Hidden and Randomized tech tree should be optional

Moderator: Pandora Moderators

Post Reply
Earthmichael
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 3:42 pm

Hidden and Randomized tech tree should be optional

Post by Earthmichael » Mon Jun 17, 2013 8:40 pm

I have now played enough games that I can definitely say that I do not like to always play with a hidden and randomized tech tree.

I think this should be optional, and that a standard tech tree should be available.

I also that randomizing the tech tree and hiding the tech tree should be different options, because even if I feel like a change of pace by randomizing the tech tree, I do not want it HIDDEN.

I truly dislike hiding the tech tree. I find myself researching a bunch of stuff I don't want just to try to expose the tech tree. Sometimes I struggle to find a tech that a really want, like robo-miners, and end up wasting a lot of time researching stuff I don't want just to find the branch that leads to the desired tech.

So when you randomize the tech tree, give players an option whether they want the tech tree revealed, or whether they want it gradually exposed. And I think a standard, sensible tech tree should be an option as well.

Wildfire
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 6:02 pm

Re: Hidden and Randomized tech tree should be optional

Post by Wildfire » Mon Jun 17, 2013 10:34 pm

Oh I agree, please make this an option. One to leave it as is, but make it more linear, some techs just don't make any sense in the order they are currently. I can't remember a specific example, but it would be like researching to get coin building to be made, but that opens up plasma lasers or some such. It's very wacky.

Should also have a hover tip, or just tell you what it unlocks when you place cursor over the tech. "Our scientists believe they may be able to unlock the power of plasma lasers with this line of research!" or something.

Soheil
Proxy Studios
Proxy Studios
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 3:23 pm

Re: Hidden and Randomized tech tree should be optional

Post by Soheil » Mon Jun 17, 2013 10:55 pm

Yes the option to play with a pre-designed tech tree is very high on the to do list and most likely will get implemented, many of you have requested this feature and we aim to please :)
Soheil Khaghani
Graphics Artist on Pandora: First Contact
Proxy Studios

Earthmichael
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 3:42 pm

Re: Hidden and Randomized tech tree should be optional

Post by Earthmichael » Tue Jun 18, 2013 10:38 pm

Don't forget for the Randomized tree option to make an option where the tech tree is not hidden.

I could see myself occasionally trying out a random tech tree, but only if the random tree is not hidden. I do not find it fun to research a bunch of techs I don't want just to expose the tech tree.

Post Reply

Return to “Pandora : Public Beta”