Switchable Units

A forum to discuss custom scenarios, campaigns and modding in general.

Moderators: Slitherine Core, Panzer Corps Moderators, Panzer Corps Design

Post Reply
Ralle
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:52 pm

Switchable Units

Post by Ralle » Thu Jan 16, 2020 11:58 pm

I made AA switchable to Art for support fire, after Ai air is gone.
I also made a mountaineer switchable to Art for support for my normal mountaineers.
If I now make a mountaineer AA...so switch between Inf and AA...can I make that switch to Art, too?
So a threeway unit?

dalfrede
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Posts: 618
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 7:48 pm

Re: Switchable Units

Post by dalfrede » Fri Jan 17, 2020 12:15 am

Yes one can make a trimode unit.
You have to give one mode the trait 'primary', this is necessary!

The other two should have 'nopurchase' trait, this is optional, keeps your purchase screen cleaner.
Although not having it gives more upgrade paths.

Edit:
viewtopic.php?f=147&t=37490&hilit=switc ... t&start=20
There comes a time on every project when it is time to shoot the engineer and ship the damn thing.

Ralle
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:52 pm

Re: Switchable Units

Post by Ralle » Fri Jan 17, 2020 12:28 am

Alright. As mountain AA there shouldn`t be too much Upgrades... A n 88 makes no sense in that case. Thanks.

cw58
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 9:44 pm

Re: Switchable Units

Post by cw58 » Fri Jan 17, 2020 2:52 am

dalfrede wrote:
Fri Jan 17, 2020 12:15 am
Yes one can make a trimode unit.
You have to give one mode the trait 'primary', this is necessary!

The other two should have 'nopurchase' trait, this is optional, keeps your purchase screen cleaner.
Although not having it gives more upgrade paths.

Edit:
viewtopic.php?f=147&t=37490&hilit=switc ... t&start=20
Dalfrede is correct about the primary trait. However, if you give "nopurchase" to both the 2nd and 3rd switches, the game will crash. I recommend giving the second unit "nopurchase" and then changing the availability date to one day only for the 3rd unit, e.g. 01.01.1950-01.01.1950. This would keep your purchase screen cleaner as Dalfrede has suggested.

There is a discussion from Phcas' mod about this exact problem; about halfway down the page.

viewtopic.php?f=147&t=92787&p=804576&hi ... se#p804576

Ralle
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:52 pm

Re: Switchable Units

Post by Ralle » Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:19 am

Thanks. I already had Problems and didn`t really know why. Now it works.

Ralle
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:52 pm

Re: Switchable Units

Post by Ralle » Fri Jan 17, 2020 12:01 pm

Well. I thought it works but somehow not.
Could someone enlighten me please?
These are the three lines:
1743 2 cm GebFlaK 5 144 20 0 1 1 2 5 -6 -2 13 -1 2 10 0 0 0 Flakvierling.png 27.5.1939 31.12.1946 4 12 primary alpine FlaK 1743 land sea rail air glider
1744 2 cm GebFlaK 4 144 20 0 1 1 1 5 6 3 -13 -1 2 10 0 0 0 Flakvierling_AT.png 27.5.1939 31.12.1946 4 12 nopurchase alpine FlaK 1744 land sea rail air glider
1745 GebFlaKträger 0 127 6 0 3 2 0 2 5 1 0 1 7 18 2 0 0 Gebirgsjager.png 27.5.1939 28.5.1939 8 11 alpine close Mnt 1743 land sea rail air glider

I just can`t see it...though it must something simple.

guille1434
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2334
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 5:32 pm

Re: Switchable Units

Post by guille1434 » Fri Jan 17, 2020 4:41 pm

Hello Ralle:

It looks like you put incorrect values for the "switch" column in the first two entries:
- In the line number 1743, you should write 1744 in the switch column.
- In the line number 1744, you should write 1745 in the switch column.

Besides, I think it should be correct to put the same prestige cost value for the three variants of the same unit.

This should do the trick. Greetings.

