How do you get the game to work in Windowed mode?

PSP/DS/PC/MAC : WWII turn based grand strategy game

Moderators: firepowerjohan, rkr1958, Happycat, Slitherine Core

Post Reply
OxfordGuy3
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:32 pm
Location: Oxford, UK

How do you get the game to work in Windowed mode?

Post by OxfordGuy3 » Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:09 am

I can't seem to get the game working in windowed mode in GS 3.0, I have tried to achieve this my setting this line:

WINDOWED_MODE 1

I have set this in *all* the config files I could find:

GS300_settings.txt
GS210_settings.txt
settings.txt

But the game still always opens in full screen mode

I've also tried starting the game using "SlithLaunch" and *not* checking full screen mode.

I'm running the game under Windows 7 and have the game installed in c:\matrix\commander europe at war gold

NB: this is from a fresh install of CEAW 1.12 with GS 3.0 installed on top

It works fine in full-screen mode

Any ideas? Thanks

OxfordGuy3
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:32 pm
Location: Oxford, UK

Re: How do you get the game to work in Windowed mode?

Post by OxfordGuy3 » Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:12 am

Doh! I've just realised you can set it using an in-game option... Is it possible to set the size of the window somehow or is it fixed at 1024 x 768?

richardsd
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 5:30 am

Re: How do you get the game to work in Windowed mode?

Post by richardsd » Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:25 am

oxford_guy wrote:Doh! I've just realised you can set it using an in-game option... Is it possible to set the size of the window somehow or is it fixed at 1024 x 768?
fixed essentially

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4706
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: How do you get the game to work in Windowed mode?

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:32 am

Fixed resolution is one of the biggest disadvantages of the Java engine that CEAW was built with.

OxfordGuy3
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:32 pm
Location: Oxford, UK

Re: How do you get the game to work in Windowed mode?

Post by OxfordGuy3 » Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:34 pm

Okay, never mind, I can live with it. I used to play CEAW up to about 4/5 years ago, but forgot about this limitation, just remembered the great gameplay and the GS 3.0 release has encouraged me to return to the fold.

Skanvak
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 315
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 9:45 pm

Re: How do you get the game to work in Windowed mode?

Post by Skanvak » Wed Mar 19, 2014 3:23 pm

I am looking hard, but very hard and I don't find the option to run the game in windows mode. Can someone explain it to me with screenshot may be.
I have bought the game a week ago and don't understand if I launch the vanilla or the GS 3.00 (though the game screen indicate 3.00 on upper left and CEAW 1.12 GS 3.00 on lower right).

I really want to launch the game in windows mode please.
Best regards,


Skanvak

OxfordGuy3
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:32 pm
Location: Oxford, UK

Re: How do you get the game to work in Windowed mode?

Post by OxfordGuy3 » Wed Mar 19, 2014 4:11 pm

Skanvak wrote:I am looking hard, but very hard and I don't find the option to run the game in windows mode. Can someone explain it to me with screenshot may be.
I have bought the game a week ago and don't understand if I launch the vanilla or the GS 3.00 (though the game screen indicate 3.00 on upper left and CEAW 1.12 GS 3.00 on lower right).

I really want to launch the game in windows mode please.
You have to start a game, it's one of the options available. You can also change this at any point in the game by going to the options screen when you've loaded a game. I've yet to figure out how to make the game always start in windowed mode, though

Skanvak
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 315
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 9:45 pm

Re: How do you get the game to work in Windowed mode?

Post by Skanvak » Wed Mar 19, 2014 5:19 pm

I got it (finally), thnaks. But the windows mode cannot be moved around? it must stick in the upper left conner? I understand the people that want to have the windows mode full screen. I would be happy if I can move the windows around though. May be I missed something?

OxfordGuy3
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:32 pm
Location: Oxford, UK

Re: How do you get the game to work in Windowed mode?

Post by OxfordGuy3 » Wed Mar 19, 2014 5:33 pm

Skanvak wrote:I got it (finally), thnaks. But the windows mode cannot be moved around? it must stick in the upper left conner? I understand the people that want to have the windows mode full screen. I would be happy if I can move the windows around though. May be I missed something?
I've not been able to have it anything but fixed :-(

Skanvak
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 315
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 9:45 pm

Re: How do you get the game to work in Windowed mode?

Post by Skanvak » Wed Mar 19, 2014 7:15 pm

it is indeed awkward to play it in its present state. I hope they could do something (either make the windows movable either make the size of the windows full screen with the smae graphics, it will be small but not distorded.).

OxfordGuy3
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:32 pm
Location: Oxford, UK

Re: How do you get the game to work in Windowed mode?

Post by OxfordGuy3 » Wed Mar 19, 2014 7:37 pm

Skanvak wrote:it is indeed awkward to play it in its present state. I hope they could do something (either make the windows movable either make the size of the windows full screen with the smae graphics, it will be small but not distorded.).
It's my main bugbear with the game, but I'm prepared to put up with it, because it's an excellent game!

Rasputitsa
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 10:58 am

Re: How do you get the game to work in Windowed mode?

Post by Rasputitsa » Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:02 am

I find playing in windowed mode very useful, even though the CEaW game screen is offset, as it leaves screen space to open a 'Notepad' window, which can be used to make notes and record the game action. With 20 day turns it's critical not to forget to carry out actions, or to compete plans set up in previous turns, etc.. You can also access the Manual and Game Brochures as you play, which can be very helpful. :D
Attachments
CEaW screen.jpg
CEaW screen.jpg (77.96 KiB) Viewed 1131 times

Post Reply

Return to “MILITARY HISTORY™ Commander - Europe at War : General Discussion”