Cavalry Attachment

Moderators: hammy, terrys, Blathergut, Slitherine Core, hammy, terrys, Blathergut, Slitherine Core

Post Reply
Scrumpy
Colonel - Fallschirmjäger
Colonel - Fallschirmjäger
Posts: 1423
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 7:27 pm
Location: NoVa

Cavalry Attachment

Post by Scrumpy » Thu Apr 12, 2012 7:12 pm

Does the cavalry within 6" rule applied to shooting dice count if the cavalry are an attachment, and do you measure the 6" range from the cavalry base, or the unit it is attached to in general ?

hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Re: Cavalry Attachment

Post by hazelbark » Thu Apr 12, 2012 7:59 pm

I would think yes and from the unit.

Blathergut
Field Marshal - Elefant
Field Marshal - Elefant
Posts: 5873
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada

Re: Cavalry Attachment

Post by Blathergut » Thu Apr 12, 2012 10:11 pm

This was the only benefit (as far as I can tell in the rules) for a cavalry attachment: to drive off enemy skirmishers. I would assume since they are not in any one spot particularly, that you would measure from the front of the unit.

mellis1644
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:40 pm

Re: Cavalry Attachment

Post by mellis1644 » Thu Apr 12, 2012 11:09 pm

The rules states the criteria that this applies on page 50. So the attachment only counts IF the attachment is any of the targeted units (even if assigned no dice is how I read it). Otherwise it does not count for this POA.

KendallB
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 416
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 9:01 pm
Location: North Shore, New Zealand

Re: Cavalry Attachment

Post by KendallB » Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:06 am

The cavalry attachment only reduces skirmishing fire coming in to the unit that has the attachment. Only cavalry UNITS can reduced skirmishing fire in a 6" radius.

hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Re: Cavalry Attachment

Post by hazelbark » Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:57 am

KendallB wrote:The cavalry attachment only reduces skirmishing fire coming in to the unit that has the attachment. Only cavalry UNITS can reduced skirmishing fire in a 6" radius.
Yes but for clarification. If an infantry unit with attachment is even partially the target then the shooter loses the dice.

So where C is a unit that has a cavalry attachment. Both 1 and 2 are effected by the reduction. 3 even withint 6 MU is not as it is not shooting at a unit even partially with a cavalry attachment.
1 __A
1__C
2__C
2__D
3__D
3

BrettPT
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Posts: 1266
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: Cavalry Attachment

Post by BrettPT » Fri Apr 13, 2012 4:08 am

You are correct hazelbark.

Scrumpy
Colonel - Fallschirmjäger
Colonel - Fallschirmjäger
Posts: 1423
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 7:27 pm
Location: NoVa

Re: Cavalry Attachment

Post by Scrumpy » Fri Apr 13, 2012 10:23 am

BrettPT wrote:You are correct hazelbark.

We try not to use those words over here in the former colonies, it only encourages the lad.

david53
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2859
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:01 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Cavalry Attachment

Post by david53 » Sat Apr 14, 2012 11:03 am

Scrumpy wrote:
BrettPT wrote:You are correct hazelbark.

We try not to use those words over here in the former colonies, it only encourages the lad.

He'll end up like Mr Ruddock :)

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”