Commander Europe at War Patch 1.06 Released!

PSP/DS/PC/MAC : WWII turn based grand strategy game

Moderators: firepowerjohan, Happycat, rkr1958, Slitherine Core

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13507
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Commander Europe at War Patch 1.06 Released!

Post by IainMcNeil » Mon Mar 17, 2008 12:23 pm

We're pleased to announce that the beta version has been tested improved and is ready for final release as version 1.06. There are so many great improvements that we're sure you're going to love it.

The patch can be download from: http://www.slitherine.com/files/ceaw/pa ... _v1.06.exe

Please note this patch is for the digital download Slitherine English version only. All other patches will be coming soon from the respective publishers. We've just finished them and they are uploading now!


Patch 1.06 Features

Performance
• Frame rate has been increased by ~30% when moving units!
• Improved loading times
• Selecting units on map is faster

General
• Units can now exit the transportation loops placed on the loop hex itself, in case all the adjacent hexes are occupied. Subs that do this become instantly visible on the map to prevent exploits when placing hidden subs on loop hex and blocking it
• Convoys and transports no longer receive experience
• Bristol has been replaced by Cardiff and positioned one hex NW, and it gets a Sea Port
• Sub technology difficulty is now 15 instead of 20
• It is no longer possible to view enemy units max tech level
• Naval units now have Zone of Control (ZOC) penalty that increases the movement cost by 4MP per hex in a ZOC
• UK convoys now reroute to Canada as soon as London falls to Axis
• Syria when Annexed by UK now starts with a corps, a fighter and a battleship
• Research progress % is now shown more precisely i.e. for each 1% reached
• Garrison units can no longer be transported at Sea
• Air units now gain as much experience as normal units, not halved as before


Bugs
• Fixed where experience icons did not appear in non English versions.
• Fixed allowing tactical bombers, fighters and carriers to sneak peak on a enemy unit in the fog of war, hiding on a resource hex
• Fixed fog of war being off for transports under certain conditions
• Fixed fog of war where subs could still spot from their previous location after the convoy move started

Multiplayer
• Fixed reassigning a leader not working on both machines
• Fixed sub surprise attack combined with unloading convoy cargo was not completed in the correct sequence
• Fixed a unit was stacked on the same hex bumping into sub and client+host did not resolve same combat
• Fixed RANDOM_ENTRY was not the same on both machines
• Fixed the wrong leader was sometimes recruited on the other machine




Data File Changes
General
• Upgrade Minimum Cost - decreased 4->3
• Africa Loop Turns - decreased 2->1
• Allies Winter Suffer - decreased 2->1
• Efficiency Regain - Increased 130->145
• Efficiency Loss Casualty Factor - decreased 55->45
• Efficiency Loss From Unload - increased 12->15
• Efficiency Loss Lack Supply - increased 3->10
• Commander Reassign Cost - increased 2->7
• Max Labs - decreased 13->10

Technology
• Switched Infantry fixed defences L2 with L3, giving corps more early benefits
• BB now get ASW advances on L2, L4, L6 so a bit later than before
• BB and DD now misses L3 surface ships instead of L5.
• Armour is now +1 surv, +2 surv , +1 grddef, +1 surv, +1 grddef, +2 surv
• Infantry AT is now +1, +1, +1, +1, +1, +1
• Tank Destroyer is now +1, +1, +1, +1, +1,
• Strategic Operations L3 now give land spotting +2 instead of +1
• Industry tech is more powerful +10, +10, +10, +6, +4 instead of +7,+6,+5,+4,+3
• Organisation tech difficulty changed from 55->50
• Strategic Operations L1 now gives some extra movement

Terrain
• Capital Attack Efficiency now 65%
• Sea Port Attack Efficiency now 50%

Unit
• Air units now have land spotting 5 instead of 4
• Transports now have movement 17 instead of 14
• Subs now have land spotting 0
• sub,DD,BB cost -10
• strategic bomber cost -5
• tactical bomber cost +5
• carrier +1 naval combat
• Air units now have slightly more movement

Scenarios:
• In 1939, 1940, 1941 USSR has more armour and less corps around the Urals and their air units no longer start near the front line
• In 1939, Egypt starts as a separate country who joins the Allies in 1940, which effectively limits UK forces from moving out of Egypt and leaving it empty
• In 1939, France start with more Garrisons (Lyon, Cherbourg, Brest)
• In 1939, German starting PP is now 20 instead of 60
• UK and France start with 5% higher war effort
• UK Sub replaced by a Battleship
• In 1939, 1940 Italy starts with a fighter near Rome instead of a Tactical Bomber up north
• French sub removed
• USSR off-map production reduced slightly in all scenarios


