Do Commanders block Artillery shooting ?

Moderators: Slitherine Core, FOGR Design

Post Reply
Polkovnik
Major - Jagdpanther
Major - Jagdpanther
Posts: 1004
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:16 pm

Do Commanders block Artillery shooting ?

Post by Polkovnik » Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:31 pm

Simple question - do Commanders block LOS for Artillery, or can they be shot through in the same way as LF ?

quackstheking
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
Posts: 844
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:41 pm
Location: Hertfordshire, England

Re: Do Commanders block Artillery shooting ?

Post by quackstheking » Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:54 pm

They don't block LOS - they are only markers not stands.

Don

ravenflight
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am

Re: Do Commanders block Artillery shooting ?

Post by ravenflight » Tue Jun 04, 2013 9:43 pm

quackstheking wrote:They don't block LOS - they are only markers not stands.

Don
Yeah... right... Tell that to the commander with artillery shells buzzing around his head :)

Polkovnik
Major - Jagdpanther
Major - Jagdpanther
Posts: 1004
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:16 pm

Re: Do Commanders block Artillery shooting ?

Post by Polkovnik » Wed Jun 05, 2013 5:33 pm

quackstheking wrote:They don't block LOS - they are only markers not stands.
Where can I find that in the rules ?

quackstheking
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
Posts: 844
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:41 pm
Location: Hertfordshire, England

Re: Do Commanders block Artillery shooting ?

Post by quackstheking » Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:07 am

On p.108 it covers what blocks Line of Sight - these being (1) Terrain that would block LOS and (2) Friendly TROOPS etc.

Commanders are not considered to be troops ( see definitions on p.26-29) and their bases represent just the commander and a few of his aides ( see 1st bullet p.69).

Hope this helps.

Don

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”