9 posts • Page 1 of 1
Does the cavalry within 6" rule applied to shooting dice count if the cavalry are an attachment, and do you measure the 6" range from the cavalry base, or the unit it is attached to in general ?
- Field Marshal - Elefant
- Posts: 5873
- Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
- Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
This was the only benefit (as far as I can tell in the rules) for a cavalry attachment: to drive off enemy skirmishers. I would assume since they are not in any one spot particularly, that you would measure from the front of the unit.
The rules states the criteria that this applies on page 50. So the attachment only counts IF the attachment is any of the targeted units (even if assigned no dice is how I read it). Otherwise it does not count for this POA.
- Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
- Posts: 416
- Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 9:01 pm
- Location: North Shore, New Zealand
The cavalry attachment only reduces skirmishing fire coming in to the unit that has the attachment. Only cavalry UNITS can reduced skirmishing fire in a 6" radius.
- General - Carrier
- Posts: 4957
- Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
- Location: Capital of the World !!
Yes but for clarification. If an infantry unit with attachment is even partially the target then the shooter loses the dice.KendallB wrote:The cavalry attachment only reduces skirmishing fire coming in to the unit that has the attachment. Only cavalry UNITS can reduced skirmishing fire in a 6" radius.
So where C is a unit that has a cavalry attachment. Both 1 and 2 are effected by the reduction. 3 even withint 6 MU is not as it is not shooting at a unit even partially with a cavalry attachment.
Scrumpy wrote:BrettPT wrote:You are correct hazelbark.
We try not to use those words over here in the former colonies, it only encourages the lad.
He'll end up like Mr Ruddock