Modder's Corner

Modders can post their questions on scripting and more.

Moderators: Slitherine Core, BA Moderators

Post Reply
Surtur
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 650
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 8:38 am

Modder's Corner

Post by Surtur » Thu Sep 11, 2014 3:25 pm

Welcome to Modder's Corner

This forum is the place to post any questions or issues if you are attempting more in-depth customising of the game. The team will then attempt to answer these queries and allow full use to be made of the very powerful modding possibilities. With just simple tools you can:

+ change unit stats
+ add new unit abilities and off-map bonuses
+ create custom mission scripts
+ customise the UI of your campaign

Feel free to post your questions here. We're here to help.

kosepote
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Modder's Corner

Post by kosepote » Fri Sep 19, 2014 11:04 am

Is there any way to import the units from BA1 to BA2?
And change the max number of units on the map?
And how to make the enemy use like Nebelwerfer attack?
How to i make the AI to actually try to attack and not just travel from and back?
And why can i 88 FLAK 36 in a bunker be destroyed of a single mortar round?

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9248
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Modder's Corner

Post by pipfromslitherine » Fri Sep 19, 2014 3:19 pm

- the unit format has been kept compatible, so unit assets from the original game are usable.
- the max units per side is fixed at 64
- you can script in any scenario specific or general AI behaviours by editing their scripts.
- not sure what you mean. Can you give a specific example.
- lucky hit I imagine. The chances of it happening are small.
follow me on Twitter here

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 15954
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Modder's Corner

Post by zakblood » Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:05 pm

And why can i 88 FLAK 36 in a bunker be destroyed of a single mortar round?


a bullet can take out a tank, if it's a lucky shot, lucky for the gun owner, not so good for the tank crew :shock:

a flak 36 gun isn't always armoured either, if it's mounted in a bunker it's not needed, so shrapnel from a mortar with a lucky shot could easy take one out, or at least all the crew if it didn't destroy the gun anyway, but as most or at least some of the crews leaving ammo around, that also would make a lucky shrapnel shot take the gun and bunker out when or if hit :wink:

kosepote
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Modder's Corner

Post by kosepote » Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:55 pm

How to i import the units from BA1 to BA2?

The 88mm dies inside a bunker by a 76mm artillery shot.... almost every time (If you have not get it I use 88mm a lot inside bunkers :-) )

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9248
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Modder's Corner

Post by pipfromslitherine » Fri Sep 19, 2014 9:18 pm

You just need the s4f files from BA1 and you can use them as per normal. That is, drop them in a DATA/BATTLE/UNITS folder in your custom campaign, and their textures in DATA/BATTLE/UNITS. Then create their entries in your squads file. I believe there is already a scheme in play to do exactly what you are talking about, and instructions too!

viewtopic.php?f=221&t=52621

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

kosepote
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Modder's Corner

Post by kosepote » Fri Sep 19, 2014 9:22 pm

Thank you for good service and help!!! :-)

kosepote
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Modder's Corner

Post by kosepote » Fri Sep 19, 2014 11:55 pm

It worked great thanks!!!

Right shortcut is http://slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.p ... 87#p492687

johntindall
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 200
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:55 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Modder's Corner

Post by johntindall » Sat Sep 20, 2014 8:24 am

pipfromslitherine wrote:- the unit format has been kept compatible, so unit assets from the original game are usable.
Which means, my friends, Shermans vs T-34s! That'll be a popular mod when it's done...

kosepote
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Modder's Corner

Post by kosepote » Sat Sep 27, 2014 3:51 pm

There is a lot of units that don't come along. Like the french, sherman Jumbo, German Brumbaer. Also had to copy the metz files in to get the buildnings. So two questions:
1. how to get all units to BA2?
2. how to get the artillery damage on the ground?

Love the editor :-)

Kayel Dee
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:44 pm

Re: Modder's Corner

Post by Kayel Dee » Tue Nov 17, 2015 11:36 am

i'd like somer help/advice on how to create models for an entirely new unit and some vehicles, but mostly the units

Stechkin
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 12:42 pm

Re: Object properties

Post by Stechkin » Sat Nov 21, 2015 1:01 pm

Where do I find properties of objects like terrain, houses, bridges etc? How can I make tanks wade shallow water like fords?

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9248
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Modder's Corner

Post by pipfromslitherine » Mon Nov 23, 2015 6:06 pm

Objects are defined in the OBJECTS.TXT files in their DATA/OBJECTS/* folders. Tiles use a similar system in their TILES.TXT files. You can of course have your own object and tile folders in custom campaigns as explained in the wikis.

http://www.slitherinebravo.net/GameWiki/doku.php
https://sites.google.com/site/battleacademy2/

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

Stechkin
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 12:42 pm

Re: Modder's Corner

Post by Stechkin » Sat Dec 05, 2015 11:56 am

Sorry, Pip, but I find very few txt-files at all in my BA2. Please give me some guidance.

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9248
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Modder's Corner

Post by pipfromslitherine » Mon Dec 07, 2015 4:50 pm

The install folders are full of txt files :) All the available info is in the wikis. If you are having a specific problem then let us know and we will try and help.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

Post Reply

Return to “Battle Academy 2: Modders Corner”