Detching Shot from 5+1 BGs

Moderators: Slitherine Core, FOGR Design

Post Reply
steads
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 3:00 pm
Location: UK

Detching Shot from 5+1 BGs

Post by steads » Wed Jul 08, 2015 11:59 pm

If I decide to detach 3 shot from each of two 5+1 BG to form a 6 base all shot BG I am left with 4 Shot bases and 2 Pike bases. Normally I would expect this to be arranged as a standard 6 Pack thus:-
SPS
SPS

But on page 183 it states that "Composite battle groups cannot adopt a formation with pike deeper than they would have been in the original battle groups unless all the shot have been detached." which would suggest that the centre file of 2 deep pike was illegal.
The other configurations that I can come up with all seem to be illegal according to page 33 1st Bullet point.
Thus:-
_PP_
SSSS

and:-
S__S
SPPS

are both illegal as they are not "2 ranks deep if there is more than one pike base".

It would make sense to me that they would form up as a normal 6 pack but what would the list checkers/umpires expect?
Comments please
Stephen

kevinj
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2379
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:21 am
Location: Derbyshire, UK

Re: Detching Shot from 5+1 BGs

Post by kevinj » Thu Jul 09, 2015 6:37 am

I looked into this a while back because someone else wanted to do it and came to the same conclusions. I think if you want to detach shot from an all 1+5 army you'll need 8 P&S units. Then you can detach shot from 4 of them, giving you 2x6 and 1x8 shot and 1x4 pike. The pike can then form up deeper than 1 base because all their shot have been detached.

ravenflight
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am

Re: Detching Shot from 5+1 BGs

Post by ravenflight » Thu Jul 09, 2015 11:11 am

kevinj wrote:I looked into this a while back because someone else wanted to do it and came to the same conclusions. I think if you want to detach shot from an all 1+5 army you'll need 8 P&S units. Then you can detach shot from 4 of them, giving you 2x6 and 1x8 shot and 1x4 pike. The pike can then form up deeper than 1 base because all their shot have been detached.
This

steads
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 3:00 pm
Location: UK

Re: Detching Shot from 5+1 BGs

Post by steads » Fri Jul 10, 2015 10:48 am

This?

Schnockel
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 5:56 am

Re: Detching Shot from 5+1 BGs

Post by Schnockel » Tue Jul 14, 2015 12:03 am

Why not place them thusly:

SSS
PSP

?

hood_mick
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:00 am
Location: Rotherham, South Yorkshire.

Re: Detching Shot from 5+1 BGs

Post by hood_mick » Tue Jul 14, 2015 6:38 am

Because it is not a legal formation. For pike and shot.

Leganes
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 9:27 am

Re: Detching Shot from 5+1 BGs

Post by Leganes » Tue Jul 14, 2015 9:08 am

Some WOGA armies were 1/4 pike perhaps like this
SSSS
SPPS

Is that allowed

kevinj
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2379
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:21 am
Location: Derbyshire, UK

Re: Detching Shot from 5+1 BGs

Post by kevinj » Tue Jul 14, 2015 9:39 am

I can't think of any lists that allow BGs of 6 shot and 2 pike bases. However, P33 is clear that the pike bases must be at least 2 ranks deep if there is more than one base, so that formation would not be legal

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”