Passing Through Question - Hoping for a quick answer

Moderators: hammy, terrys, Blathergut, Slitherine Core

Post Reply
alcibiades
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:04 am
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Passing Through Question - Hoping for a quick answer

Post by alcibiades » Fri Apr 05, 2013 11:32 pm

Time is quickly approaching for the start of our second session with FoG-N and I'm hoping to get a clarification before the lads arrive because I know it's likely to be a bone of contention.

Specifically, CMT for passing through friends, p.41.

Passing through Skirmishers and Artillery is a simple move. Does that include situations where the Skirmishers or Artillery are from different commands than the unit passing through? Which condition has priority?

Thanks guys.

BrettPT
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Posts: 1266
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: Passing Through Question - Hoping for a quick answer

Post by BrettPT » Sat Apr 06, 2013 12:09 am

It depends on whether the interpenetration is in the movement phase, or while assaulting.

Movement Phase
This is covered on page 40. In summary:

1. Any troops can pass through any skirmishers or artillery without a CMT
2. Any troops can pass through any other troops in their division without a CMT
3. Other than (1) or (2) above, a CMT is required to pass through
4. In all circumstances, the unit being passed through cannot move (or change formation) in the movement phase.

Assault Phase
This is covered on page 28. In summary:

1. Any troops can assault through any artillery or infantry skirmishers
2. Any troops can assault through un-broken infantry from the same division
3. Other than above, you cannot pass through in an assault
4. In both (1) and (2) you need to pass a CMT to pass through in an assault
5. Impetuous troops that failed a CMT to hold will charge through any friends to assault, forcing a CT on the burst through units.
6. Intercept charges may not pass through any troops. It is not specific in the rules, however presumably neither can counter-charging troops pass through.

Think that's it...

Cheers
Brett

BrettPT
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Posts: 1266
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: Passing Through Question - Hoping for a quick answer

Post by BrettPT » Sat Apr 06, 2013 12:12 am

alcibiades wrote:Passing through Skirmishers and Artillery is a simple move. Does that include situations where the Skirmishers or Artillery are from different commands than the unit passing through?
Yes, in the movement phase. If assaulting through skirmishers/artillery, a CMT is needed (see my above post)

alcibiades
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:04 am
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Re: Passing Through Question - Hoping for a quick answer

Post by alcibiades » Sat Apr 06, 2013 12:47 am

Thanks Brett.

That's what I thought after looking at the QRS at the back of the book. And, my question was in respect to the movement phase rather than the assault phase.

One other question if I may.

In order to make a Brigade move must the commander start the movement phase with the unit or can he move to join one of the units and then make a Brigade move that same turn?
My mate and I scoured the rules during our first session and couldn't find an answer.

Cheers again guys.

Kent

BrettPT
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Posts: 1266
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: Passing Through Question - Hoping for a quick answer

Post by BrettPT » Sat Apr 06, 2013 1:34 am

He needs to start with the group. The brigade group must be led by a commander (pg 40) and if the commander moves to join the group then his move is over (ie he cannot then move with the group). So he must have started the movement phase in contact with the group.

Also relevant is that a commander must start and end the movement phase in contact with a unit if it is to benefit from the'free'commanders cp.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”