Page 1 of 1

Railway

Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2014 7:08 am
by Sapiento
At the moment the game has only roads, but I think it lacks a faster transport mechanism for ground vehicles. Why not implement some kind of railway (vacuum railway tubes, or magnetic levitation to give it a fancy name) which reduces the movement cost to 1/10 or so?

Re: Railway

Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2014 4:00 pm
by Zak0r
In the transcendence era there is a tech that doubles your movement points for all units.

Re: Railway

Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2014 5:47 pm
by ErissN6
Maps are maybe not big enough.
There should be movement costs to embark and then to disembark. Attacking should be forbidden when embarked, save for infantry at half attack (and for train units with included weapon), and defending is too by the train unit or embarked infantry (other units can't defend while embarked).

Re: Railway

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2014 6:26 am
by Sapiento
ERISS wrote:Maps are maybe not big enough.
There should be movement costs to embark and then to disembark. Attacking should be forbidden when embarked, save for infantry at half attack (and for train units with included weapon), and defending is too by the train unit or embarked infantry (other units can't defend while embarked).
I don't think that the map size is a problem. I use a modified huge map with 96x96, but that's not the point. Railways are in use since more than 200 years, why shouldn't they be used on a colony planet. They are a relatively cheap and easy method to bring things and peoples from A to B.

Re: Railway

Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2014 3:10 am
by Rossthegreat
Uhh well as long as they don't include the teleportation railways of civ4 :3

You could literally conquer the entire planet in a single turn as long as you meet the conditions of having enough units, lands is connected to each other by land and there is railways set down with railways of civ 4 xD

Re: Railway

Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2014 7:41 am
by Zak0r
There were such railways already in earlier civ versions.