Page 4 of 12

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 4:55 pm
by Diplomaticus
Thanks, Paul. The fix seems to do the trick.

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:42 pm
by pk867
Cool.

No Rail Movement in Norway afar DoW by Axis

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:55 am
by amcdonel
Playing a game in RC16a.

I am Allies. Norway was just DoW'ed by the Axis at the beginning of the turn. I tried to rail my remote GAR to reinforce Oslo - the were unable to rail. In fact, none of the three GAR in Norway could rail. The GARs can move -- just not rail. UK GAR able to sail into Norway port successfully.

Screenshot and game file available as needed.

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:59 am
by Peter Stauffenberg
A surprised country (i. e. suffering efficiency loss) can't rail on the first turn they're surprised.

So if you DoW Norway while the weather is fair in Norway the Norwegians can't rail the first turn. If you invade Norway when the weather in Norway is mud or winter then you can rail on the first turn since surprise can only happen if the weather is fair.

So next turn you should be able to rail the Norwegians.

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:49 pm
by Schnurri
I've held NA now for about five turns and can't use the rail system for some reason (Axis). I hold all of the North African ports and rail depots and have for some time. They all show black for the rail.

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 9:23 pm
by Diplomaticus
Schnurri wrote:I've held NA now for about five turns and can't use the rail system for some reason (Axis). I hold all of the North African ports and rail depots and have for some time. They all show black for the rail.
Did you connect these cities by seizing land hexes between them?

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 9:30 pm
by Schnurri
Yep all linked up.

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:08 am
by Peter Stauffenberg
Do you have control of Algiers? You need Algiers to control the rail network. If yes, can you send the save game to me?

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:12 am
by Schnurri
Stauffenberg wrote:Do you have control of Algiers? You need Algiers to control the rail network. If yes, can you send the save game to me?
Yes, I have control of all ports and depots. I'll have to wait til tomorrow to get another turn and take another look then I'll send it off tomorrow. Don't think it is due to being in rough terrain as I've tried moving for several turns.

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 6:03 pm
by Peter Stauffenberg
I found the bug and fixed it. The reason was that Morocco was given to Spain when they joined the Axis. I had only tested for Vichy French and Free French territory belonging to the French North African rail network. I added Spain south of hexrow 56. That includes Tangiers and Morocco if Spain joins the Axis.

This just proves the importance of playtesting from start so we can catch special situations. Thanks for finding and reporting the bug. :)

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 4:35 pm
by Schnurri
I'm Allies and the Germans have taken Suez and on into Iraq. I transported a CORPS to Bandar Pahvlavi and then hoped to rail it to the front but there is no rail available. Remnants of the rebellion partisans control a few rail depot but I control Baghdad, Basra and Tehran. Is this a bug or is there some reason I can't rail anywhere?

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 6:10 pm
by Peter Stauffenberg
Send me your save game. I tried a new game and it's possible for the Allies to rail to/from Bandar Pahlavi, despite it's a mountain hex.

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 5:02 pm
by dagtwo
In couple of battles against the AI I have captured the Caucasus but never got the narrow rail to move my units back out. On the latest occasion I control all the cities (Batumi, Tblisi and Baku) and have waited but no changeover. Am I missing something or is this a bug?

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 8:22 pm
by Peter Stauffenberg
It takes a long time for the standard gauge to reach the cities in the Caucasus. The rail conversion moves 2 hexes per turn in fair weather. They start at the border so they need many turns to get all the way to Batumi. You can look at the map and check where the rail heads are.

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:02 pm
by Schnurri
Finally been able to replicate an intermittent bug - on the first Axis turn, just after DOW against Poland the southernmost FTR dissappears. I think I've seen a GAR disappear previously but seen the FTR several times but never captured a screenshot before. Have to restart game and then everything is fine. Probably not a big issue but would be nice to see why it happens and be able to ensure other units don't disappear later in the game - I always feel like that has happened but it is difficult to be sure.

Image

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:38 pm
by Blathergut
If you click/select the hex it should be in, does it show in the info panel at bottom?

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:42 pm
by Schnurri
Haven't done any testing with that. This is on a Mac. Will have to wait for it to happen again. I also find if you upgrade the Slovak corp to an FJR you don't see anything except the small flag.

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:57 pm
by amcdonel
Schnurri wrote:Haven't done any testing with that. This is on a Mac. Will have to wait for it to happen again. I also find if you upgrade the Slovak corp to an FJR you don't see anything except the small flag.
I have seen it only MAC also. But I was never really sure if it was one of the many changes. Rarely happened - so I was not sure I was really seeing it.

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:14 pm
by Schnurri
Good to hear I'm not crazy.

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:44 pm
by Schnurri
Italian Surrender bug?

It is May 1944 - Britain has control of all of NA (2 surrender cities) and then they paradrop into Reggio and Turin giving them 4 total surrender cities (does Reggio still count?). They surrender. Don't they need to have five cities under the new rules? Forgot to mention he also holds Caligiari - does that count towards the five?