Map:
• Belfast is added as UK city on Ireland.
• USSR cities redistributed so that Stalingrad is worth more and some eastern cities worth less.
• Bergen Sea Port worth less, Iron Ore Route worth more
• Hex (78, 6) now Rough, Hex (78, 7) now Mountain
• Norway Iron Ore Route is removed and its production value is put into Oslo city instead
• Palermo is now a Fort instead of City
Last edited by IainMcNeil on Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4710
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:00 pm

Great. :) I look forward to trying it out. Is the v1.06 editor ready for download too or can we use the v1.04 editor to edit the v1.06 game?

firepowerjohan
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1878
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Contact:

Post by firepowerjohan » Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:06 pm

Stauffenberg wrote:Great. :) I look forward to trying it out. Is the v1.06 editor ready for download too or can we use the v1.04 editor to edit the v1.06 game?
1.04 Editor will work :)
Johan Persson - Firepower Entertainment
Lead Developer of CEAW, CNAW and World Empires Live (http://www.worldempireslive.com)

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4710
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:13 pm

Hurrah. :) I will start upgrading Happycat's and my mod to v1.06 today.

joe98
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 11:11 pm

Post by joe98 » Tue Mar 18, 2008 4:41 am

I always thought in a PBEM game that the Axis have no hope of victory.

The changes above seem to favour the Allies. I don't see a balance in the changes.

-

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4710
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:40 am

What is a balanced game? For me a balanced game is a game that can recreate the historical events. So if I play against an opponent of the same level as me then I think the game is balanced if the Axis loses Berlin in about May 1945.

I won't call a game balanced if I play against a good opponent and I can knock out Russia in 1942 or 1943 as the Axis. Then the game is tilted in favour of the Axis.

I don't want a CeaW where Germany will win by conquest 50% of the times. Then it's not historical at all. I think the Germans should have a slight chance of doing this, especially if the Allies blunder. But normally the Allies should get the initiative at the end of 1942 and push the Germans back towards Berlin. I would think the Germans in CeaW have won a moral victory if they're still alive in May 1945. Then they did better than the real Germans did.

I believe CeaW is balanced in the way I want. It means the Allies will eventually defeat the Axis unless they make serious mistakes, but they may not make it to Berlin until the game ends.

Ryben
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Spain

Post by Ryben » Tue Mar 18, 2008 2:31 pm

Yes , i like that tha Axis "win" by keeping Berlin in 1945.

I don´t really want to conquer Russia and UK and, eventually, win the war with the Axis. I find much more enjoyable replay history but leaving a chance to avoid a total defeat. I always play as the Axis as i find the Allied campaign too easy to win once you have the resources to invade Europe.

I would enjoy Axis campaign even more if italy would be threatened by an invasion...thing that never happens, sadly.

firepowerjohan
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1878
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Contact:

Post by firepowerjohan » Tue Mar 18, 2008 4:29 pm

Good news then is that, Axis only need to hold Berlin and Rome until 45 to get a draw, if they hold Paris also they get a win. But it sure is hard to hold on the hordes of enemies once you lose terrain and economy so the collaps has to be postponed as long as possible in order to manage it :)
Johan Persson - Firepower Entertainment
Lead Developer of CEAW, CNAW and World Empires Live (http://www.worldempireslive.com)

Kuz
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 6:41 pm

Post by Kuz » Wed Mar 19, 2008 1:48 pm

With regards to convoy's what happens in 106 if Halifax is also captured? I've had really strange situations occur in ver 104 where england and Halifax were captured but Ottawa was still Allied controlled and convoy's rerouted to gibralter.

Rolle3
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 5:14 pm

Post by Rolle3 » Wed Mar 19, 2008 2:13 pm

Hi!

where is Matrix patch? I have waited in 2 days and still nothing. :x

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13507
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Post by IainMcNeil » Wed Mar 19, 2008 3:07 pm

It was sent to them on Monday, but they have had some technical problems with mail so I am sure it will be up soon.

Panzer987
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:48 pm

Post by Panzer987 » Wed Mar 19, 2008 3:53 pm

OK. I don't know what is happening with v1.06, but it seems to be failing on my computer. First off, it doesn't jive with my Vista and I keep getting some weirdo message about my Vista being reset to "basic" (???). Then, it seem to run fine when loading, but as soon as I enter a game, the whole thing freezes. I've had this problem periodically in the old versions, but it could be avoided by saving my game every hour or so. However, in v1.06 I can't even make 3 moves before it freezes my system. Not only that, the game map seems to jump all over the place. If I try to move my view slightly east, I wind up in Ottawa. Is this a possible problem with this version, or is this likely an issue with my own system?

