has AP=16 before allowing it to Add Tank Trap?
:oops:
“Take care, my friend; watch your six, and do one more roll… just for me.”

Amaris
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:08 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by Amaris » Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:11 am

“Take care, my friend; watch your six, and do one more roll… just for me.”

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:17 am

Would you mind if I changed it so that AP must be 16 to permit Engineer to execute any of these new moves (ie. it can only do one of them per turn)
But these new actions only subtract 8 AP points, so that the engineer could make a one-space move immediately afterwards?

Otherwise, the enemy will know exactly which space the engineer is in... And on maps with mortars, that's going to lead to many dead engineers...
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:31 am

Thanks Amaris,

Have downloaded your latest version... Good news: Everything still works, Bad news: Except the Hedgerow...

Below, three Brit engineers have blown up Hedgerow.
The two engineers on the left blew up the Hedgerow walls in front of them... Oddly, the Hedgerow has gone, but the stone walls have not (type = desert stone wall straight).
Does the wall need to be in the same square as the engineer? Or in the same square as the hedgerow? Or does where the wall is not matter too much?
Btw the engineer on the right blew up the hedgerow in the field (which did not have an accompanying wall) correctly.
Image

The Germans too, can blow up Hedgerow.
The engineer on the left has correctly blown up Wall & Hedgerow together... NICE! This is going to make Carpiquet MUCH more fun.
The engineers on the right have cut down trees to create Marsh instead of Forest. Working well.
Image

But bizarrely, BA repairs the hedgerow and wall when it shows the replay to the MP opponent (so the opponent sees the explosion, but then sees repaired hedgerow/walls)
So the following German turn, the Hedgerow/Wall that were just demolished are back in position again.
But the marsh is still marsh. How weird is that?
Image

Any ideas...? :? :? :?
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

Amaris
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:08 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by Amaris » Sun Mar 17, 2013 12:17 pm

GottaLove88s wrote:Does the wall need to be in the same square as the engineer? Or in the same square as the hedgerow? Or does where the wall is not matter too much?
The wall must be under the hedge. But it can be in the same tile or the tile aside...
I'll check that.
GottaLove88s wrote:BA repairs the hedgerow and wall when it shows the replay to the MP opponent (so the opponent sees the explosion, but then sees repaired hedgerow/walls)
So the following German turn, the Hedgerow/Wall that were just demolished are back in position again.
But the marsh is still marsh. How weird is that?
Sounds like as my problem with complex carrier. :|
MP works strangely...
“Take care, my friend; watch your six, and do one more roll… just for me.”

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Sun Mar 17, 2013 12:32 pm

Amaris wrote:
GottaLove88s wrote:BA repairs the hedgerow and wall when it shows the replay to the MP opponent (so the opponent sees the explosion, but then sees repaired hedgerow/walls)
So the following German turn, the Hedgerow/Wall that were just demolished are back in position again.
But the marsh is still marsh. How weird is that?
Sounds like as my problem with complex carrier. :|
MP works strangely...
Hmmm... I was worried that, that might be the case...

But it doesn't seem to be as as simple as "you cannot code to change objects because the MP map will always put them back" because it will let us place and remove tank traps... So, there has to be a solution in there somewhere... I've posted something for Pip to see... If it's not obvious, maybe we should sleep on it?

You're sure right, BA MP does seem to work in mysterious ways...
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Sun Mar 17, 2013 12:34 pm

Also I believe Enric has developed a mod where Rhino Shermans can remove hedgerow... But I'm not sure how he does it...?
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

Amaris
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:08 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by Amaris » Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:35 pm

GottaLove88s wrote:Also I believe Enric has developed a mod where Rhino Shermans can remove hedgerow... But I'm not sure how he does it...?
I looked at his code.
Very similar. :P

And I think I understand what the MP problem, or rather how the MP works. :P
Well I need to rewrite a lot of stuff.
But I hope that it works.
“Take care, my friend; watch your six, and do one more roll… just for me.”

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:57 pm

Amaris wrote:
GottaLove88s wrote:Also I believe Enric has developed a mod where Rhino Shermans can remove hedgerow... But I'm not sure how he does it...?
I looked at his code.
Very similar. :P

And I think I understand what the MP problem, or rather how the MP works. :P
Well I need to rewrite a lot of stuff.
But I hope that it works.
Your coding similarity would be the Great Minds thinking alike, lol...

Glad you've figured out, MP! :-)
Sorry you have to re-write a lot of code. :-(
Fingers crossed it works. If it does, it will be AWESOME!! :shock:
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:58 pm

When... Not If...

I'm a Believer!
:mrgreen:
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

jcb989
Colonel - Fallschirmjäger
Colonel - Fallschirmjäger
Posts: 1418
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 12:02 am
Location: Bradenton, Florida

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by jcb989 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 9:28 pm

Once again I am blown away by both the game's edit-ability and your guys skills to do it. Makes us real-live engineers jealous. lol.
Great work,

GottaLove88s
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Palau

Re: Adding new functionality to engineers...?

Post by GottaLove88s » Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:05 pm

Salut Amaris,
If it's not too much trouble, please add "Burn" to remove all Dune Grass, High Corn or Tall Corn objects from the square that the engineer is in...
Same icon as the one to demolish hedgerow/walls...
:-)
SCENARIO LINKS
Seelow'45 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=313&t=55132
Normandy'44 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42094
Dieppe'42 -> www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=42347

Post Reply

Return to “Battle Academy : Modders Corner ”