Artillery retire to 3 MU

Moderators: hammy, terrys, Blathergut, Slitherine Core, hammy, terrys, Blathergut, Slitherine Core

Post Reply
richafricanus
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 6:38 am
Location: Melbourne

Artillery retire to 3 MU

Post by richafricanus » Sun Feb 22, 2015 1:13 am

Do unlimbered Artillery forced to retire to 3MU as a result of taking 3 hits from firing limber and move or are they simply moved back, still unlimbered?

Blathergut
Field Marshal - Elefant
Field Marshal - Elefant
Posts: 5873
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada

Re: Artillery retire to 3 MU

Post by Blathergut » Sun Feb 22, 2015 2:01 am

we have always played it is just moved bac, as if prolonging back...but again, i have no specific point in the rules i can show you

pugsville
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:42 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Artillery retire to 3 MU

Post by pugsville » Mon Feb 23, 2015 4:08 am

retiring to 3mu isnt an outcome move, but in outcome moves if you move euqla or greater than you regular move you face the other way, 3MU is greater than the 2mU move, if was an outcome you would face the other way, an outcome of greater than 3mu I would say the artillery would limber (3mu is 50% move than the standard move )

viperofmilan
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:26 am

Re: Artillery retire to 3 MU

Post by viperofmilan » Mon Feb 23, 2015 5:21 pm

pugsville wrote:retiring to 3mu isnt an outcome move, but in outcome moves if you move euqla or greater than you regular move you face the other way, 3MU is greater than the 2mU move, if was an outcome you would face the other way, an outcome of greater than 3mu I would say the artillery would limber (3mu is 50% move than the standard move )
Agreed. Artillery retiring 3 MU do so limbered.

Kevin

Saxonian
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 12:00 am

Re: Artillery retire to 3 MU

Post by Saxonian » Wed Feb 25, 2015 11:37 am

For the artillery to be required to limber, they would need to move more than 2MU - remember that the results table requires the target to retire to 3MU, and make the shortest move to achieve this - so the shooters would need to be closer than 1MU to the target.

I think a more important question is, can an artillery prolong (in any direction) be considered a "normal move" as it requires a CMT. If not, then any move would require the artillery to limber.

richafricanus
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 6:38 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Artillery retire to 3 MU

Post by richafricanus » Fri Feb 27, 2015 11:16 pm

So it sounds like it should be played that if the guns move more than 2MU, they should do so limbered. Be good to hear a ruling from Terry on this.

Bar853
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 4:55 am

Re: Artillery retire to 3 MU

Post by Bar853 » Tue Mar 03, 2015 12:27 am

I came across this in the Outcome Moves Table on page 61 of the rule book. Below the table there is a "Definitions" section. In there it defines "Retire D6 + X" and states that " Unlimbered Artillery end their retire move Limbered". I take this statement to mean both a retire move of D6 as well as a D6 + X.

Bar853
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 4:55 am

Re: Artillery retire to 3 MU

Post by Bar853 » Tue Mar 03, 2015 12:37 am

One could assume that the same happens in this case

Saxonian
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 12:00 am

Re: Artillery retire to 3 MU

Post by Saxonian » Wed Mar 04, 2015 12:04 am

Bar853 wrote:One could assume that the same happens in this case
Think we need to be careful here - I seem to recall the "retire to 3MU" is not an outcome move under the strict definition in the rules

deadtorius
General - Elite King Tiger
General - Elite King Tiger
Posts: 4176
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Re: Artillery retire to 3 MU

Post by deadtorius » Wed Mar 04, 2015 12:24 am

I believe saxonian is correct, the move back to 3MU is not an outcome move if you can't move back the 3MU from nearest enemy you stop at the blocking friendly unit. Since its not an outcome you don't use the outcome move chart which forces artillery to limber up and bugger off. That's something completely different.

KeefM
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 274
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 5:08 am

Re: Artillery retire to 3 MU

Post by KeefM » Thu Mar 05, 2015 6:07 pm

The "retire to 3MU" shooting result is not an outcome move.

bahdahbum
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1950
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 7:40 pm

Re: Artillery retire to 3 MU

Post by bahdahbum » Mon Apr 27, 2015 6:27 pm

During a tournament we asked Terry . He said that artillery bthat retires limber ! Now he will have to confirm but it seems logic .

Blathergut
Field Marshal - Elefant
Field Marshal - Elefant
Posts: 5873
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada

Re: Artillery retire to 3 MU

Post by Blathergut » Mon Apr 27, 2015 11:56 pm

Hard to go by what Terry said at a convention. Wish he'd post here.

terrys
Panzer Corps Team
Panzer Corps Team
Posts: 4189
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:53 am

Re: Artillery retire to 3 MU

Post by terrys » Wed Apr 29, 2015 1:10 pm

During a tournament we asked Terry . He said that artillery that retires limber ! Now he will have to confirm but it seems logic .
Artillery only limbers if it retires as part of an outcome move - Otherwise it will retire by prolong.

bahdahbum
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1950
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 7:40 pm

Re: Artillery retire to 3 MU

Post by bahdahbum » Wed Apr 29, 2015 3:11 pm

Even if the art unit moves more that 2 MU to get to 3 MU ?

terrys
Panzer Corps Team
Panzer Corps Team
Posts: 4189
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:53 am

Re: Artillery retire to 3 MU

Post by terrys » Wed Apr 29, 2015 4:12 pm

Currently - Yes!

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”