Strangely, when I was running 1.05 beta I had no problems. Therefore, I'm going back to 1.05 to see if it cures my problems.

firepowerjohan
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1878
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Contact:

Post by firepowerjohan » Wed Mar 19, 2008 4:30 pm

Panzer987 wrote:OK. I don't know what is happening with v1.06, but it seems to be failing on my computer. First off, it doesn't jive with my Vista and I keep getting some weirdo message about my Vista being reset to "basic" (???). Then, it seem to run fine when loading, but as soon as I enter a game, the whole thing freezes. I've had this problem periodically in the old versions, but it could be avoided by saving my game every hour or so. However, in v1.06 I can't even make 3 moves before it freezes my system. Not only that, the game map seems to jump all over the place. If I try to move my view slightly east, I wind up in Ottawa. Is this a possible problem with this version, or is this likely an issue with my own system?

Strangely, when I was running 1.05 beta I had no problems. Therefore, I'm going back to 1.05 to see if it cures my problems.
Do u mean that the game loads, you see the main menu but when you start a hotseat or new game it freezes after map is seen? I am just guessing, trying to find out what happens on your machine ;)
Johan Persson - Firepower Entertainment
Lead Developer of CEAW, CNAW and World Empires Live (http://www.worldempireslive.com)

syagrius
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:04 pm

Post by syagrius » Wed Mar 19, 2008 6:52 pm

The Matrix patch has arrived. Will play CEAW tonight!

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8977
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Post by pipfromslitherine » Wed Mar 19, 2008 7:00 pm

Panzer987 wrote:OK. I don't know what is happening with v1.06, but it seems to be failing on my computer. First off, it doesn't jive with my Vista and I keep getting some weirdo message about my Vista being reset to "basic" (???). Then, it seem to run fine when loading, but as soon as I enter a game, the whole thing freezes. I've had this problem periodically in the old versions, but it could be avoided by saving my game every hour or so. However, in v1.06 I can't even make 3 moves before it freezes my system. Not only that, the game map seems to jump all over the place. If I try to move my view slightly east, I wind up in Ottawa. Is this a possible problem with this version, or is this likely an issue with my own system?

Strangely, when I was running 1.05 beta I had no problems. Therefore, I'm going back to 1.05 to see if it cures my problems.
If Vista is sending you cryptic messages, then it is certainly possible that it's causing the lockups as well. Perhaps it has some problem with the updated EXE (e.g. with the EXE changing and thus it's a security problem) - maybe check you don't need to reset the admin mode for the game?

Rolle3
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 5:14 pm

Post by Rolle3 » Wed Mar 19, 2008 9:20 pm

ok Ian and your others, thanks for replays. :wink:

marand
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 9:09 pm

Re: Commander Europe at War Patch 1.06 Released!

Post by marand » Thu Mar 20, 2008 1:42 am

iainmcneil wrote: Technology
• Switched Infantry fixed defences L2 with L3, giving corps more early benefits
• BB now get ASW advances on L2, L4, L6 so a bit later than before
• BB and DD now misses L3 surface ships instead of L5.
• Infantry AT is now +1, +1, +2, +1, +1, +2
• Tank Destroyer is now +1, +2, +1, +2, +1,
• Strategic Operations L3 now give land spotting +2 instead of +1
• Industry tech is more powerful +9,+9,+9,+6,+5 instead of +7,+6,+5,+4,+3
• Organisation tech difficulty changed from 55->50
• Strategic Operations L1 now gives some extra movement
Actually the following is true:
Industry tech is now: +10 +10 +10 +6 +4
Infantry AT is now: +1 +1 +1 +1 +1 +1
Tank Destroyer is now: +1 +1 +1 +1 +1
Tank Armour is now changed so it gives less Surv on L4 and L6. +1 and +2 instead of +2 and +3.

For those of you who think that the Allied side is too strong... you just need to improve your strategy with Axis.
:wink:

firepowerjohan
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1878
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Contact:

Post by firepowerjohan » Thu Mar 20, 2008 10:44 am

Marand is correct so I edited the announcement now, there were some numbers that were not correct due to last minute tweaks.

A comment to them is, Survivability and Anti Tank Bonus for and against Armour units is now toned down a bit which means a old tank will not be crushed as easily as before and contrary a high tech tank wont be as dominating as before.

Furtermore, the industry changes now means you can in a long term game afford more areas to go for instead of super buying a few and leaving the rest.
Last edited by firepowerjohan on Thu Mar 20, 2008 12:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Johan Persson - Firepower Entertainment
Lead Developer of CEAW, CNAW and World Empires Live (http://www.worldempireslive.com)

Ryben
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Spain

Post by Ryben » Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:54 am

Any hints of when other versions patch will be available?

firepowerjohan
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1878
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Contact:

Post by firepowerjohan » Thu Mar 20, 2008 12:07 pm

Ryben wrote:Any hints of when other versions patch will be available?
That is up to the retail publishers so it can vary. They probably do some testing first so probably in a few days unless they have trouble.
Johan Persson - Firepower Entertainment
Lead Developer of CEAW, CNAW and World Empires Live (http://www.worldempireslive.com)

Post Reply

Return to “MILITARY HISTORY™ Commander - Europe at War : General Discussion”