game problems

PS2/PSP/PC : Great Battles of Rome combined Slitherines great game play with specially cut footage from The History Channel to create a truly unique and immersive experience.

Moderator: Slitherine Core

Post Reply
cburt
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:03 pm

game problems

Post by cburt » Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:54 am

can anyone help me out? i cant seem to get my game to start... it gets through the intro video but shuts down immediately after. i tried the read me but the notepad is set up as a read only and cant be changed

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13550
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Post by IainMcNeil » Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:51 am

Can you post your machine specs, operating system, version you are playing and we'll see if we can help.

cburt
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:03 pm

Post by cburt » Fri Feb 27, 2009 8:12 pm

Vista 64 bit. Intel- 2 ghz. 4 gb of ram. Directx 10. Game is US version 2007.

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9283
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Post by pipfromslitherine » Fri Feb 27, 2009 9:32 pm

What is your video card? Ensure you have the most up to date drivers installed.

You could try disabling sound to see if that is the problem. Go to the install directory for the game, and open DATA\USER.TXT and add the line

NOSOUND 1

and see if that fixes the issue.

Let us know the results.

Cheers

Pip

cburt
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:03 pm

Post by cburt » Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:01 pm

i have a mobile intel 965 express chipset family.

it will not let me turn the sound off because it is in a read only state and it says that can not be changed

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13550
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Post by IainMcNeil » Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:07 am

Set the file to writeable by changing it's properties and check you have the latest drivers for you machine. Have you downloaded the Vista patch as well?

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9283
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Post by pipfromslitherine » Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:02 pm

It sounds like you are on a laptop, what is the resolution of the laptop screen? As Iain says, check for updated drivers first, and try running without sound, and let us know the results.

Cheers

Pip

bgenuine7
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 1:44 am

same log in issue

Post by bgenuine7 » Tue Mar 03, 2009 1:49 am

i have the same issue with log in also .. after selecting play game it goes no where. the gb shows in the processes but dosent move but it disappears from running applications and the cd doesnt turn on.. I have tried turning off the sound but that doesnt help

I have a geforce 9600 pentium dual core running with vista 32bit... i have checked and have all the most recent drivers installed for my graphics card.


it also states in the previous comment about getting a vista patch but i dont see it listed anywhere for updates

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9283
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Post by pipfromslitherine » Wed Mar 04, 2009 9:48 am

There isn't a patch needed for Vista (sorry Iain was confusing GBoR with Legion Arena). You shouldn't have any problems on that setup.

Can you try running the game with the line

FULLSCREEN 0

added to the user.txt file as above. That might give us more information on the issue.

Cheers

Pip

Post Reply

Return to “THE HISTORY CHANNEL™ Great Battles of Rome”