Routing Question

General discussion forum for anything related to Field of Glory Ancients & Medieval.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Post Reply
Luddite
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 6:11 pm

Routing Question

Post by Luddite » Fri Mar 07, 2008 2:23 pm

Firstly, apologies if this has been asked before (point me at the right thread!), but my search-fu has been weak all round at the moment, hence the question.

Routing is causing a little confusion for us at the moment, and we've scoured the book to find ourselves none-the-wiser. It may of course be hidden in plain view and my weak search-fu is doing me up like a kipper again (if so some page refs would be nice...cheers).

Now then, ROUTING.

How do routing BGs move?

What i mean is, do they maintain formation, have to make CMTs to maneuver around terrain/change formation (to get through gaps etc.).
OR, do they become a 'mass of elements', moving/changing formation etc. at will, to flee as quickly as possible? (this seems 'sensible', but can't find any rules for it)

Charging routers

The following situation occured in our last game.
A skirmish BG routed from enemy archers and headed off to the rear. They were however charged in the flank by an enemy cavalry unit two turns later before the commander with them had been able to rally them.

So, the question is...

What happens to a routed unit that is charged by a fresh enemy unit?
What charge reactions does the unit make?
What happens in the contact (impact/melee fought? What penalties?)

___________

We couldn't find anything in the rules about these issues so any help/advice you goodly fellows could offer would be much appreciated.

:D

shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall » Fri Mar 07, 2008 3:52 pm

How do routing BGs move?

What i mean is, do they maintain formation, have to make CMTs to maneuver around terrain/change formation (to get through gaps etc.).
OR, do they become a 'mass of elements', moving/changing formation etc. at will, to flee as quickly as possible? (this seems 'sensible', but can't find any rules for it)


Turn the bases around as they stand 180 degrees and start in that formation. They stay in a formation throughout. They can however shift and fall back as evades in order to move around things, and if that doesn't suffice they burst through friends in their path and are destroyd if they cannot complete a rout move due to enemy.
Charging routers

The following situation occured in our last game.
A skirmish BG routed from enemy archers and headed off to the rear. They were however charged in the flank by an enemy cavalry unit two turns later before the commander with them had been able to rally them.

So, the question is...

What happens to a routed unit that is charged by a fresh enemy unit?
What charge reactions does the unit make?
What happens in the contact (impact/melee fought? What penalties?)
There is no normal melee. The charger makes contact as snormal and conforms at the manouvre stage. In the JAP the routed BG turns 180 away from the contacting BG and routs in that direciton with a VMD, the chargers pursue them as normal. If they are in cotnact after the pursuit a base is removed. All very simple. No fighting. No charge reaction. Its soemthing I often do with LH to finish a BG off in fact. If you hit it from the flnak or rear you may change its direction of rout.

Si

Luddite
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 6:11 pm

Post by Luddite » Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:11 pm

Excellent,

Cheers for that; very useful.

Is this in the rules anywhere? (and if so can i get a page ref.?)

:wink:

andy63
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 11:59 am
Location: Mansfield. Notts.

Post by andy63 » Fri Mar 07, 2008 6:49 pm

Hi Luddite,
Try page 107 under Routers and Pursuers!

Andy :)

Tiger
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:07 am
Location: East Midlands - UK

Post by Tiger » Mon Mar 10, 2008 3:38 pm

Would appreciate some clarity

I have a skirmish foot BG routing it has to pass through HF friends immediately to its rear.

LF can "pass through troops in any direction, therefore is this a burst through or an interpenetration?

hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy » Mon Mar 10, 2008 5:16 pm

Tiger wrote:Would appreciate some clarity

I have a skirmish foot BG routing it has to pass through HF friends immediately to its rear.

LF can "pass through troops in any direction, therefore is this a burst through or an interpenetration?
interpenetration

shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall » Mon Mar 10, 2008 5:21 pm

interpenetrate anything you can with evades or routs.

burst through if you can't and cannot avoid by shift on 1 base/fall backs

Si

Post Reply

Return to “Field of Glory : Ancient & Medieval Era 3000 BC-1500 AD : General Discussion”