Road movement by Commanders

Moderators: hammy, terrys, Blathergut, Slitherine Core

Post Reply
Saxonian
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 12:00 am

Road movement by Commanders

Post by Saxonian » Wed May 25, 2016 10:55 am

Don't know if this has ever come up...
The rules say that a unit in march column and limbered artillery can move double distance if the entire move is on a road - but doesn't mention commanders.
Are commanders allowed a double move distance if the entire move is on a road?
My feeling is that they should. If they are attached to a unit that is using road movement they can keep up, so why not if moving on their own.

Note I am NOT talking about second moves - this is solely about the double distance move on roads.

bahdahbum
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1950
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 7:40 pm

Re: Road movement by Commanders

Post by bahdahbum » Thu May 26, 2016 6:06 pm

As they move as light cavalry, why not .

A commander is not alone. It represents also an escort ( up to 800 men sometimes if you consider the Czar escort ) . So yes, a double move seems OK

KendallB
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 416
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 9:01 pm
Location: North Shore, New Zealand

Re: Road movement by Commanders

Post by KendallB » Fri May 27, 2016 8:18 am

But is a commander a unit? Only units go double speed on roads.
After all, if they could move at double along a road, would they also go 8MU during the recovery phase?

bahdahbum
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1950
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 7:40 pm

Re: Road movement by Commanders

Post by bahdahbum » Fri May 27, 2016 8:56 am

I would dissociate movement during the movement phase and a "free" move during the recovery phase which represent the commander going to a unit that needs encouragment

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”