Ralle
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:52 pm

Re: Switchable Units

Post by Ralle » Fri Jan 17, 2020 5:20 pm

Like this:
1743 2 cm GebFlaK 5 144 20 0 1 1 2 5 -6 -2 13 -1 2 10 0 0 0 Flakvierling.png 27.5.1939 31.12.1946 4 12 primary alpine FlaK 1744 land sea rail air glider
1744 2 cm GebFlaK 4 144 20 0 1 1 1 5 6 3 -13 -1 2 10 0 0 0 Flakvierling_AT.png 27.5.1939 31.12.1946 4 12 nopurchase alpine FK 1745 land sea rail air glider
1745 GebFlaKträger 0 127 6 0 3 2 0 2 5 1 0 1 7 18 2 0 0 Gebirgsjager.png 27.5.1939 28.5.1939 8 11 alpine close Mnt 1743 land sea rail air glider

Ralle
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:52 pm

Re: Switchable Units

Post by Ralle » Fri Jan 17, 2020 5:21 pm

Well yes...but Unit stat will be made when the unit itself is working...

Ralle
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:52 pm

Re: Switchable Units

Post by Ralle » Fri Jan 17, 2020 5:35 pm

Stupid me...now it`s running fine.
somtimes it`s the litte Things.....
Thanks dude

guille1434
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2334
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 5:32 pm

Re: Switchable Units

Post by guille1434 » Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:20 pm

No problem... Happy you could squash the bug and glad to help! :-)

Ralle
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:52 pm

Re: Switchable Units

Post by Ralle » Sat Jan 18, 2020 4:18 pm

And the problem in here...probabaly more or less the same...

1747 LL.Art. 4 140 7 0 3 2 0 4 6 1 0 1 8 17 2 0 0 7,5_cm_FK:16_nA.png 1.1.1939 31.12.1946 3 bonus para close fortkiller minekiller Para 1746 land sea rail air glider
1746 LL.Artträger 0 140 7 0 3 2 0 4 6 1 0 1 8 17 2 0 0 Fallshirmjager.png 1.1.1939 31.12.1946 3 bonus para close fortkiller minekiller 1747 Para land sea rail air glider

cw58
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 9:44 pm

Re: Switchable Units

Post by cw58 » Sun Jan 19, 2020 1:56 am

First unit needs a "primary" trait, second unit needs "nopurchase".

And I'm not sure why you have a 2nd "Para" in each line.

Ralle
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:52 pm

Re: Switchable Units

Post by Ralle » Sun Jan 19, 2020 6:53 am

Like that?

1747 LL.Art. 4 140 7 0 3 2 0 4 6 1 0 1 8 17 2 0 0 7,5_cm_FK:16_nA.png 1.1.1939 31.12.1946 3 bonus primary para close fortkiller minekiller 1746 Para land sea rail air glider
1746 LL.Artträger 0 140 7 0 3 2 0 4 6 1 0 1 8 17 2 0 0 Fallshirmjager.png 1.1.1939 31.12.1946 3 bonus nopurchase para close fortkiller minekiller 1747 Para land sea rail air glider

Second Para is just the series names...

cw58
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 9:44 pm

Re: Switchable Units

Post by cw58 » Sun Jan 19, 2020 2:50 pm

Yes, the "primary" and "nopurchase" are correct. Now I understand about the 2nd "Para" but the series names should be before the switch numbers (1746,1747), not after. See example below. Are you using notepad to edit your file or a spreadsheet program?

6 Kavallerie 39 0 135 6 0 5 3 0 1 5 1 0 1 4 11 2 0 0 ger_Cav.png 29.04.1939 31.12.1946 9 primary minekiller reconmove Cavalry 6025 sea rail
6025 Kavallerie 39 0 135 6 0 2 2 0 1 5 1 0 1 6 14 2 0 0 ger_Cav_dismount.png 29.04.1939 31.12.1946 3 nopurchase minekiller Cavalry 6 sea rail

Post Reply

Return to “Panzer Corps : Scenario Design”